We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house and location”
Review of Dar Jameel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Jameel
Ranked #4 of 46 Tangier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great house and location”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A fantastic find near the medina in Tangier. A bit claustrophobic in the first floor rooms and no privacy... since you can hear everything in first floor rooms but when we were moved to a 2nd floor room it changed our experience. Beautiful, bright. Great breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more price/quality.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first and higher floors. A lot of steep stairs.. so not recommended if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    101
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
73
159
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was very happy i chose to stay at Dar Jameel, the property is truely stunning throughout, beautiful decor, comfortable beds, yummy breakfast and very helpful staff. The location is also great, just up from the ferry and a short cab ride to the train station (idriss even walked me down and helped me find a cab the morning of my departure) right on the edge of the medina, so easy to find, but still within easy access of the fascinating old town of Tangiers. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the rooms on ground level by reception, which was a beautiful room, but being nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Dar Jameel in the Tafraout room. The room was small and the bed was hard by American standards, but the ambiance of the room more than made up for it. I loved lying in bed and looking at the sculpted and painted plaster ceiling. The bathroom situation was a little strange as we had a private restroom just outside the hotel room and a shower just across the way, but it wasn't a problem at all. The electric heater kept up with the winter chill and there was plenty of hot water for the showers. The rooms were extremely quiet, we only ever saw other guests at breakfast. The Breakfast was wonderful with fresh breads and eggs made to order. Staff was helpful in making further travel arrangements for us. We loved that the hotel was located inside the Medina, but near enough the door that with a little bit of wandering we were able to find our way back on our own. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The service started even before I arrived. I e-mailed to ask for advice on how to get to the hotel from the train station, and the manager, Idriss, responded to me right away with a helpful e-mail. Even though it’s in the medina, it’s easy to find because it’s near the outer edge of the medina and near the Hotel Continental. The hotel is beautiful, and my room was lovely, clean and spacious. I can understand what another reviewer said about the light coming in at night- above the door to the room is a stained glass window, and the lights from the inner courtyard of the hotel do shine in a little. This wasn’t a problem for me because I always travel with an eye mask, and also, the lights are turned off at night (maybe 10 or 11?). The staff is wonderful here – Idriss offered to call a nearby restaurant to order take out for me, and Jamal is the nicest guy you’ll ever meet. They will help you with everything. Breakfast is huge and yummy –lots of fruit, juice, coffee, eggs cooked to order, bread and pastries. I would definitely stay here again if I ever return to Tangier!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UltraNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went to Tangier in Nov 2013 and stayed for 2 nights. Beautiful and delicate decor. Very clean and with heater! Breakfast with a view was phenomenal. Most important -- very honest and helpful staff and DID NOT have to worry that we would be ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Dar Jameel for one night following a 15hr journey from London, and were promptly met by a taxi arranged by the hotel to take us from the airport. The hotel is clean and well kept, with cozy rooms and lovely intricate mosiaics and tiling throughout. We stayed in the "Leila" room, which was decorated very nicely and had a very sturdy and comfortable bed. The hotel features all the usual niceties: free wi-fi, hot shower, a plentiful breakfast and very pleasant and friendly staff. The location is quite close to the port and train station, which was excellent or us as we were catching the train to Fez the next day, and again, the hotel was happy to arrange a taxi for us. We had a slight hiccup when the taxi didn't come on time but the porter very kindly took our luggage down the hill and ordered a taxi for us. I would recommend this hotel to any one looking for a calming haven to return to after the hustle and bustle of Tangier!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rayneestellewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We found this little oasis on Tripadvisor and it was as good as the reviewers had written.
Set just off the centre of the Medina, this quiet, clean and quirky Riad is an ideal place to escape from the madness of the Medina in Tangiers.
Extremely helpful staff advised us on nearby restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets. WiFi connection was useful and the rooftop breakfast room gave an astounding view across the city. The rooftop lounge with heat resistant glass all round and air circulation was an idyllic place to relax after a day in the city.
Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: The Family room is the most spacious and has en suite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supermarioEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 44 in Tangier
582 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 44 in Tangier
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 46 in Tangier
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Kasbah
Dar El Kasbah
#10 of 46 in Tangier
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Jameel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Jameel

Property: Dar Jameel
Address: No.6, Rue Mohammed Berghach | Oued Arhadan, Dar Baroud, Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Jameel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Jameel, the House of Grace and Beauty, your sanctuary in the medina of Tangier, is a beautifully restored, traditional riad style guest house on the edge of the medina next to Tanger Ville maritime port.. An oasis of peace and tranquillity, Dar Jameel is a secure, intimate and calm space amid the bustling life of the medina and is ideally located near the International Port, the town beach and the new town. Wi-fi is available throughout the house. The house is built on five levels with eight large bedrooms, six with with bathrooms inside the rooms and two with external private bathrooms near the rooms. By January 2017, all rooms will be en-suite. The house is richly decorated in traditional Fes style,with magnificent stucco ceilings combined with a more modern Moroccan look. There is a large terrace, where a relaxation room with 360 degree views to Spain, the Bay of Tangier and the medina, is located. There are a number of steps inside the house, therefore, travellers with mobility issues are advised to reserve rooms on lower floors. There are many communal areas to rest, read or simply enjoy the view located throughout the house. There is a small library and a collection of music CD's or a bluetooth soundsystem to play your personal preferences. A generous breakfast is included in the price of rooms. Local, organic food is used whenever possible.Multi-lingual staff are available 24/7 to answer your needs. Dinner for groups of six or more can be provided when ordered in advance. A personal laundry service is also available at a small charge per item. Dar Jameel recommends that you use only trusted registered guides and taxi services. A list of these and other tourist information is available from the reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Jameel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Jameel Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing