We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach resort enjoy with across the Ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Resort
Ranked #79 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited there with family and friends. We used Ferry to go across some distance from Dar Es Salaam port to the Area of Beach. The beach is about 7 Kms after getting off from Ferry (with car). It is a nice drive with no pollution and small shops at sides.

Road about 300 mitres to the beach is muddy, and not maintained.

Inside, it is a beautiful resort with entry fee of Shillings 5000 per Person. Nice place to click pictures with nice clean beach to enjoy throughout the day.

Good quality food is available, both Veg and Non veg, however, at little high prices.

Wifi is there, but range is low.

Overall, it is good place to enjoy weekend/holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21av
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nice and quiet hotel side - small houses very nice. The beach - just few sun beds, full of noisy people - mainly Chinese and Indians. There was a dj on the beach - and the music was more like for a club - not relaxing at all. The service of the restaurant was the the worst- I ordered one thing - they brought me another - and charged additionally for something that was written with BIG red letters in the menu that is served together with the main course.... Overall not a pleasant experience especially if you want to go and enjoy the beach.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank hat3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2015

Thanks for the comments about our Hotel & Beach. Apologies for your personal experience and we would work with your comments.

Our object is to provide a beautiful space, relaxing environment with utmost comfort for all our guest and we continue to work towards that. We hope you visit us again on your next holiday. Karibu Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

After visiting the place for the day we decided to come back and book a room two weeks later. We stayed for two nights and really like the hotel.

We stayed in a hut on the beach and it was the first time in three months that we found hot water AND high water pressure at the same time. Fantastic!

The AC was working, but it was installed on the wall about 1 meter away from the bed which meant a constant draft. We ended up covering it with a towel.

The food is good but expensive and rice/potatoes have to be ordered separately. If you want a cheaper meal head over to the less fancy resort to the right where u can get fries and chicken for half the price.

Our only negative experience was that I felt EXTREMELY exposed and objectified during the whole time I was there.

Every single man who walked passed us on the beach gave me looks that both disgusted me and made me scared for my safety, and most of them didn't care if I noticed it or got upset. No matter what I was wearing or what I was doing it kept happening, over and over and over again.

The security guards working at the hotel didn't seem to notice, but I couldn't really blame them. My boyfriend didn't notice it either until I started pointing it out everytime it happened.

At one point I was on my own on a sun bed, reading a book, and a man stopped about 2 meters away from me, and just stood there, staring and making disgusting suggestions.

I tried to ignore him but he didn't go away and in the end I felt so angry and scared that I walked into our hut to get away from him. When I came outside again he was doing yoga just outside our hut, facing our door as if he was preparing to show off his body as I came out again.

At another time when we were going for a swim at a time when the beach was completely empty, some boys who were in the water some two hundred meters from us decided to start playing around us, competing and challenging each other to go as close to us as possible and even tried to touch me on several occasions. At first I figured they were just kids playing games and answered their hello's in a friendsly way but when they kept coming up to me (and not my boyfriend) over and over again to try and touch or grab me I just got so angry I splashed water all over them and screamed at the top of my lungs to get them to understand that it wasn't ok.

As soon as my boyfriend turned his back there would be at least one or two boys/men trying to get my attention or whatnot. I've never felt so objectified in my life. It literally made me cry from frustration and anger and completely ruined our experience. It has nothing to do with the hotel per se, but still.

I wouldn't recommend going here if you're female and want to let your guard down. Not even a burka and a 24/7 bodyguard could protect you.

Room Tip: The huts on the beach are really cozy, the one closest to the ocean felt a bit too close to the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sool9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.
We are very sorry for the troube caused

The service has been changed,& much more

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days in february and it was great. It was off season so had the whole place to ourselves virtually! We stayed in one of the camps which was simple but reasonably priced. The campsite has its own beach and that was our own for the 5 days. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Just make sure you go prepared with food to cook if that's what you plan to cook. There is an island just opposite which is just 15mins by boat ( Boats are available for hiring ). The island is a great place to explore, we were surprised to see a fresh water well on an island. The island itself has a long history from the slave trade times.
Great place to stay, beautfully chilled would love to go back sometime.

Room Tip: Must experience breakfast on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.


We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I needed a time a way from home and work. we had a wonderful experience in the past at Sunrise Beach Resort, so i decided to visit it again. This time Riaan Thiart an his team was exellent to make my stay an unforgettable life experience..... from breakfast till sundowners on the beach.... one word for this beach is i would say Amazing :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are kindly, very sorry for the inconvenience caused

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was reading other reviews in this page and I just wondered to see some negative comments ,This is really a paradise , the service was amazing and the food was yummy . The beach frontage is so beautiful and was very clean . The rooms were well maintained and the atmosphere was very calm and cool . I really recommend this hotel when you are in Dar .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorin x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.



We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is my favorite hotel so far in Dar es salaam. Service was exceptional. The rooms are sensational and staff are very attentive, Great rooms,view ( just few meters from the ocean ),bed' towels, pillows, tv, and work desk!! Food was fantastic ( try the thermidor lobster dish, just out of the world ) and service with a smile! Beautiful white soft sand that you cant find anywhere else.
Room rate was low for the value!.Since we arrived till we left the hotel we were pampered!!
i could not ask for anything to make my stay any better. Perfect! I can't wait to go back. Located only 30 minutes from the airport..you can't go wrong!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are kindly, very sorry for the inconvenience caused

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Giraffe Ocean View Hotel
Giraffe Ocean View Hotel
#52 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
41 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
495 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#15 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
315 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Landmark Mbezi Beach Hotel
The Landmark Mbezi Beach Hotel
#60 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
27 reviews
14.9 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Resort

Address: Mji Mwema, Kigamboni, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $75 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Indian Ocean situated in Mjimwema, 7km south of Dar es Salaam lies the picturesque Sunrise Beach Resort & Conference Centre, on a private beach. The resort consists of 14 Executive Deluxe Rooms, 6 Sea View Rooms, 30 Suite Rooms. It also boasts of a magnificent campsite consisting of 7 tents., big enough to cater for overland truckers from any part of the world. The campsite is furnished with an open kitchen which gives residents that perfect view of the ocean which they have always been looking for. Our world class Conference hall can accommodate up to 300 delegates. Apart from offering that unique sea view, it also offers resources and technology equaling those of European Conference Centres. This conference hall, which is multipurpose is a perfect venue for corporate presentations, products launches as well as family functions like wedding receptions and graduation ceremonies. The unspoilt beaches of the Swahili coast offer an entirely new experience for the discerning holiday maker. Whether interested in snorkelling or diving, there is an abundance of ocean life to be discovered on the finest waters of the Indian Ocean and looking out across the ocean, you view the Sinda Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunrise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing