We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, but avoid restaurant recs”
Review of Dar Sultan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Sultan
Ranked #5 of 49 Tangier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This B&B was lovely and a great value! The staff was very helpful and hospitable, the decor quaint and enchanting, the breakfast excellent. Their restaurant recs, however, whilst well intended, will send you to overpriced tourist traps with mediocre food. good place to stay though!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 299 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had the privilege of staying at Dar Sultan for 7 nights last week. We had taken the whole place as a buy out for a family reunion. I have only positive things to say, starting with the amazing owners, Maite and Jean Pierre, and the staff including Nadia the outstanding cook, and Mustafa who's in effect the manager. Everyone went out of their way to make sure that we had the best, most comfortable time. Not easy, when the ages ranged from 10 years old to 80, with everything in between! The Dar itself is perfectly located, in the best area of the Kasbah, with parking 3 minutes away. The decor is lovely, eclectic, and reflects the travels of the owners, while honoring the area and giving a definite sense of place: Tangier was for a long time an international city, and you feel it here. The view over the whole city , from the terraces (particularly the top terrace, attached to the suite "Charf") is breathtaking: you can see the Kasbah, the whole Medina, the bay of Tangier and of course Spain, right across the water.
The breakfast , served on the terrace, is huge and delicious: you won't need lunch after such a feast. Make sure to have dinner at least once during your stay. It requires advance notice, but you're in for a treat: Nadia is a super talented cook, in addition to being warm, funny and efficient. All in all a perfect stay, in a gem of a house. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Charf has its own terrace. Two rooms have twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElliotSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our hosts were so welcoming, the whole family was always concerned with our satisfaction. The guest house is really beautiful, the location was perfect and breakfast up on the rooftop terrace was yummy! We wished we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Some wonderful things and some not-so-wonderful things lead to average review.
We arrived late, tired and hungry but our promised, pre-paid, pre-arranged dinner was not served due to some kind of mix-up on the hotel's part. Fortunately, our outside guide stuck around and negotiated with the hotel to pay for our dinner at a local restaurant, and we did have a lovely dinner there (but missed getting to try the dinner at this hotel, which we heard was really good). We loved the furnishings and decor at the hotel, apparently a lot of it the collections of the French owner. Beautiful flower petals arranged in a fountain in the lobby... a strong lovely smell of incense or oils throughout. Flower petals on our beds. Rooms were spacious enough and a decent bath in each. But the toilet in one broke with one flush and they were unable to fix it, so the two people in that room had to share my bathroom, which was not a big deal. Nice shower! There were air conditioning units in each room but none of us could get them to turn on. We plugged them in, tried every switch but to no avail. It was 105 degrees out and really hot in the rooms but it was so late and we were too tired to find staff to see if the a/c worked so I don't know to this day if they have a/c. (I really wish the staff would always start up the a/c for us and explain how it works, if they have it). The rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean but there were ants in both bathrooms. They put pastries and chocolates on each bed, a nice touch (but because the pastries were unwrapped and there were ants, we skipped them). Unfortunately my room was situated so that the noise of extremely loud street partying went on until past 4am and as tired as I was I literally didn't sleep a wink. There were sounds of metal buckets and rakes scraping brick (?) until past 11p, kids and adults screaming and yelling until after midnight, then a group of young men who stayed for hours (maybe a wedding?) and literally laughed and shrieked and argued and yelled until the wee hours when an old man came out and screamed at them for a good ten minutes. Just when it died down, the morning prayers over the intercom began (about 5a?) meaning between the heat and the noise, there was no sleep that night. Breakfast the next morning was served on the lovely rooftop terrace and was a feast for the eyes as well as being yummy. It made me even sorrier that we wouldn't be able to enjoy dinner there as we had been promised. A delightful cat freely roamed the hotel. If you don't like strong scents or are allergic to cats, you can't stay here. But if you like eclectic decor, you'll like this place. The French owner showed up the morning we left to make sure we enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant and to apologize for the mix-up, which we appreciated. Wifi is available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the noisy street and have them turn on the a/c for you (if it works) or try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mushroom1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Beautiful place in the kasbah. Very friendly, helpful staff and a very sweet cat. We would stay there again. We had them fix dinner for us one night and it was one of the best meals we had in Morocco. Two things to be aware of: One is that they would only accept cash for payment, which we hadn't realized in advance and resulted in our doing a lot of running around to ATM's, and Two, because it is in the kasbah, it is not possible to drive up to the riad. They do have safe parking nearby but you'll have to be directed from outside the walls.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I try to avoid staying in dars because unfortunately always something happens that spoils the stay but I chose to stay in a dar again this trip because of the good reviews and mainly because it's location in the medina.
I booked for 3 nights but we arrived a night earlier (this being semi-business trip we called them to ask if room was available, which was the case).
Do not expect sumptuous arabic decoration, this dar is nicely decorated in a personal way, many of the owners' personal travel souvenirs etc.
We stayed in 'marshan' which not a big room but has many windows so it doesn't give too cramped feeling. Small bathroom with window. Their or booking.com website has accurate photos.
Every afternoon a tea-time biscuit or dried fruit is served in the room.
Nice terrace which serves as breakfast area. I spent a few hours reading a book on the terrace but it is not a lounge area so you sit in normal chairs (the suite has a private terrace with lounge chairs).
Very good breakfast, fresh coffee or tea, fresh orange juice, moroccan pancakes, croissant and toast, jam, yogurt, eggs, fresh fruit, apple compote.
Dinner is not served unless requested in advance and min. 2 persons (a cook has to come in and buy and prepare food being the reason).
Staff (especially Nadia and Mustafa) very helpful but only speak french, the cat was very cute and cudly.
Wifi is free but only available on ground floor. Guarded, free parking about 200m. from the dar.
After our 3 nights we wanted to check out but the owner made a fuss and insisted we stay or at least pay for 4 nights (remember we arrived a day earlier), he walked out on us angrily and left us to settle the bill with Mustafa... Owner litteraly said "I counted on receiving 400€".
Mustafa tried to make us feel better but we left the place with mixed feelings...
I'm giving it an average quotation because the riad itself does not offer anything special in decoration or facilites, the rooms are quite small for the price (we paid 100€ /nt/ room), no credit cards accepted, no dining facilities.
If I would rate it "very good" it is because the staff is exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertroseBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The owners of Dar Sultan are a wonderful French couple, warm and welcoming. Their employees will go do every think in their power to make your stay a pleasant one. We found the rooms a bit small compared to other Dar and Riad we stayed at during our stay. However our room was very comfortable and very clean. The toilets have all the modern amenities. The personal attention was like no where else. It is in the Kabash, centrally located and a wonderful place to start our days of exploration! We will definitely return in a future trip!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metravellingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
0.5 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#8 of 44 in Tangier
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 49 in Tangier
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison de Tanger
La Maison de Tanger
#3 of 49 in Tangier
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Souran
Dar Souran
#2 of 49 in Tangier
127 reviews
0 mi away
Dar Nour
Dar Nour
#6 of 49 in Tangier
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sultan

Address: 49 rue Touila, Tangier, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range: $110 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing