We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelllent Resort and Proffesional Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Resort
Ranked #80 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had a tremendous experience at the Sunrise Beach Resort, the room was perfect and the staff were very cooperative and professional. I was on business and the tranquility of the place made my work all the more enjoyable. I would certainly visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godwin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Front Office Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hallo Mr Godwin,
We are happy that you appreciated your stay at our hotel. The new management is doing its best to make it one of the classy resorts in Tanzania. Hope to see or here from you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Camped here while travelling in Tanzania. Pretty beachfront location but that's about all it has going for it. Facilities tired and dated, grounds are dirty, service was poor and food (I only had breakfast) was very lacklustre: no salt and pepper, no other condiments, no butter, instant coffee which had congealed within the packet. The campsite is next to a construction site and they want to make you camp behind a row of (empty) permanent safari tents, which kind of negates the seafront location. Rubbish strewn around the site too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Front Office Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear bazyr
Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that it fails to meet your expectation, it’s very important for us to know.
We are sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that your experience has caused you. We are looking into this issue very seriously.
Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you
Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I went there with my boyfriend and first thing at the reception was the guy couldn't speak English, then the rooms have no mosquito nets and yet the place is infested with mosquitoes. we asked for a mosquito net and apparently they couldn't get one from another room (n yet the rooms were quite empty) we spent half the night killing them. when we asked for spray, they were like "sorry, this sort of thing never happens". otherwise, nice indian food and i loved the trip to sinda island on a boat that broke down more than a dozen times.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joannatabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Front Office Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear joannatabo
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.
we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Upon thorough review of the situation, we made some changes in our management team
We deeply value your Guests and are committed to provide them with the highest level of service . and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Not bad for relaxing far away from the town i slept for two days in a tent with my friends it was good and there is a security around the place and u can watch the sunrise from there the beach it was clean thay have a bar and a restaurant and they have a jetsky I rented for half hour thay have showers out side but its far away from dar es salaam and u have to cross the ferry

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fatin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I visited sunrise last week and i was provide with the best service that I did not imagine, the waiters were charming and more willing to provide service, thanks to Andrew. The rooms were well made and when I left and came back in.
They have a good garden with a nice and calm sea view beach bar, where i relaxed and had my drinks in a good atmospheric condition.
Food was well prepared and time taken was quick.
I think I will have to get back there soon.

Room Tip: slept in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the beach hut..the location is awesome and the food is delicious but the management lets the place down. We did not have any tv in the room and also had to ask the housekeeping staff everyday to clean the rooms and they took ages....The management does not know how to run the place and did not even offer us discount for the room. overall its was enough for our 3 night stay....lovely over the weekend with music and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are kindly, very sorry for the inconvenience caused

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautiful grounds, comfortable rooms and very generally peaceful setting. Saturdays and Sundays can become quite noisy as they play loud music on the Beach Bar deck in the afternoons, but just take your shoes off and dance on the beach. Service can either be very good or non-existent depending on person serving you but there are a few people like Chriss and Chef Dinesh who made our stay very pleasant. Always ready to accomodate us and willing to go the extra mile to make you happy. Kitchen closes at 23:30 hrs but its best to be there early as most of the restaurant staff tend to avoid taking orders when they are about to close the kitchen or bar.
Good value for money! :-)

Room Tip: If room space is not a problem for you choose Sea View, smaller and cheaper but better view as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis_Xaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are kindly, very sorry for the inconvenience caused

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Giraffe Ocean View Hotel
Giraffe Ocean View Hotel
#52 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
41 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
512 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#13 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#34 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
57 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
365 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Resort

Address: Mji Mwema, Kigamboni, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $70 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Indian Ocean situated in Mjimwema, 7km south of Dar es Salaam lies the picturesque Sunrise Beach Resort & Conference Centre, on a private beach. The resort consists of 14 Executive Deluxe Rooms, 6 Sea View Rooms, 30 Suite Rooms. It also boasts of a magnificent campsite consisting of 7 tents., big enough to cater for overland truckers from any part of the world. The campsite is furnished with an open kitchen which gives residents that perfect view of the ocean which they have always been looking for. Our world class Conference hall can accommodate up to 300 delegates. Apart from offering that unique sea view, it also offers resources and technology equaling those of European Conference Centres. This conference hall, which is multipurpose is a perfect venue for corporate presentations, products launches as well as family functions like wedding receptions and graduation ceremonies. The unspoilt beaches of the Swahili coast offer an entirely new experience for the discerning holiday maker. Whether interested in snorkelling or diving, there is an abundance of ocean life to be discovered on the finest waters of the Indian Ocean and looking out across the ocean, you view the Sinda Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunrise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing