We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mikadi Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Africa Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Rungwe Palace Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
Best Western CBD Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bedroom Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
34
41
23
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
41
23
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater tankrelaxing daysrelaxed placeclean watertoilet paperbandaoverlandlodgedar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 120 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2011

1st impession, 'beauty & beyond' highly recommened. A very warm welcome from Jo & her caring staff. This lodge is picturesque so amazing beautiful warm indian ocean. The lodge is very clean, excellent facilities, nice pool and most of all safe. Good well prepared food & enjoyable. Anyone passing through Dar es Salaam must experience this beautiful Lodge.
Thanks Jo ...

Room Tip: Front, sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Africa_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Mikadi is a stunning, delightful place! A bit alarming when you see all the WARNING SIGNS!!! U cant walk on the beach with out a guard or walk into town because its to dangerous (not that i encountered anything). But it really does'nt give you the "carefree" holiday feeling (especially 'this is no joke)!!!
I camped at Mikadi it was really stunning, beautiful beach and the place itself is amazing, really beautiful, you feel like you're on an island.
Only thing i guess is if you love "HOT" showers - u will have to get in really early...
Also, price wise definitely NOT for the backpacker! I think it was rather expensive but you dont have many options in Dar when you'd like to camp. But if you've you got dollars or pounds - you definitely wont have a problem!
The owners - Jo and Lucho are amazing, very interesting people!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmdud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed 2 nights on our way to Zanzibar and then on our way to Selous Reserve. Lucho is very friendly and knowledgeable, answered all inquiries immediately, had everything perfectly organized for our arrival/departure at odd hours. We stored some of our equipment for a week in the place while traveling around.
We stayed one night in one of the bandas on the beach (top!) and one night we camped. Very nice and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alettaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I was one week at Mikadi Beach it was really a great stay. Everybody is nice, friendly and will help you where possible. Also all the travellers i meet there were nice and kindly, Talking while you have an overview over the Indian Ocean is really great. Everybody who works there are the most friendly and nice people i met for a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank germa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at Mikadi for 3 nights on our way to Kilimanjaro and what an experience. Firstly our email enquiry was answered very quickly by a friendly Jo who gave us some helpful advice for our trip. We arrived at dodgy o clock in the morning and were ushered into a lovely little banda right ON the beach. Literally the tide came to the steps. Room was basic with double bed, mosi net and plug socket and we loved the simplicity. For the price we couldn't believe the lovely hot showers and clean ablution blocks - very well maintained. Nothing like showering under the trees with wildlife watching. We enjoyed the food very much especially the seafood - yum, yum. Thank you Mario! Bar area is a great place to chill and watch the world go by and the owners Jo and Lu have just upgraded the bar with a pool wing. As far as getting into Dar - we would recommend getting a tuktuk and you'll be in the centre of Dar in 20 mins (with an interesting ferry ride across the harbor). We saw singles, families and couples all enjoying themselves so I'd say everyone will feel welcome. The music from the bar was loud but if this bothers you, ask for a banda further away as we did and you won't hear anything.
In a nutshell we were impressed with Mikadi and cannot recommend it highly enough. Sure it's not 5 star but if you're looking for an authentic Indian Ocean experience, look no further. It was a great way to begin our Tanzanian trip. Safari Njema.

Room Tip: Beachfront furthest from the pool area - banda 7
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oslocanyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews