We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vegetarian selection, average quality.”

The Alcove Restaurant
Ranked #149 of 304 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian selection, average quality.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stopped here (the Samora Avenue branch) on account of Lonely Planet's comment that it has a good selection of vegetarian dishes (which it does).

From the outside the building looks run-down, but inside is warm and inviting. The staff were friendly and promptly took our orders and served drinks.

We shared a dhal, a vegetable curry, a naan and a paratha and thought that overall it was average. The dhal was good, but the paratha was heavy (we ended up leaving it), the naan plain and the curry a little lacking in spice.

It wasn't a bad meal, but it could have been much more exciting!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quality Indian food, enjoyable”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Its good to pop back to this favourite from time to time, the "old" of the two branches, situated in downtown Samora Avenue. We really enjoyed the Indian food with spices and great tastes, but not very hot, friendly treatment from Sharad Bajpai the manager. I have also been brought for business lunches, it looks as if it can be busy. Good size portions, well-cooked food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wideyed_wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect Indian and Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good food, variety of Indian and Chinese dishes - from mild to spicy. Very friendly staff and a good service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the oldest Indian Rest. in Dar”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is one of the oldest indian restaurant in town. the food is very very consistent and the quanity is very good for 3/4 persons. The best variety of Indian starteres in town

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank YOGESH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“ill twice”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

first time I went, I had popadoms and chutney, and the chicken sizzlers with chilli and was affected the next day. I visited the next week, having similar and was really ill, to the fact they thought I had malaria. Not happy....once ok...but twice tooooo much of a coincidence :-(

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aspo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alcove Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to The Alcove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing