We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than I could have expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mikadi Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mikadi Beach
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than I could have expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Mikadi is an ideal destination if you are looking for a relaxed, easy going retreat or just a single nights accommodation on the way to Zanzibar.

Beautiful view, great people, excellent food and amazing possibilities.

Thanks for an amazing week!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    40
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
43
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

This is one of the coolest backpackers I’ve ever stayed in! It’s such a nice place with a really chilled vibe. It’s right on the beach and you can choose to stay on your own room (which is basically a ‘banda’ or traditional Tanzanian huts) or you can do camping. It has shared bathroom but they are really clean and spacious! The owners are really nice and helpful.

And also the price is really good and it’s really close to the ferry. We really recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneUniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Bandas were nice and close to the beach, but the beds were dirty and the mozzie net had many holes and in the morning we found 7 or 8 full mozzies inside the net.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

I stayed at Mikadi Beach after finishing my study abroad in Tanzania, and I must say this place is perfect! I felt like Robinson Crusoe. I wish I could have stayed forever. Before getting to Mikadi Beach, I spent a week exploring Zanzibar, a week in Dar Es Salaam and two weeks in Arusha. Mikadi Beach was the highlight of all of these stops. Sure Zanzibar is more popular with the tourists, but this place has the same breathtaking scenery for a fraction of the price, AND you don't even have to leave the mainland. Seriously, if you are looking for a place to get away and forget about the rest of the world, then look no further. This is it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fields0352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beira, Mozambique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

we stayed on and off for nearly 2 weeks with 2 kids (3 and 1) and had a great time. Beach is spotless, white sand and shallow, staff is always there (without being in your face) and can adapt meals for the kids. Bar area is really groovy, good selection of tunes too.
We stayed in the first banda next to the bar and music has not been a trouble. Food is varied, in good portions and excellent value for money.
Only sour point: on saturday and sunday, the place next door plays loud music untill 8/9 pm. Good time for a trip to Dar.
Tip: Do not let your girlfriend/wife visit Jo's clothes collection, for she will end up buying everything.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank famillyman_fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Came for 3 nights - stayed for 6 - great hosts Jo and Luch! Show the latest sport and have reasonable bar prices and great food!! accommodation simple and affordable- right on the beach and very safe.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbud22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

When we were travaling in Tanzania we ended up 3 times at Makadi beach. Peacefull en beachtifull! Very nice people en good food for a good price. Waking up with the sunrise was so beautifull.
I would recomend this place for everbody!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liyinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#66 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#23 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mesuma Hotel
Mesuma Hotel
#59 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#28 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kipepeo Beach Village
Kipepeo Beach Village
#2 of 110 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikadi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikadi Beach

Property: Mikadi Beach
Address: Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mikadi Beach Lodge derives its name from the Mikadi tree which thrives along the beautiful Tanzanian coastline. Jo (Zimbabwean) & Lucho (Chilean) married and owner/managers, took over the lodge in February 2008 and since then have embarked on a complete refurbishment of the place. If you have your heart and soul in a place this emanates to staff and clients alike. We are in love with Mikadi and that shows in everything we do to make your stay with us both enjoyable and memorable. They say location is everything and we are in the perfect location! We are only 15 / 20 mins from the Zanzibar ferry so ideally placed for those travellers wanting to visit Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mikadi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikadi Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing