We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, incredibly helpful staff!”
Review of Dar Jameel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Jameel
Ranked #4 of 46 Tangier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay, incredibly helpful staff!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a wonderful one night visit at Dar Jameel. The staff were SOOO helpful - they helped us connect with our driver who was lost (he literally drove us and our luggage to meet our driver)!! The included breakfast was perfect. Overall, a great place to stay! Also, relatively easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    98
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
70
159
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
166 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

What Dar Jameel has going for it is a good location within Tangier's medina -- just a half block from the Continental Hotel (a landmark reachable by taxi drivers.) The ornamentation of the lobby and rooms is also striking. And the rooftop dining room and breakfast satisfied. All of which makes Dar Jameel a good deal for the money. On the negative side, our room offered barely enough room to maneuver, and the (allegedly private) bathroom was through the lobby and down a hall. Not a bad choice, but beware of the limitations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar J, Owner at Dar Jameel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for comments about Dar Jameel; we value all of our guests opinions and hope we can improve wherever possible.

We have a range of rooms and suites available in Dar Jameel and presumed that you knowingly chose the cheapest option available.

We apologise if you found your room smaller than anticipated and the location of the private bathroom a little inconvenient. The Marhaba room, our most economically priced room, remains one of our most popular choices among budget travellers. We often receive comments from guests who stay in Marhaba room about their surprise at the luxuriousness of bathroom and bath-robes provided and the relative price of the room.

We are certain that you will not be able to find anywhere in Tangier of an equal standard for the same price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipiona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

That's the rist when you arrange a weekend at the end of February, rain in Tanger. The first time, I know the city very well and it is always nice weather. We stayed in Dar Jameel as I saw in Tripadvisor that overall rating was very good. A really nice placve to stay, staff are helpful and friendly. Beautiful mosaics in the ground-floor area. Probably due to the rain there was a constant smell in our room of humidity and even our clothes, after a weekend, had that smell. Breakfast was very good and complete. We had the possibility to make coffee or tea in our room but after 1 day there were no tea bags anymore, we asked for some more but impossible? The coffee bags in our room were only deaf, no normal ones. Asking for a hair dryer remained also without result.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaretha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Overall a really nice place to stay, well situated within the medina. A dar is a town house build around a central open-roof (sheltered nowadays), ground-floor area but with no or not a lot of opening towards the outside. I only stayed in houses like this during my stay in Morocco and this one was definetely the most comfortable (and expensive) one I was in. The lower floors have really conserved their traditional aspect. The top floors lack a bit of charm but are more open onto the outside, especially thanks to a lovely rooftop terrace.

Room Tip: Lower floors traditional but no windows. Upper floors will have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
366 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel has it all! Right from when you enter the front doors you feel the nice atmosphere. Staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms and interior decor is stunning. Wonderful mosaics and it really feels like a boutique hotel but at a great price. We paid 30 EUR for a night. Located on the sea side of the Medina. Take note - ensure you know your way before entering the medina, do not be led by any locals or they will take you anyway they like and expect a tip!!

Would stay here again anytime we are in Tangier!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chch2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A fantastic find near the medina in Tangier. A bit claustrophobic in the first floor rooms and no privacy... since you can hear everything in first floor rooms but when we were moved to a 2nd floor room it changed our experience. Beautiful, bright. Great breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more price/quality.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first and higher floors. A lot of steep stairs.. so not recommended if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was very happy i chose to stay at Dar Jameel, the property is truely stunning throughout, beautiful decor, comfortable beds, yummy breakfast and very helpful staff. The location is also great, just up from the ferry and a short cab ride to the train station (idriss even walked me down and helped me find a cab the morning of my departure) right on the edge of the medina, so easy to find, but still within easy access of the fascinating old town of Tangiers. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the rooms on ground level by reception, which was a beautiful room, but being nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
4.7 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 43 in Tangier
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 46 in Tangier
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Yasmine
Dar Yasmine
#6 of 46 in Tangier
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Jameel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Jameel

Property: Dar Jameel
Address: No.6, Rue Mohammed Berghach | Oued Arhadan, Dar Baroud, Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Jameel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Jameel, the House of Grace and Beauty, your sanctuary in the medina of Tangier, is a beautifully restored, traditional riad style guest house on the edge of the medina next to Tanger Ville maritime port.. An oasis of peace and tranquillity, Dar Jameel is a secure, intimate and calm space amid the bustling life of the medina and is ideally located near the International Port, the town beach and the new town. Wi-fi is available throughout the house. The house is built on five levels with eight large bedrooms, six with with bathrooms inside the rooms and two with external private bathrooms near the rooms. By January 2017, all rooms will be en-suite. The house is richly decorated in traditional Fes style,with magnificent stucco ceilings combined with a more modern Moroccan look. There is a large terrace, where a relaxation room with 360 degree views to Spain, the Bay of Tangier and the medina, is located. There are a number of steps inside the house, therefore, travellers with mobility issues are advised to reserve rooms on lower floors. There are many communal areas to rest, read or simply enjoy the view located throughout the house. There is a small library and a collection of music CD's or a bluetooth soundsystem to play your personal preferences. A generous breakfast is included in the price of rooms. Local, organic food is used whenever possible.Multi-lingual staff are available 24/7 to answer your needs. Dinner for groups of six or more can be provided when ordered in advance. A personal laundry service is also available at a small charge per item. Dar Jameel recommends that you use only trusted registered guides and taxi services. A list of these and other tourist information is available from the reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dar Jameel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Jameel Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing