We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY CLEAR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“STAY CLEAR”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our credit card was charged even before our arrival for the accommodation. Upon check-in management tried to confiscate one of our passports - we blatantly refused, apart from it being illegal they have already been paid. None of the other resorts we visited in Tanzania and Zanzibar had any problem validating your credit cards or with payments of deposits on arrival.
ROOMS: The rooms were a great disappointment. Dirty and inadequate. Management did come with the "we use salt water" nonsense. So did the previous accommodation and their linen wasn't stained with make-up, or had dirty marks on the blankets. Bathrooms have dirty run-offs as well as dirty finger marks. Air-conditioner was noisy. Room kettle plug didn't fit the socket nor was any adapter available. The guy at the front desk responded with "I know".
Food was adequate.
Saturday did not offer a restful day on the beach. The resort allows day visitors, plays loud music all day long.
Despite the fact that management is fully aware of the real danger of armed robbers on the south side of the beach, it seems as if no action apart from mentioning that you should not carry valuables and that you are advised against going there is taken.
Our family was subjected to a violent armed robbery on the beach.
Upon checking out at 4 am on a Sunday morning, we were subjected to yet another robbery attempt by a band of armed people (I guess around 10) on motorbikes on the way to the main road. This was a large group who seems to have been informed of our departure. They were posing as police - luckily our driver listened to our warnings not to stop and race to the main road. They stopped chasing us when they realized that we will reach the main road. It is not worth while staying at South Beach Resort Tanzania whatsoever.

Room Tip: Don't go there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robberscove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_FO_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are sorry your stay was not enjoyable with us, and would like to address some of the concerns brought up in your review.
Unfortunately, one of the leading financial institutions we bank with does not offer the facility to hold a deposit for incidentals, and we offer guests to leave their passports with us safely if they would like to charge to the room. We are currently working on a better system, and hope our future customers will bear with us in the meantime.
Being on the beach of one of the saltiest oceans in the world, sometimes the linen gathers rust stains and we apologize for this and are constantly trying to change them to keep them fresh. The air conditioner in the room is a little larger than regular size, however this is for guest comfort and cools the room down quickly during the hot afternoons. We have adaptors for every room, and can rectify this situation by simply letting reception know if sometimes they go missing. We are sorry for that.
As we mention online and on the website, during weekends and public holidays the resort welcomes a great crowd of locals and families who enjoy the beach, swimming pool, jacuzzi, Live DJ music and entertainment shows until late evening.
Seeing as South Beach Resort is the last in the line of 3 resorts, going further past us is not recommended as there is no major development and is untamed beach. We have never had an incident on our beach front of the resort with excellent security and to the left to the other resorts are safe and enjoyed by all our customers. South Beach Resort has also initiated a neighbourhood watch with the other resorts and is working closely with the local authorities to make not only our resort but ALL neighbours and the area a better place. We are again truly sorry for the experience you had while wandering so far off and hope future guests enjoy the most beautiful beaches Dar-es-Salaam has to offer. The motorbikes on the road are a local transportation that many people use and enjoy (We call them Boda Boda!) and are a cheap alternative to transport guests to the resorts and back from the ferry. We are sorry this scared you. Hopefully next time we may arrange for you all to take a small trip on them as they are very friendly and have a good relationship with the resort.

Mr. Roshan T.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
12
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Booked South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam via tripdavisor. Me and my wife had our honey moon in Zanzibar, and we decided to spend our last day in Tanzania in Dar el Sallam. We asked South beach to pick us from the furry port. They were on time, and very presentable and friendly. The Driver (and the staff in general) put so much effort in making your day better. Staff members take you around and keep on asking if you are happy with your stay.

The hotel itself is amazing! A massive compound on its own, just right by the beach.

They also have a big massive cage with amazing African parrots inside them that greet you when you pass by. "Hello Sir!"

Pool is great, it has a a sort of stand in the middle of it as a rain dancing stage.

For me the best thing about the hotel was the beach!! CHILLING !!!!

Rooms are very good! They actually have camping tents in the woods (behind the hotel) if you wish to experience African camping!

to conclude it was a Great experience
Will never forget the staff!!

Room Tip: Mention to reception that you want a sea view room (they are all for the same price).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Dirty bathrooms, salty bath water, I had a leaking room 301, food not really fresh, management mediocre but good staff.
On arrival my passport was confiscated as guarantee and was forced to pay full amount for the week up front.
When later in the week ( the hotel was practically empty during the week) I gave 24 hours notice that I wanted to leave, was denied a refund, the manager said you can leave if you wish, but you won't get any money back. I had to endure a terrible week in the middle of nowhere.

Overpriced rubbish, I wouldn't recommend!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sokomoko24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_FO_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry your stay with us was not more enjoyable. We understand the misconception that the bathrooms might be dirty as the water is a bit discoloured. However this is not the case as the water is treated for any harmful substances and is bathroom safe. If there was a leak in your room, we wish you would have informed us as there are plumbers, and other maintenance staff on site to assist with such issues in a timely manner. We are sorry you felt our food was not fresh, but our kitchen only cooks with fresh ingredients, fresh produce and do not have any food which is precooked or reheated.

As the financial systems in Tanzania are not able to take credit cards on hold or check their validity for any incidentals, we have tried to offer our guests the opportunity to charge their bills and any incidentals by leaving their passport with us at the reception. This is by no means mandatory, as you have the option not to do so.

As per our policies, we do not refund for early check outs. This is mainly because some events and conferences are confirmed last minute, and to avoid disappointment of any guests we must follow such regulations. We can understand sometimes that guests book with us as many visitors are visiting Dar-es-Salaam for business, but we hope next time you return for a holiday you may consider us again and enjoy the relaxation of being away from busy city life on the beautiful, white sandy beaches of Hotel South Beach Resort,

regards,
Mr. Roshan Tauro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I want to speak very highly of of the South Beach Resort and just say that this was a WONDERFUL hotel, with amazing service, wonderful staff and beautiful surroundings. Me an my husband had our wedding ceremony on the beach outside of the hotel, and it was our dream wedding, so beautiful. The staff were so helpful, preparing a beautiful red runner for the aisle, beautiful wedding flowers and they simply made this day possible for us. I highly recommend you staying at their resort!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed there in mid Occt, 2012. It took 1 1/2 hrs to get there from the airport. Thirty minutes to the ferry, thirty minutes of waiting (well over an hour on the return-total of two hours to the airport) then thirty minutes to the hotel. after asking around, we found a sign for the hotel, then drove down a road so rough that we could not go much faster than idle speed. The room was mediocre, and the a/c unit poured water onto us when we entered and left the room, as well as making us walk through water. There were only two other couples staying there. The curry was good, but the food was otherwise lackluster. The internet was spotty, and the credit card machine did not work. There was no place to shop, buy souvenirs, or sightsee. The a/c was barely adequate.

If you want to sit on the beach and drink, this place is ok. Apparently, the locals pay a fee to walk through and use the beach, on the weekends, at which time it is packed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank riecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were 50 of usand the hospitality was just amazing. Everything was pre organised for us. Food was delicious.. . we had a great time at south beach!!! The conference facility was also great. The staff also are very friendly...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulrose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights Oct/Nov. It gets very busy there at the weekends but on the plus side, it was really tranquil and peaceful during the week days. In addition, we found the staff to be really friendly and attentive to our needs.
The pool area is really nice with the option of sitting in the shade or not. A beach towel is provided at reception.
The rooms are good with a very decent-sized balcony with terrific views of the Indian Ocean. There is daily cleaning of the rooms with bottles of water provided also.
We ate in the resort most evenings and there is a good choice of food on the menu - vegetarians are also well cathered for as staff made every effort that we were aware of the vegetarian options, particularly for breakfast. There are a number of bars in the resort including the Whisky Shack where the ideal option is to order your beer/cocktail etc. and take it to the seating that is contained within the resort but is actually on the beach - this is just heavenly at sunset! If you follow football, they also had a special outdoor area showing the big games.
Just beware that if you are going to the airport or to Zanzibar, make sure you give yourself 4 hours to get to the airport and 3 hours to get to the ferry to Zanzibar. This is because traffic is chaotic at rush-hour.
Overall, a really relaxing fun-filled stay with very kind staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor over-looking the Indian Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miami1h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBR_FO_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to respond, we really appreciate your feedback to us and thank you for choosing our hotel as your leisure partner, we hope your time spent with us was memorable. We will surly share your feedback with the staff in that they continue to keep up the good work. Regarding the duration to the Zanzibar ferry or to the airport we along with the other hotels all over the city are trying to address the traffic problems, hopefully the government will be addressing this issue pro-actively.
Thanking you once again
You’re sincerely,
Roshan Tauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dar es Salaam
16.4 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#16 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
291 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
14.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#23 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
157 reviews
15.3 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#46 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
51 reviews
11.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam

Property: Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam
Address: Kigamboni, Box 3034, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Kigamboni area or better known as South Beach, features an exclusive location on the Indian Ocean front. It is located comfortably away from the hustle and bustle of the city, 8 kms from the Kigamboni ferry.Thirty-six (36) well furnished, air conditioned rooms with one double bed and one single bed in each room. Every room also offers a private balcony overlooking the Indian Ocean.South Beach Resort is the perfect location and environment to cater to all your functions from Birthday Parties, corporate day-out parties, corporate team building events and entire company family day out events up to 4000 people! Our premises facilitates and supports the company's goals, whether it is to bring departments closer together, or to provide excellent entertainment and catering to the entire staff and their loved ones. our state of the art conference centre equipped with all the essential technology, stationary and comfort is the best in South Beach which can accommodate up to four (4) different conferences at once or open up into one large hall for up to 400 people. The conference hall can also be converted and decorated to host amazing, memorable wedding parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing