We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely #1 for Ethiopian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addis in Dar

Addis in Dar
Ranked #1 of 299 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
located anywhere life takes me
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely #1 for Ethiopian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's a small cozy place with nice outdoor seating. It's a great experience of the wonderful Ethiopian cuisine and definitely not comparable to any other restaurant. As the food can still impress Ethiopian customers it is a true piece of Addis in Dar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank One_of_the_Wazungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    148
    33
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definetely not the number 1”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I understand that this restaurant isn't for fine dining, the food is good but not outstanding, there is a great lack of service and if this place is a "MUST" to go in Dar it should be possible to pay in US Dollars and not to get ripped of by having exchange courses beyond fairness !? The overall experience was more negative and I'm sincerely surprised to find it on number 1 here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having being to Ethiopia and being a huge fan of the cuisine I can happily say that this is the real deal. Set on a large property, thought the venue itself is fairly small, and somewhat out of town, it is advisable perhaps to book in advance to avoid dissapointment. Be aware they are not open for lunch.
The menu, as is with this cuisine is extensive with plenty for all tastes and diets. Non meat eaters will be delighted especially. it takes a while to choose but helpfully there are a number of combos available which make the most of the many options available and is a good choice for those looking for a mix of items to sample. This is a cuisine best designed for sharing with others so the more of you in the group the more extensively you can order. We were happy with everything we choose (too many list here). Everything was perfectly spiced and all different flavours which were a delight for the taste buds.
Service is a little slow, but steady and very friendly with no mistakes which is equally important.
There is plenty of parking if you have your own car but due to its location on a fairly quite street, if you are using a taxi, perhaps arrange for the driver to collect you again at a pre-set time. (cheaper than getting them to wait for you as they may charge for the time they sit and wait for you).
Partake in the coffee and popcorn ceremony if you are with a group of people. the coffee of Ethiopia is among the best in the world. Overall a hugely enjoyable experience and will be back again...and again..and again....BTW they have a branch in Cape Town (South Africa) and by all accounts as good as the original.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamirAbdallahAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Ethiopian in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

After hearing our friends and colleagues rave about Addis in Dar, we are now also telling everyone about this wonderful restaurant.
The hearty portions arrived quickly and presentation on the large platter was great. (No cutlery needed here!)
The spicy beef and mutton were delicious and refills of njeera are handed out freely.
Don't forget to save some room for coffee!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
487 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Taste of Ethiopia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a romantic night out and, remembering our friend's recommendation, we decided to go to this place. And it was no mistake. Music, signs, letters, arrangements, decorations... all is full of colours and totally authentic (though music can become quite tiresome after some time). The service was fast, the boys were kind and ready to answer our questions about food. As it was warm, we were out in the balcony, where there were candles and mosquito repellents lit, first to create a nice mood, second for practical reasons. As for the food, it is worth spending some time studying the menu, because many of the dishes can be really hot, spicy, there can be a lot of onion... Food is served on injera, a giant pancake (and you get some more injera roles, but this one is enough), and no cutlery is used (they provide a simple hand washing prior to serving food). Dry red wine was very good, they sell by glass or by bottle. They also serve coffee and can provide coffee ceremony (there are some requirements about the minimum number of persons), but the sweets menu is poor,they serve only vanilla and chocolate ice cream (and chocolate was superb, so we can recommend). The bad thing was the toilet - too small, sink not designed for convenient use, soap falling all the time since there is no proper place for it. Prices are very competitive, especially when we compared them to the prices in the restaurants close to the hotels or in hotels, that we have been using so far. All in all, we will be going there again. Menu available on http://www.addisindar.com/images/pdf/addisindar_menu.pdf.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis in Dar also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Addis in Dar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing