We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort feel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mikadi Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mikadi Beach
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Resort feel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not a good value. Very expensive compared to the poor service and accomodation. Warnings everywhere that it is not safe to walk outside the camp, so you find yourself stuck in "the camp". This makes it very resort-like, but without the service you'd expect from a resort.
Very unfriendly staff and owners and not helpful at all. At a certain moment one of the owners wanted to close the bar/restaurant and just shut the lights without even warning us. So we found ourselves in the completely dark camp, where it is not safe! Once the lights were out I certainly didn't feel safe!
The only positive thing about this place to stay, is the food (lucky visitors, because there is nowhere else you can eat, since they warn you not to leave the camp...)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
43
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading off to Zanzibar. The bandas are basic but more than fine and the bathrooms are well done. The food was ok and the bar area was good for relaxing in. The staff were ok, not overly friendly but were able to answer our questions. The beach is nice although it was very busy the day we were there (Saturday). There was quite a lot of noise in the evening from what I think was the campsite nearby. Overall a good stop off point but I wouldn't want to stay for more than one night at a time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Negative points:

----Salt water showers:

fun the first day. If you have sensitive skin, these showers could cause irritations. I dont have sensitive skin, but after having taken a nice saltwater shower in the morning and walking through town, the salt caused a lot of friction "down there". Not a nice experience.

At least some time during the day they are hot. Even in the times where there should be hot water you might need to ask the staff to actually have hot water.

salt water is provided for free by the government, that might be the reason for salt water showers.

----Camp site:

we camped some 20 metres away from the beach under a tree. what disturbed the atmosphere were definetely the overlander trucks. They dont look nice. They might suprise you. When you come back from town, there might be a truck standing 5 metres away from your tent. And there is also a good possibility that that truck might warm up its engine at 5 AM for at least 10 minutes.

----General:

This place definetely has more potential. The atmosphere at the beach is nice and you can also feel safe because there are some massai-dressed guards on duty. The food is okay.

However the saltwater showers and the overlander trucks ruin the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Camp away from the overlander trucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed two nights in one of the beach bandas and experienced very poor service and poor quality of accommodation. The bandas have seen better days; despite the camp being pretty empty we were given one next to a worksite, one morning we were told we could not use the banda because they were cutting down a tree, the workmen woke us early at 7am on a Saturday, there were several holes in our mosquito nets and the banda was poorly cleaned. The camp is surrounded by warnings not to leave the camp because it is a risk, we went for a walk on the beach to be chased by security. It also suggest Dar is a scary place which it is not. We went for lunch at 1pm to be told there would be a 45 minute wait while we watched all the staff eat before us - which was a bit galling. Beer, water and the internet were all over priced and breakfast was not included (which it is in 99% of most of Tanzania). If you wanted a towel or sheet you had to pay a deposit. Staff were surly and expressed some colourful and racist language towards what Indians and Chinese were doing to Tanzania. The pool was not working, when I enquired if it would be during our stay I was told maybe that afternoon, followed by two staff members discussing in Swahili how there was no chance of this and the 'mzungu' could wait (I speak some Swahili and could understand this clearly). The only good thing about this place is the friendly Masai security, who once we explained where we wanted to walk were happy to leave us to it. I have spent many months in Tanzania and have stayed in a variety of rural gueshouses, hotels, backpacker beach camps, and rented accommodation all of which have been great, clean and friendly: this was a shocking exception.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Mikadi beach was absolutely excellent! Super location, great staff, the bandas were exactly what we needed, the food was awesome. I definitely highly recommend it! Only minus point could maybe be the saltwater showers if you stay for a week or more, but it didn't bother us at all. Be sure to take a tuktuk from the Ferry though! We got attacked by guys with knives on the way because we decided to walk and they stole one of our bags. So be carefull!
Mikadi beach is extremely safe though, so no worries! Enjoy!

Room Tip: You might choose for one the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisabeth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Mikadi beach is just great. I have just spent two weeks there and it was just PERFECT. Rooms are small cabanas (bandas) and are very clean, don't expect luxury but it has everything you could need. We stayed on the on-suite and we just loved it (these have more space to put your luggage than the non on-suite). Staff is very friendly and the owners are just the best. Jo is incredibly helpful and welcoming. Food is fantastic too, you can order whatever is in the menu and you won't go wrong. Mikadi have many spots where you can lose yourself having a drink, reading a book or just enjoying the amazing view of the beach. It's a fantastic place to chill as well as have some drinks and have fun and so easy to get to from the airport (45 minutes) or the port (20 minutes). In general, Mikadi Beach Lodge is fantastic value for money.I really hope I come back one day and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estherpyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Mikadi and loved the location right on the Indian Ocean, friendly staff, great pool, and easy to get to via the Kigamboni ferry. Kigamboni community center (where my daughter volunteered) is a great resource for the youth of this town.
So much nicer than staying in Dar.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the beach shacks. Very simple, but such a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoVTArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#12 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#67 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#23 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kipepeo Beach Village
Kipepeo Beach Village
#3 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikadi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikadi Beach

Property: Mikadi Beach
Address: Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mikadi Beach Lodge derives its name from the Mikadi tree which thrives along the beautiful Tanzanian coastline. Jo (Zimbabwean) & Lucho (Chilean) married and owner/managers, took over the lodge in February 2008 and since then have embarked on a complete refurbishment of the place. If you have your heart and soul in a place this emanates to staff and clients alike. We are in love with Mikadi and that shows in everything we do to make your stay with us both enjoyable and memorable. They say location is everything and we are in the perfect location! We are only 15 / 20 mins from the Zanzibar ferry so ideally placed for those travellers wanting to visit Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Mikadi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikadi Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing