We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice as nice”
Review of Mikadi Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mikadi Beach
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Twice as nice”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I returned to Mikadi as I was again meeting an overland truck. I stayed for a few days to acclimatise and really enjoyed my time here. The buyable wifi eats up data but when it works its great. Food was lovely if not a little pricey. The shower block was being done up when I was here but the showers are still bloody salt water which is horrible, particularly with sunburn/toothpaste.

The beach huts would benefit from a closer closet and the huge padlocks from a bit of WD40.

Taxi service from airport was good value.

I would def recommend here as a stop off to zanzibar but only as a no frills joint.

Room Tip: Stump up the extra for the beach huts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cider_with_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
44
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

They don't have the "piping hot showers" as advertised on their website. In fact, only cold salt water showers & taps. Even the dishes at the restaurant are washed in salt water. The food at the restaurant is quite expensive, and they tell you it's not safe to leave the grounds (we walked to the ferry 3 times...seemed safe enough...but maybe not for newcomers to Africa). Also, this place caters almost exclusively to overland tours who eat buffet meals every night, which take priority over other guests ordering food (be prepared to wait an hour or more for a meal, and for it to be cold by the time you get it). Pros: clean and fast Internet (although not free), and beautiful location

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We camped here the night before and the night after our trip to Zanzibar. The pool was lovely, the lounge/ bar area relaxing, and the slushies delicious! you can walk out onto the beach to swim in the ocean or you can relax in the pool. Both are equally relaxing. The bathrooms were clean. They have fresh water for you but the showers are not hot. It wasn't an issue for us. They offer WiFi but for a small fee so we did not use it. We really enjoyed the grounds and slept well in our tents. The lodge staff was very accommodating and they arranged tuk tuls for us to take us to the ferry to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We camped here for two nights - it is a nice location on the beach and there is a decent pool. The camping facilities are perfectly adequate. The beachside bar has wifi that is not bad by African standards. One night they cooked us a fish bbq which was great.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank noone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffisburg, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

1st at all a Shower must be Water and not Normal Water with Salt Water 2end the Sofa should be Cleand ( Talk the Sand and the Hair of from the Sofa 3 Times a Day )
I did not feld very convertible at all
3rd The Mattres di not feel to be Clean while i was Sleeping there 4th the Mosi net should not have holes so the Mossis came in

The Food was Exeland and Teasty

The Location is Perfect Right on the Beach nice and Clean

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed here as a part of an overland tour.

It's a beautiful place and well worth the visit. The view of the ocean is picturesque and there is a lovely bar that you can relax at and enjoy the view. Drinks are cheap and the frozen margaritas are highly recommended.

We used the camping facilities and it's a good place to camp as long as you don't mind camping in the sand. My only gripe was that the showers were salt water. Not a great way to feel clean.

It's a bit out of the way, you wont be able to walk anywhere from here.

There was also good security, patrolling everywhere. It was comforting after our tour guide warned us that it was unsafe to leave the grounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmesAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

It’s an effort to get to Mikadi from the airport, particularly if you’re heading back that way and staying only a short time, but I think it’s worth it. Mikadi slams the door on the crazy chaos of Dar and tips you into some beach-side tranquillity. This is not a highend hotel, but a beachy-backpackers and all the better for the type of people that attracts. Rooms are beach shacks, basic and clean. They could definitely do with updating the mattresses, and salt-water through the taps is a bit sticky, but they come with mosquito nets, and are roomy and airy enough. Kick off your shoes and feel the sand between your toes. The bar/dining is all sand underfoot and helps with the casual care-freeness you feel at Mikadi. Laze by the pool, hang in a hammock, walk on the beach, drink at the bar, meet people and talk. Mikadi organised a fixed-price transfer to and from the airport when I booked and, after having my phone stolen when I landed, sorted me complimentary cocktails on arrival to ease the pain (nice touch). It’s a bit out of the way if getting into the nitty gritty of Dar is where you’re at, but head to Mikadi if it’s time on your travels to stop, and breathe, a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoozSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dar es Salaam
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
0.0 mi away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#67 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#16 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eazy's Place
Eazy's Place
#4 of 117 in Dar es Salaam
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikadi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikadi Beach

Property: Mikadi Beach
Address: Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mikadi Beach Lodge derives its name from the Mikadi tree which thrives along the beautiful Tanzanian coastline. Jo (Zimbabwean) & Lucho (Chilean) married and owner/managers, took over the lodge in February 2008 and since then have embarked on a complete refurbishment of the place. If you have your heart and soul in a place this emanates to staff and clients alike. We are in love with Mikadi and that shows in everything we do to make your stay with us both enjoyable and memorable. They say location is everything and we are in the perfect location! We are only 15 / 20 mins from the Zanzibar ferry so ideally placed for those travellers wanting to visit Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mikadi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikadi Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing