We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel great staff and fantastic food”
Review of Blue Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Pearl Hotel
Ranked #73 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed December 23, 2010

While this hotel is out of the city center it is quite easy to get around, although traffic can be quite heavy at times, take a taxi very affordable and very friendly drivers, just look inwards when travelling though, can be a bit scary compared to Irish roads. cover up well and use Insect repellent, mosquito,s bite any bare skin, especially after dusk..One tip, make sure you have everything you need when leaving your room as it is quite a trek back if you forget something

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank noreenmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 86 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

This is not a European or North Amercia standards hotel. That said, the rooms are spacious (has a kitchenette) and the bathrooms well appointed. Also the roof top swimming pool comes with a fantastic view of the entire city of Dar. As a result of the management being Pakistani and muslim, the Indian food is good and there is a marked absence of pork. Onthe flip side there is a plentiful bar complete with OK prices. If you want to eat food other than Indian beware - the chef has not perfected (by any stretch of the imagination) any other kind of food. You are best to stick to chicken or vegetarian dishes. The fish is overcooked, unfortunately, and always deep fried (a shame). Don't even get me going on the beef - avoid at all costs (of course that goes for the continent of Africa in general, not just this hotel).
Bring ear plugs, as there are several churches behind the hotel, and they like to sing at the top of their lungs with the additonal aid of loud speakers, cranked to the max! That said, it can be quite nice, once in a while.
The hotel it attached to a mall so there is an opportunity to exchange money at one of the three banks in the mall(I had not problems at all). Also there is a vodacom shop to obtain a sim card and usage cell phone credits (another bonus). As a white woman travelling solo, I did not feel safe venturing outside the hotel. That said, I had a driver provided to me during my stay, and I felt safe with him. Some of the white men staying at the hotel did not feel threatened walking outside during the daylight. There is a (European style) groceriy store (ShopRite) and mall just 10 minutes away where you can get just about anything you need. While you cannot cook full meals in the hotel room (no burner) you can stock up on water, juices, fruits and veggies. I often made salads to take for lunch as everything is deep fried in the cafeterias. No problems walking through this mall on my own.
Although the internet was not free 14,000 TSh a week (about $9.00 u.s.) it was fairly reliable in the lobby and to a lesser extent in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdonald58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Big rooms, in fact very big but no WIFI except in the lobby. Rooms are clean - I found no rats or cockroaches there.

But the communal areas, especially the bar and dining area, are over-run with cockroaches of all sizes.

As for rats - keep an eye on the loud speaker on the wall at the end of the bar and watch them come and go.

Overall though it was better than Peacock Millenium Towers

Otherwise, it was convenient for my visit and dispensed with the daily fight with Dar's traffic.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
Thank KucheKuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

The price charged by Hotels in Dar es Salaam is, in general, quite outrageous. They generally offer very little and want the earth for it. The Blue Pearl have recently hired a Guest Relations Manager, (Sikander) and they do seem to be turning things around as this guy takes his job quite seriously. While they are still a little overpriced on their rooms, they are probably the best of a bad lot when it comes to value for your dollar.

Check the room before you pay. Make sure things are as you want them. It is not difficult. When I checked in they wanted US$85 for a room which I would have thought twice about at US$50. Eventually they gave me a 2 bedroom suite for $85 and that was a very good deal as the suite is very nice and very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Amina, our room maid is quite meticulous and is a very pleasant and polite young lady.

Food is safe to eat and quite good. The breakfast buffet is satisfactory, not brilliant but quite good. Dinners in the evening have been splendid with a wide range on offer, but it is more homestyle than up market western style. The good thing is that it is substance more than appearance, but very good and reasonably priced. Internet is unreliable, but I had a 24 hour connection put on and even though it is slow, one has to accept where we are.

Generally, I am very happy with the service and the friendly staff. However, what makes it all work good for me is Sikander, the Guest Relations Manager. One word to this fellow and things get done.

I do recommend the Hotel and will be using it in future whenever I am in Dar. My main advice is be honest about what you want and what you expect and accept nothing less. If a hotel wants to charge the rates being asked, then they should provide service that is commensurate with what they ask. I do have that here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kfsccb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

"I was with a small group of friends.The room was spacious actually a 2 bedroom apt. good housekeeping but charged an additional fee for it @ checkout.The food on the buffet was pretty good considering the variety and I didn't get sick big plus ;some nights better than others. I was upset because we were told a business center was present was not there offered free wifi for first 4 days then charged 3000 tshillings not a lot $1.50 but it's the principle and lousy access @ that..There was not great service overall @ the restaurant and felt harassed when eating @ the buffet by upper level mgmt. who are all Indian not African.The location is horrible spent so much money taking taxis; is in a local industrial area NOT SAFE to walk outside past the hotel.My two friends were accosted and harassed by a large group of men @ the bus stop. Not a good tourist hotel.Stay in the City Centre my friends booked and paid in advance only reason I tolerated it for 8 days!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runaroundgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We paid R96 for a very comfortable double room with kitchen and decent bathroom(with one glass!).Aircon was so-so when the hotel was full.Very wholesome plain food available nightly at the buffet-help yourself at a reasonable price.A good deal for the money.Have a Kilimanjaro Lager!!!And remember "Polepole"(slowly,slowly).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Was very large with 3 big rooms, and very clean. Buffet was good, they have wireless internet in the lobby (slow, but hey TIA!) It is also right next to the bus station.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastorbillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.4 mi away
Seashells Millennium Hotel
Seashells Millennium Hotel
#27 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
18 reviews
5 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#11 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
694 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Landmark Mbezi Beach Hotel
The Landmark Mbezi Beach Hotel
#55 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
#31 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
90 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#14 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
260 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pearl Hotel

Address: Morogoro Road, Ubungo Plaza | P.O. Box 4868, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $140 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Pearl Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the blossoming Ubungo area in Dar es Salaam, the Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments is the largest all apartment-suite style hotel in the country and offers a wide selection of luxurious suites, conference venue and fine dining. We offer the best of business, leisure and luxury in the area with excellent amenities including the only rooftop swimming pool in Dar es Salaam. All of our spacious suites include air-conditioning, large beds, Wi-Fi and continental breakfast served from 6am to 10am in the Famished Restaurant. Our proximity to the Dar es Salaam University Campus and Mlimani City Shopping Centre as well as inter-city bus and train stations makes us a premier destination for travellers, business people and conference groups. For Luxury and Value, visit The Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments – The Largest Apartment Hotel and Premiere Conference Destination in the Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing