We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Orange River with Bundi Adventure Cc”
Review of Orange River

Ranked #998 of 2,040 things to do in South Africa
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Orange River with Bundi Adventure Cc”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We have just completed a 4 day, five family trip with Bundi down the Orange River. We used Bundi for they were the most professional when we researched all existing outfitters. The experience on the River was even better, with fantastic guides and excellent food for the whole family. The care, input around safety and the service as a whole was excellent. We had a fantastic, memorable family and friends holiday, A must for anyone wanting something different. The facilities are not four star but are adequate and good for the the purpose of such a vacation.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Roché v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Umkulu Canoe and River Trails....The Best Ever!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at The Growcery Camp at Umkulu Canoe and River Trails and we had a blast of a time. Hennie the owner and his guides Zak en Sas were amazing. The ablution facilities are clean and awesome...you can shower under the stars! The pub is buzz and the location is on the river. Campsites are on the river bank, under shade and on grass. This is big sky country with experienced river guides...we call them the "river rats". The more "up market" zink chalets are new and in good shape. We love this camp and the staff...! Well done to Hennie and the team!
We will visit again with some friends!
Jannie and Benetta Engelbrecht

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Umkulu is the way to do the Orange River - FUNSASTIC!!!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Did a 4 day river rafting trip with Umkulu Travel in July 2013. SAS, our sweet and handsome camel-man-look-alike tourguide, was fantastic - and we therefore summarized the trip as FUNSASTIC! The base camp was comfortable, and the experience to sleep on the sandy river shores unforgettable - we opted for a tent but some of our fellow rowers slept outdoors. Lots of rowing and some exciting rapids - dramatic scenery and indescribable landscape - we loved every moment and Sas went out of his way to entertain, cook, guide and rescue! Anneke at the Umkulu Head Office also arranged our pre and post rafting accommodation in a very efficient and friendly manner - thanks to Sas and Anneke - we will be back.
Some winter-tips: take a tent, blow-up mattress, warm water bottle, camping chair and quick drying clothes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank WEALLLUVTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Steer Clear of this Outfit”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked a rafting trip on the Orange River in March with African Rafting and at the last minute without warning the trip was cancelled by the company. Despite the owners promises to deliver and company terms and conditions, no refund was given. Steer clear of this disreputable company!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank tomahasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Umkulu and the Oranger River”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have now been on the Oranger river 4 times already. The last 3 times i went with Umkulu Orange River Rafting and what a fantastic experience. I cannot wait to go again. The camp just get better and better every time I get there. More trees for shade, permanent camping platforms, fantastic hot showers while looking at the stars etc. etc. The staff are well trained, friendly and helpfull. Rowing the river and sleeping under the stars a great experience and the meals are to die for. You will be amazed at the meals that the guides will cook for you on an open fire. I will definatley recommend Umkulu River Rafting and the Orange River Rafting trip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank CapeTownWilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange River also viewed

Augrabies Falls National Park, Northern Cape
 
Kruger National Park, South Africa
 

Been to Orange River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing