We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Pearl Hotel
Ranked #75 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

firstly before you read, some of the reviews on here gave me the wrong impression and I was pleasantly surprised so please read on!!

The Hotel is situated on the main dual carriageway Morogoro Road, just down from the biggest Bus station that connects Dar es Salaam to most of East Africa, so the traffic is constant day and night. Ubungo junction is the busiest I have seen in Africa. There is currently alot of construction on the road to provide a rapid transit system to remove (hopefully) the amount of Dala Dala buses. (local buses). There is major traffic jams, but the taxi drivers are pretty good at avoiding and the don't last too long. I was working at the nearby Nation Institute of Transport, so this was ideal for me.
The hotel has large conference facilities, and are regularly used, wedding at the weekends are common, it is busy with a wide variety of people using the hotel.

The foyer is of an asian theme, it is well maintained and well decorated with a bar, snack bar (don't bother) and internal Restaurant, where the breakfast is served, the receptionist speak english and had no problems on that count, ask for a high floor 12, 13, I was on 13 there are guards on the lifts (very modern) and especially on the 13 floor where the gym is. There is an infinity pool on the roof, which has views of the surrounding area (fantastic)

The room I had was an apartment, with a dinner/kitchenette/lounge leading to a bedroom with the bathroom and storage cupboards. There is air con, saterlite TV (limited channels) and a desk. The plugs are british standard and the current is compatable. There is a fridge, microwave and toaster, coffee and tea facility and they leave a bottle of water for you everyday.

The hotel staff and the security guards were good, learn the swahili greeting and they are more than happy to help you learn more. When you reach the ground floor, as you emerge there is a small shopping mall, the barlcay bank shut down while I was there, so the ATM on site doesn;t except VISA. There is a small shop to the left of the lift where you can get cold drink, booze, bread (weekdays only) crisps, sweets etc. (there is a pertol gargae across the road called Engen, better supermarket and a decent takeway)

If you are planning to use mobiles, expecially data, buy a local sim and buy a package from milimini city (biggest shopping centre in DAR) it only cost 12,00shilling (£3.50) for a 500 mb deal, but be warned the download rate is not of EU standards, i.e. messenger messages no problem, skype call , you will have problems, but I managed a couple of times but gave up.

I ate just outside of the hotel in the bistro, the tandoori chicken is to die for, the beer is good, aply named kilimanjaro and serengety and a local spirit called konjagi. The breakfast is good, usually baked beans, beef sausge (hotdog style) potatoes, freshy made omelletes, no bacon. The juice is fresh on a daily basis, passion fruit, melon juice and mango juice I found really good, there is something for everybody.

The taxis outside are good, barter, if you not been before, they will try there luck at first. I used 3 guys called Baracka, ben and Conrad who were excellent, they will offer their mobile number if you wanted to call them when your out, which was a godsend for me.

The only downside for me was on Sundays (my day off) the church to the rear belt out the bells and the choir (extremley good) start singing, if you wanting a lie in then, unless your a heavy sleeper, is not going to happen. The call to pray from the local mosque starts at 5am but is distant, you'll get used to it very quick, but the church is right at the base of the hotel

I would have no problems in recommending this hotel to the seansoned traveller.

Room Tip: 12th or 13th floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aspo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    29
    21
    8
See reviews for
5
9
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recently spent a week at the hotel and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodation standards and service levels. The hotel is well situated close to the town (especially when traffic is a nightmare) and boosts a 13 story building, complete with a fantastic pool on the top floor! The rooms are clean, liveable and tastefully furnished. The food is nice as well, especially the Indian crusine prepared by a professional Indian chef - try the Gosh Khadai...

Room Tip: The higher the room, the cooler the breeze in hot Tanzania!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunjay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel next to Ubongo bus station (the only reason why we stayed here). The room was pretty clean and quiet – we asked for as high a room as possible. There was free bottles of water in the room.

We have spent a lot of time in Dar es Salaam in the past and know the traffic can be terrible and as the bus was early we decided to stay local (once checked in, we went to the centre for food and spa treatments).

a bit pricey for what is, but location and cleanliness were the main things we wanted and there aren't many options. Can only assume the prices are high as it is used as a conference hotel (i guess could get busy some times)

We were a bit surprised when asked to see a room, we were then shown a room and told we couldn’t have it – this was just a show room, then when we looked at the room we were allowed to stay in, it was exactly the same...very strange!

Nice friendly staff, no complaints and would stay here again if we were travelling by bus.
We didn’t eat here – negotiated a bit of a discount as we weren’t eating breakfast (bus left too early).

Room Tip: i always say go high....but then one of the lifts was out, so a long wait some times, but want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adomski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

The hotel is clean, tidy and well maintained. The staff are very polite and are very keen to please, many speak English.

The food is of a good quality and well presented, there is a good choice on the menu.

This is a hotel that caters for functions such as weddings and exhibitions, it is not for families on long stay vacations, however, if you are on business or need a stop over for a few days, it is a good place to hang your hat.

I stayed for two weeks on business and have no complaints.

Be sure to check out the roof top pool and the gym, not big, but big enough to enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Dont book a room higher than the 12th floor, the aircon extractor fans that are on the roof above fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronc785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
209 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

"Blue Pearl" sounds like a bar you wouldn't bring your girlfriend to, but it's a hotel just outside Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania.

The Blue Pearl hotel is a fairly nondescript hotel a few km outside Dar Es Salaam. It's located by a busy highway. Location wise, rather isolated from restaurants or anything else.

The hotel is rather dark but is comfortable enough. Rooms are large, sensibly tiled in terracotta coloured tiles, with airconditioning and cable TV. My room had a microwave, fridge and sink but no kettle. Rather gloomy and cheerless though.

Facility wise, there is a gym with malfunctioning or nonfunctioning treadmills and cycle machines, and a few exercise stations. There is a nice but small infinity pool at the rooftop - large enough to soak in but not big enough to actually swim.

There is a rather grubby restaurant that I wouldn't recommend unless you really have no choice - and given its location, if you don't want to take a taxi and sit in traffic, you don't have a choice.

The hotel has plenty of space but doesn't use it well. There are empty corridors, large open halls and unused space, all rather sprawling and a little gloomy. Overall, better to stay someplace else more central and vibrant unless you want to purposely isolate yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the Blue Pearl for 2 nights which were more than enough.

When we arrived things like towels etc. was missing in the room. We had no hot water and when we called to complain we waited 2.5 hours and only got a response because we called down to the reception to complain for the 4th time.

We had also ordered a airport shuttle which they forgot and send us with a taxi and didn't compensate us for.

We checked out in the evening, and the check-out only took 20 minuttes and we couldn't pay with visa because they didn't know how to operate it.

All in all a very bad experience and we will never recommend or be going back there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Blue Pearl seems to be orientated towards governmental organizations and NGOs who are having large meetings and conferences there - the lobby area was dominated by large groups of "important" people and their entourages when we were there. As a leisure traveler, we felt like an inconvenience rather than a guest. They could find no record of our room reservation when we arrived, despite having an email confirming our booking, which was a little alarming; they were however able to allocate us a room.

The room itself was perfectly pleasant: clean and spacious, although the air conditioning was a little erratic and the hot water intermittent; the swimming pool was clean and had wonderful views but was very small and cold. We ate outside at the 'barbeque bistro' - the menu would benefit from retranslation into English as it was incomprehensible even to the waiter who served us. "Chicken bith" or "chicken sajji" seemed to be the main two options, and most of the other choices were unavailable.

The internet wasn't working when we were there; they sent a technician to attempt to diagnose it but he wanted to use my laptop to fix their servers since he didn't have a machine of his own. Attempting to get a refund for the $10 I had paid took three separate visits to the reception, although I was eventually successful.

The hotel is right by the biggest road junction in Dar es Salaam, which is almost permanently clogged with traffic; I'd echo the comment of a previous reviewer that you should be cautious about travel time estimates if you have a fixed schedule or airport check-in.

Our bar isn't set too high for hotels in Africa for obvious reasons, but we've had much better experiences than this in Kunduchi and Morogoro.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IssaquahDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
7.7 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#45 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#32 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#29 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pearl Hotel

Property: Blue Pearl Hotel
Address: Morogoro Road, Ubungo Plaza | P.O. Box 4868, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Pearl Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the blossoming Ubungo area in Dar es Salaam, the Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments is the largest all apartment-suite style hotel in the country and offers a wide selection of luxurious suites, conference venue and fine dining. We offer the best of business, leisure and luxury in the area with excellent amenities including the only rooftop swimming pool in Dar es Salaam. All of our spacious suites include air-conditioning, large beds, Wi-Fi and continental breakfast served from 6am to 10am in the Famished Restaurant. Our proximity to the Dar es Salaam University Campus and Mlimani City Shopping Centre as well as inter-city bus and train stations makes us a premier destination for travellers, business people and conference groups. For Luxury and Value, visit The Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments – The Largest Apartment Hotel and Premiere Conference Destination in the Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Jovago.com and Expedia so you can book your Blue Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing