We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful food, even better atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addis in Dar

Addis in Dar
Ranked #1 of 285 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, even better atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've had some amazing Ethiopian food in New York City and Addis topped the list of our experiences so far. In just a few short trips to Dar we've managed to eat here 2 times and the food has been superb. The setting - an outside balcony, lit by shaded lights and natural candles - is perfectly done. I hesitate to write this review because it sounds too good to be true, and surely some folks' experiences with so-so service ring true with different waiters, but I'm duly impressed. Besides, they take visa.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    144
    32
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Ethiopan Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Addis in Dar is an excellent place to experience Ethiopean Cuisine. The ambience is great, and so is the service. The menu is extensive and has quite a few vegetarian options too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KKS_Iyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful for a laid back evening in Dar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have eaten here on three occasions, all very satisfying. While a "homey" atmosphere, the place is authentically Ethiopian, and it is lovely to sit out on the roof terrace on fine nights. The injera is excellent and the assortment of chicken, lamb and beef dishes each uniquely good. The combinations provide good value and variety for two people. Also a nice place to bring friends. At about half the price of some of Dar's most upscale restaurants, this is a good value. The coffee and tea ceremonies are special.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenlang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I enjoyed the atmosphere here the most, on the roof top with the low tables and chairs and lanterns everywhere. It was just different and something fun. Our food was also really great, we had a great evening and would definitely return again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AfricanDayDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“nice culinary experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

nice food and eating technic (as long you don't mind sticking your fingers in the food), not the most comfortable sitting for the spoiled around you, but definitely worth visiting.

PS - the white things looking like wet towels are for eating and not wiping hands :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis in Dar also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Addis in Dar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing