We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for Dar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad for Dar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've travelled to Dar about five times in the past five years. I tried the Holiday Inn during my last visit in March 2012, because I needed to stay somewhere close to where I had meetings and I've been disappointed with other hotels in the area or I've been unwilling to pay the prices some other hotels charge.

I found the Holiday Inn to be fine. The rooms are ok, although the bathrooms are quite dated. The breakfast was fine too, although nothing special. For me the highlight was the roof-top bar: I arrived late (about 1 am - I think) from Nairobi after my flight was delayed and really wanted a beer to relax as it was quite hot outside. I was thrilled that the roof-top bar was not only open but had super cold beer on tap. Thanks.

I would stay at the Holiday Inn again so long as I can find a good price on-line.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lg_Chikwambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your thoughts, we welcome constructive feedback at any stage. The Al Dar rooftop is one of the highlights in Dar es Salaam and we glad that we were able thrill you with our cold draught on tap.

Kind regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    168
    160
    51
    28
See reviews for
44
79
39
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
237 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I spent 20 days in this hotel, and for my experience the the vale for money is really bad for a 189$/night hotel!
the wi-fi net is expensive, slow and complicated to use, the restaurant is quite good but the service is inaccurate and incredibly slow.
The terrace at 11th floor is a nice place to spent the nights after dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the Al Dar rooftop venue, which is exceedingly popular in the evenings as you highlighted. We regret that you feel we do not represent good value for money. We always have special rates available like our $99-00 rate which is now available via www.holidayinn.com.
Our wi-fi codes support one device at a time, and is only difficult if you are trying to use one access code for use on more than one device, and we would always recommend that guests request an additional code for additional devices.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I’ve stayed several times in Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. The rooms/suites are spacious, clean and well equipped. All staff is professional and service fast and very friendly especially Mr. Suheil AL and Ms.Rehema for making my stay wonderful. I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good accommodation in the centre of Dar es Salaam.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deo Hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear deo Hugo,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your response, our entire team will be delighted with the recognition given for their friendliness and professionalism.

Kind regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel holiday inn in dar es salaam (tanzania) is a normal and also not that much new like other hotel. It has good restaurants to eat breakfast and as well dinner. The rooftop bar is nice especially in the evening. But I have also to write that there is unfortunately no beach according to the hotel. There is a very old pool outside of the hotel. The stuff was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sventrachsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, the Al Dar rooftop is fast becoming known as one of the highlights of people's stay at the Holiday Inn and we delighted that you enjoyed the venue and the food. Our swimming pool is a plunge pool, and was installed in September 2011. The Holiday Inn is not situated on the beach front, however we always assist guests who wish to visit the beach. On your next visit please enquire at reception and we will arrange for you to visit the fantastic Jangwani Sea Breeze Resort with its brilliant white beaches.
Kind regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed there in transit at the start of our trip, before a morning plane to the bush. Was acceptable as we were still energized by the positive feeling of starting a two week holiday. The room was old and tired. Barelly clean. The bathroom was smelly and the tub looked like second hand even worse like it had been repaired several times while it seriously needed to be changed. Breakfast buffet was ok. The roof top bar food was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeansilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we regret that you were not entirely satisfied during your visit. Our hotel Duty Managers are available 24/7 and had your problems been highlighted at the time of stay we would have been able to resolve the issues to your satisfaction immediately. Should your travels bring you back to Tanzania we would welcome the opportunity to host your next stay.
Kind regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Good and safe hotel in midst of the city. The bathrooms are a little problem due to ineffiecient drainage system. The location is good, closeby to lot of good indian restaurants. They increase number of chanels shown in the t.v. We were there for 5 nights, overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jitendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam. The issue you noted with the bathroom drainage, has now been largely resolved as a result of an in-house refurbishment programme in our bathrooms which focused on the bathroom floors. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam in the near future.
Kinds regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
gm@holidayinn.co.tz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Had to stay one night in Dar as my flight timings from Zanzibar to South Africa did not align on the same day. Since I had an early morning flight, I just wanted a nice, clean reasonably priced hotel to spend the night. This hotel was an excellent choice and I would definitely stay there if I find my self in Dar again. I don't think I paid more than $150 for the night. It is fairly new I believe and everything was spotless. Bed was super comfy, nice flat screen TV and even the bathroom was stylish. This was way better than I needed for my extremely short stay! Hotel is well located and it was very easy to get a taxi to go for dinner in the diplomatic quarter of the city as well as for a very early AM flight.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chillertracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam in the near future.
Kinds regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
gm@holidayinn.co.tz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#20 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#16 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing