We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manager has no courtessy with personal in presence of guest.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bedroom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bedroom Hotel
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Zanzibar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Manager has no courtessy with personal in presence of guest.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed there for 3 days. Breakfast is not good at all, staff is so lovely and very helpfull. They work very hard to satisfy guests, but that small indian lady, keep shoutting on them like animals, she talk badly to them infront of guest, she has no manner and is not qualify to do this job, she has to be trained again. Room was nice. Good hotel for those going for bussiness, but have to change their manager.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Since we took over the hotel we have made great strides in improving the hotel and the overall guest satisfaction shows this clearly.
Naturally not always does everything goes according to plan, especially if a clash of Cultures becomes apparent, which however has been addressed.
However, we continuously work on improving the quality of the hotel further in order to be the fist address in Dar es Salaam for QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMMODATION.
We look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
10
45
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

i choose this hotel ..for just for one night .....but after staying one night I felt that ...I should not move to other hotel because of the so friendly staff.....during my stay they was very helpful and they just gave me the home feeling ....service was also nice .....the rooms was very clean and and they had lot of entertainment programs from every where from the world......also the reception was very helpful and very nice peoples ....and the hotel manager mr pawar was a very kind person ....he was always ready to help ...I can just say ...I enjoyed it very much over there my stay .....and definetly I will come back next time .....thanks to all hotel staff and to manager mr pawar ....which all makes my stay more joyfull

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raj d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Since we took over the hotel we have made great strides in improving the hotel and the overall guest satisfaction shows this clearly.
However, we continuously work on improving the quality of the hotel further to be the fist address in Dar es Salaam for QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMMODATION.
we look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I booked 3 nights Feb.08-10 single room from booking.com, after check-in i feel i am misled by booking.com, which describes this 3 star hotel free wired internet in public area, actually hardly available because only two cables, one in the lounge and the other in the restaurant. You have to take patience to wait for your turn. Buffet breakfast is so economical that it can hardly be called buffet: only toast,milk,coffee,plus a little slices watermelon, and that's all. The restaurant is with limited tables, around 8-9am peak time hardly to get a free table.
Mosquito net does not exist and unknown worm bites may occur. Mini-market is not within hotel. Even one bottle of water unavailable to buy within hotel. Hotwater is only warm water. I have to rush up bathing to get warmth. The floor of room is not clean, with dusts in corners.What's the worst is that there is no dustbin in your room!
Atttention: when you check in they immediately charge your credit card full value. After 2 nights i decide to check out to find another hotel, but the reception told me they will not refund my third night fare already charged when checking in.
IF you are on business avoid this hotel. Suggest for transfer passengers for one night stay and for budget only.

Room Tip: the 4thday I checked into Sophia house and apartment hotel two blocks away with 10 minutes walk, muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habibtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Since we took over the hotel we have made great strides in improving the hotel and the overall guest satisfaction shows this clearly. I am however sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
However, we continuously work on improving the quality of the hotel further to be the fist address in Dar es Salaam for QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMMODATION.
we look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

One of the best place.....to stay, very good staff, hotel manager is well mannered person, I really like this hotel....I hope come again...service staff very nice, they have good knowledge about his job.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishnakumar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Since we took over the hotel we have made great strides in improving the hotel and the overall guest satisfaction shows this clearly.
We continuously work on improving the quality of the hotel further to be the fist address in Dar es Salaam for QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMMODATION.
we look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We choose this hotel for oversleep in Dar. We let all staffs in our room all closed and went for one hour have some dinner. After we came back found out that our camera charger and cover for lens dissapeared from bag which was on the bed. Hotel is not safety, windows are not possible to close and after you think its closed you can open them easy from balcony. And strange was when we came back safety card from room was wrong and didnt work.
Nobody wanna talk with us. Staff manager speaks english average and it was really difficult to explain her anything. Only one person who was abble to speak with us was manager of hotel. He promissed us to show us camera on the floor but until this time he didnt. He had always few reasons why not now and he will do it later. He also promissed to call us and inform about all but we were thoose who called always first coz nobody cared!
Personal is arrogant. Food is average and water is only cold.
This hotel nevermore, deffinitely not safety at all!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operaations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Madam,
respectfully, you arrived already with a very bad attitude. Not only did you try to lie to us about where you are coming from (as we always keep a record of our guest passports for security reason) and you tried to make us believe you are Italian but as a European I immediately recognised your Russian based accent. Further to this, I became suspicious about you and your rather strange guest you brought with
In fact as I personally spoke to you, I came already to the understanding that you are potentially going to be a problem, and indeed you were. I sincerely doubt that your items were missing, I rather believe that you made up this story as we did not want to give you a discount.
Yours truly
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel is clean but the service is terrible! I stayed two nights at the hotel and it was such a nasty experience. The staff seems to hate their jobs, not friendly i must say. My first day at the hotel after having my breakfast, I was informed I must pay for omelet which ought to be part of the breakfast menu and no one informed me before having my breakfast. Despite the fact that the Manager on duty who is an Indian lady confirmed to me that it's no fault of mine, she still insisted that I must pay for the Omelet. The second morning, I planned leaving the hotel around 6am and when I asked if I could take my breakfast with me, the Manager informed me I have to miss breakfast and she can't do nothing about it.

This is a terrible hotel. The Manager i met on duty during my stay is not a good host!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adebola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied.
Since our takeover of the Management of the Hotel , we have made great strides in improving the quality and service of the hotel in order to be able to offer excellent quality for money knowing that FORMULA 10 Livingstone Hotel is a BUDGET HOTEL. Cleanliness and Security, amongst others, are naturally high priority. Please be assured that further improvements are on going.
We look forward welcoming you back to one of the most affordable hotels in Dar es Salaam which offers the best value for money.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed there for less than a night because we had our flight really early in the morning, so we ariived in the afternoon, left our bags there and went for a walk to the city center. After coming back we slept for a couple of hours and then left to the airport. Well done, because I wouldn't stay there for any longer.
The walls and the bedside were scuffed, the door handles in the bathrooms are rusted, the hole in the floor in the shower seemed to be plugged up with something as the water wouldn't go away and there were still puddles there even when we woke up.
And they don't have a mosquito net though we saw some in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aksioma_tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at The Bedroom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Sine our takeover of the Management of the Hotel , we have made great strides in improving the quality and service of the hotel in order to be able to offer excellent quality for money knowing that FORMULA 10 Livingstone Hotel is a BUDGET HOTEL. Cleanliness and Security, amongst others, are naturally high priority. Please be assured that further improvements are on going.
We look forward welcoming you back to one of the most affordable hotels in Dar es Salaam which offers the best value for money.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#45 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mesuma Hotel
Mesuma Hotel
#57 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#28 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Butterfly Hotel
#36 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel
Sleep Inn Hotel
#67 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedroom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedroom Hotel

Property: The Bedroom Hotel
Address: Corner of Livingstone and Amani Street, Dar es Salaam 42771, Tanzania (Formerly Livingstone Hotel)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedroom Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open seafront classic restaurant with amazing sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bedroom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing