We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bedroom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bedroom Hotel
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Refreshing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

stayed 2 nights before flying back to UK. I used hotel taxi drivers for safety as I am a woman travelling alone. First night was Ramadan. I was pointed to chicken n chips to eat. I went round corner and found
RISAS street BBQ. Much better. Next day I asked taxi to take me to AK cafe Samora avenue for a lovely lunch.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottingliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Madam,
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the flavours of Tanzania and that as an experienced traveller you made use of the service the hotel offers to arrange for you a taxi because even as a Budget hotel, we care about the safety of our guest.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
10
45
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at his hotel for two one night stays prior to going to Zanzibar. The hotel itself was very good value for money. The room was clean and functional. We couldn't seem to get the hot water to work, but in retrospect wonder if there was a switch we didn't know about. The room was quiet and had a deadbolt lock but no safe. One of the nights the wifi in the lobby worked, the other it didn't. Breakfast was reasonable with toast, fruit, cereal, tea and coffee. There is a new lady manager from South Africa who was very good, friendly and came around at breakfast to check everything was ok.
However, the hotel is in a very bad area of town with the road outside being not sealed and full of potholes. The first night we were there we met a "taxi driver" at a chicken restaurant down the road who offered to take us to Zanzibar ferry. He turned out not to be a taxi driver and he drove us to a remote part of town where three men jumped in, searched us, took all our money and cash cards and drove us round atm's for several hours withdrawing money. They eventually let us go but it was a very harrowing experience and we lost a lot of money. We later found out that this is a a high crime and unemployment area of Dar, with a lot of drug use.
So, the hotel itself was perfectly fine, and very good value for a budget traveller, but only use official taxis called by the hotel, don't walk around the streets after dark and avoid the "chicken licken" restaurant down he road.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your feedback regarding the hotel.
The fact that you had an negative experience with a taxi of being taken "for a ride" so to speak because you just trusted anybody from the street instead of asking the hotel to organise you a taxi, is simply not a smart approach to International travel anywhere in the world.I am sure, something like this can happen anywhere, even in New Zealand.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a good value choice in Dar, We stayed here for 1 night, the hotel is clean, the rooms are a reasonable size with decent bathrooms and its not too far from the airport. For the money, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
as a Budget Hotel, we offer value for money which is our focus. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuje1
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while in Dar for two nights and would definitely recommend it. We arrived late in the evening at the Tazara train station and the hotel arranged a taxi to pick us up. The room was bright and clean and the bathroom was spacious. The shower and toilet are in one room though so the whole bathroom floor gets wet when showering. This was the only slight negative. They cleaned the room everyday though so it's very fresh despite that. The location is a convenient walking distance to the ferry and city centre where there are cafés and shops. The staff was very helpful in arranging taxis and whatever we needed. breakfast was also lovely. For the price, this is a great find in bustling Dar.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stuje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your feedback.
as a Budget Hotel, we do our upmost to ensure that our Guest enjoy their stay. we ride ourselves to be the best Budget Hotel in Dar es Salaam as our rooms are convenient, fully air-conditioned and most importantly clean. Again, thank you gain for your feedback.
kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Hotel is located not far from the city center but it's a little bit hard to find.. Our room was clean and comfotable. Shame that there is no WiFi and mosquito net in the room. Staff was very nice nad helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blenden_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
Just to reconfirm that each room window is covered by a mosquito net in order to ensure Mosquitos are kept outside hence a extra Mosquito net is not required.
All our room are fully Air-conditioned and are naturally en-suite and indeed offer very good value for money and in close proximity to the City centre and the Zanzibar Ferry.
We look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
FORMULA 10 Livingstone Hotel
proudly managed by
Formula 10 Hospitality Group Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a night in March with a friend. We booked this hotel because the photos we had seen online looked good and it was a very good price. However, this hotel looks very different in reality. The bathroom and rooms were grubby and the location is awful if you've never been to Dar before. It's not a very good base for exploring. The staff were friendly but don't book taxis through reception if you can avoid it because they add on about $5 to the cost of each taxi. The internet is only available in reception but this isn't really an issue. However we were supposed to stay at this hotel again in April and we actually booked flights from Zanzibar a day later to avoid having to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obries11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your review.
we appreciate your candid feedback.
Fortunately for us, we engaged a New Hotel Manger after you stayed with is in march.
This is what another guest who stayed in our hotel since our new Hotel manager joined in April has to ay, I quote:
This hotel is situated at the edge of the inner city, easily walkable from the port (we came to Dar by boat from Zanzibar). The beds were good, the room nice and clean, just what we needed for a night. The new manager from South Africa was really enthusiastic, kind and helpful. The price is also very good, we paid US$45 for a night in a double room with breakfast.
In short: good place to stay in Dar...
There is actually nothing I have to add except to look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Operations Director and
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in May 2014. I have stayed also 3 times previous years. A good standard hotel with basic amenities and true value for your money.

Slight inconvenience experienced on the internet but technicians worked round the clock to fix same. Heavy rains may have made the connections loose.

Friendly staff and felt at home.

New Management of this hotel are trying their best to offer customized service and overall improvements on the hotel amenities.

Room Tip: South Rooms are a bit quieter, though front rooms are also ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustak_ladha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your review.
We are indeed very pleased having engaged a New Hotel manger who has made a huge difference. Her charm and professionalism will make our guest feel at home as she truly cares for the comfort of our guest.
Again, thank you for your Feedback.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Operations Director and
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#45 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mesuma Hotel
Mesuma Hotel
#57 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#28 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Butterfly Hotel
#36 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel
Sleep Inn Hotel
#67 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedroom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedroom Hotel

Property: The Bedroom Hotel
Address: Corner of Livingstone and Amani Street, Dar es Salaam 42771, Tanzania (Formerly Livingstone Hotel)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedroom Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open seafront classic restaurant with amazing sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bedroom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing