We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better places around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed April 9, 2012

A new Hotel, with sometimes sloppy staff
All very friendly, the breakfast was less then average
Housekeeping: forget about
Internet: sometimes not working, but full charge 24h/8$
Pool: what a joke
bar@1 = place of ladies, working in the horizontal business
rooftop = clean (members/guests only)
AC: if power fails, AC goes off and must be restartet manually. if power fails in the evening, you wake up sometimes, early morning, wondering why the room is that warm

Room Tip: the "old" holiday inn is a better choise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wegetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJMatthews, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear esteemed guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We have taken note of your comments.
Regarding the Air-Conditioner; indeed if the power fluctuates the units are automatically reset.
This is to protect the unit from mayor damage and non- functioning.

We do appreciate your comments and we will look into quickly resolving the mentioned issues.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Thank you once more for writing this review,

Kind regards,
Ian & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 502 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

Clean friendly efficient reasonable- most things that we did not experience in the rest of our time in East Africa! the rooms were absolutely brand new. Reception staff very accommodating. Prices to eat in the hotel were reasonable- the snacks in the bar are massive and well cooked. All in all a perfect way to end our holiday and a welcome last stop after a dirty overland tour!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJMatthews, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review.
It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam.
We sincerely hope you left East Africa with positive thoughts and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Enjoy your further travels.
Kind regards,
Ian & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed at the hotel on two occasions in march. Once for two nights on the way to a safari and for one night before leaving Tanzania. The last visit was the worse. On arrival I got to the room there was no a/c and as a result it was baking. I was moved to a room which was working. I was told there was a problem with the power hence the issue with the a/c. Woke up the next morning sweltering as all a/c had gone. No announcement to hotel guests were made and it was only when the GM spoke to me did he apologises and provide a full explanation. In essence the hotel had no a/c for almost the whole day. No offers from staff made to provide cold water.

To top it off I had a meal in the restaurant on the ground floor. The salad was excellent, however the main meal I saw (cam see the kitchen area) had been on the side for 20 minutes and then it was given to me. The chips were only slightly warm as was the steak. I raised the issue but not taken seriously I.e should not
Eave cooked food out for20 min before being given to a customer. It wasn't as though they were busy, only 4 other pele in the restaurant. It seems they try to cook food ASAP even before a customer
is ready for it.

The General Manager Paul Ferguson was very good and I appreciate he has a tough job!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saintsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, we apologise for the inconveniences suffered due to the continuous power outages during your stay. We are currently installing new equipment to prevent this type of error reoccurring. We are also addressing our food standards, with a new menu and be assured that we are working to continually improve our standards.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

After staying 4 nights at outdated Hilton Nairobi, I was blown away by Holiday Inn. The rooms were nice and comfortable, showers hot with nice pressure. Added plus was a hookah/rooftop bar. The hotel staff was incredibly accommodating: for example, they were able to arrange a transfer for our large group with a minimal notice. The only criticism is that service at breakfast was a bit slow: for example, I had to ask for coffee several times, but I feel like it's part of the culture. Overall, I would highly recommend Holiday Inn to anyone traveling to Dar Es Salaam!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nerd2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJMatthews, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always trying to ensure the comfort of our guests.
We do realize that we have points of improvement and we are working on them daily.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you soon again.
Thank you once again for writing this review,

Warm regards,
Ian & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with colleagues on a business trip, early Feb 2012.

Standard room was clean & adequate, but although functional, the bathroom decoration/tiling really had been done to a "slap-dash" standard.

Breakfast was nothing special, but adequate. Roof bar was nice, but windy in the evenings. Food can be ordered from restaurant menu to eat at the roof bar.

Complimentary shuttle to/from a nearby (45 mins) beach "resort" - nice white sand beaches, made a break from the city centre. Shuttle was almost 1.5 hrs late on departing hotel, so check on timings/availability.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJenvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJMatthews, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam.
It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the white beaches at our sister hotel.
We do apologies for the delay of the pick up, but that gave you extra time on the tropical beach.
Regarding the bathroom tiling, we are currently re-tiling the rooms in fases. On your next stay we will arrange that you will have a new bathroom.
Thank you once again for writing this review,
Kind regards,
Ian & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Kinda clean, modern chain hotel with nicer rooms. Nothing else to distinguish it. Paid a rate of $160 a night which seemed a little high for such a poor country, although I admit I am not an expert on lodging in Dar.

Pros-

Cleaner, nicer rooms with good water pressure. Firm beds. Nice windowed lobby. No security hassle going in and out.

They gave me a room upgrade and free access to the consierge room and free fast wifi for no special reason. Thanks!

The rooftop bar was very nice with comfy couches and a great big projection TV which shoots onto the wall of the hotel. A must if you are staying here.

Cons-

Boring location- Nothing to see or do in walking distance.

Staff seemed pretty dumb and untrained. English comprehension was very poor for a hotel chain like this and, with the exception of the Indians who no doubt were the managers, the staff could not grasp basic requests without confusion.

Pool is above ground and small.

Food at the rooftop bar and the 1st floor restaurant was pretty poor quality and all service was slooooowwwwwww... eat elsewhere!

Oh, yeah. I noticed a few discreet & modestly dressed working girls at the rooftop bar in the evenings looking for eye contact. Whether this is a pro or a con I suppose is up to you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJMatthews, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to read your clear review.
It is our pleasure to see you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will take your comments regarding the service and English language skills to our training schedule and work on improving it.

Thank you once again for your review,
Kind regards,
Ian & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam very much. I was greeted with a cool towel upon arrival (much needed after a 40 day backpacking journey). The receptionists checked me in early and also arranged for a late check out, pedicure, and airport transfer at my request.
The restaurant while a bit expensive but had a lovely selection of dishes to choose from. The wifi was very dependable (although did cost about 10USD per day) and the office space upstairs had a variety of shops but most certainly came in handy when it came to printing travel documents and booking flights etc.
Overall, I had a very positive experience at this Holiday Inn. I would recommend it to cap off your stay in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamaranicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJMatthews, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay after such a long time backpacking.
With pleasure we can inform you that we now have daily free internet available to print off your travel documents and update yourself.
Our new pool would also have been an added value to your stay.
Thank you once again for writing this review,
enjoy your future travels and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards,
Ian & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#23 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#18 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#16 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
254 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western CBD Hotel
Best Western CBD Hotel
#30 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $84 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing