We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most overpriced and mismanaged hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilwa Ruins Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilwa Ruins Lodge
Pune
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Most overpriced and mismanaged hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel is very aptly named ..its actually in ruins. Its highly overpriced and terribly managed.
While having a lunch there must be hundreds of houseflies floating arond your plate. We asked for a table fan(which was being used by some people watching TV) but we were told there is only one table fan in entire hotel..same thing was repeated while having breakfast. By the time you take a sip of tea or juice next thing you notice is few houseflies floating in your cup.You are served just one egg and if you ask for another they told us its not available.Imagine your frustration when you have paid 200 USD per day.Other than good location everything is in ruins in this hotel. My collegue & I shared a room when i asked them to separate the beds they said they cant do it since they dont have mosquito nets so we have to share the bed.Infact anything we asked they told me that they will ask manager who was not even staying there.
There is much better and well managed hotel just next door run by Italian lady.Avoid this hotel at all costs its not worth even paying 25 USD per day.

Room Tip: I wont suggest you stay in this terrible place but if you still want to waste your money take room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

first of all this lodge is not in DAR but at Kilwa Masoko, 330 km south of DAR! The premises are well kept, the bandas even got an A/C which is not needed if the fan is working. Mine wasn't. The "flow-through" micro-water heater (not earthed!) was just decoration..Breakfast was eadable, no buffet. Dinner was a "rip-off"! 20'000 TZS per person for a dry chicken leg, some hard crab-shells, over-cooked rice n half-cooked potatoes is simply too much. At nearby places like MOPEI and MCHEMO food quality n quantity is much better and with ample beer just 15'000 TZS for TWO!Myadvice: Just sleep at the lodge n eat else where

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serengeti55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We drove around Kilwa determined to find something nice. It doesn't look much outside the gate, but it's a very nice lodge. The grounds are gorgeous.

We went during the end of the tourist season, so we were able to negotiate. Even with negotations, the price was way too high.

Our room was footsteps from the beach. It was a photographer's dream. We only drove up for a day trip so I can't speak for all of the amenities, but the staff was friendly and after the customary small talk, we were able to get some variety in our meals (which are included in the price). It’s a great location for a group of friends to go to relax for a few days, especially if you live in Tanzania. But, again, the prices were very high.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsafiriTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

the location is very good, straight at the beautiful beach. Very close to the beautiful ruins of Kilwa. The management is friendly but quite unskilled, they have very little idea how to run a hotel. Rooms are a bit too pricy for what they are. The cook is a gem and prepares the most delicious see food dishes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanzitourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

I stayed at Kilwa Ruins Lodge, Kilwa Mosoko, with my partner who was working here, there also was 2 other colleagues of his staying here also.

We were fortunate enough to have a chalet on the beach. There are about 6 "newish" chalets on the beach and the standard of these are pretty good. There are some older houses & "bandas" at the back that are a bit more basic.

The chalets were very clean and tidy with an ensuite bathroom. Mosquito net over the bed. A nice little outdoor area with table & chairs. Stunning view over Jimbizi Beach.

The swimming here was great! If you did swim out a bit further there were some nice bommies you could snorkel around.

The food was great - fresh fish for dinner most nights! Some nights we got some fresh sashimi from the manager, it was delicious.

I believe there has been some problems with management at this resort, no one has stayed for very long. We had a South African manager who did quite well. As my partner was working here the accommodation & food was paid for by his company, but I understand that it was very pricey to stay here. We met some people who came for game-fishing trips here, and the cost per day was very expensive.

We found the locals in the village to be friendly, we walked around the village without any hassle. We found a bar across the road from the bank - beers here were 1/2 price compared to the resort.

Kilwa Mosoko is a fishing village approx 300km south of Dar Es Salaam. Not too many tourists around here. As I was there on holiday, I really enjoyed my stay. I found the place very relaxing, beautiful beach and food was nice.

If you really want to get away from everything, this is a good spot. One of the drawbacks - the electricity in the village is very unreliable, so the power goes off quite regularly. The resort do have a generator though.

  • Liked — The view from the chalet over the beach & the sea!
  • Disliked — Management problems.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank africa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar-es-Salaam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

Kilwa ruins lodge have correct, but very impersonal lodges. The view from the beach is nice, but the whole place is without style or good taste and absurdily expensive. We booked full board, but decided otherwise on arrival. The food in Kilwa Ruins is not up to standard: greasy chips, fried fish and some kind of curry was not what we expected for the 135$/person/night. So we informed the managment (South african owners were not there) that we would go to the friendly Italian neighbours for some nice pasta. Upon departure, however, we were asked to pay the full price, even though we had not eaten there.
The local Tanzanian managment, who already had tried cheating us by offering a boat trip at 5 times the normal price (we went in the end with a dhow to Kisiwani for 40$), were unreasonable and rude. No, don't go there...

Helpful?
1 Thank DSM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.0 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilwa Ruins Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilwa Ruins Lodge

Property: Kilwa Ruins Lodge
Address: Kilwa Masoko, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Kilwa Ruins Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing