We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place Great view good Price”
Review of Dar Jameel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Jameel
Ranked #4 of 46 Tangier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Would definately come back! Amazing view on terrace, cute rooms and super friendly staff. Just a little walk from the ferry and directly in the Medina. Very delicious breakfast and also english speaking staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Dar Jameel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 388 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

dar jameel is a fantastic place to stay 15 min walk from the ferry terminal an right on the edge of the medina. up a winding ally its just a door in a wall , but when you open the door it is a beautiful building inside very clean rooms are lovely , fantastic roof terrace giving views over the roof tops and across the water, breakfast is amazing lots to choose from and served fresh with lovely mint tea

Room Tip: not all rooms are en suite but most bathrooms are next door to room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wholelottarosie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed 1 night at €44 in a very spacious room on ground floor with separate private bathroom. An extremely beautiful building with great views from the roof top terrace. Breakfast included. Very central old town location. WIFI worked strongly but seemed to disappear at midnight when the reception guy went to bed. Shower had strong hot water and bathroom was spacious. Bed a little on the firm side and no aircon or fan so it got a little warm in the room although a nice breeze in the alley way outside and things cooled down later at night. Manager helpful and knowledgable with good English. You could hear a number of people knocking to come in after midnight / 1am from the ground floor room but maybe you might miss it a little higher up. More than OK for an overnight stay and a very nice introduction to Morocco.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

OK, it's true. Me and my wife always go for the cheapest and we're kind of used to having some issues with the places where we stay. But Dar Jameel is simply amzing.

The people who work there take great pride in what they do. And they do it well. All our needs were met and everyone was always nice, intelligent, kind and polite. That's specially meaningful when you are being chased by 5 touts who demand your money. Don't worry, the folks at Dar Jameel got your back.

You get to sleep in a beautifully decorated and absolutely clean room; you wake up to be taken to a terrace where someone will bring you a delicious breakfast. They will always get you what you need even before you ask for it.

That's right, I'm not used to being treated this well!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet one.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was the first time I have styed in a Riad, and in the Medina. It was little hard to locate but once there it is a Gem. It is a wonderful place run by a great owner and filled with good staff. We were on the first floor, in a room with no windows (it was a good room), the owner went out of his way to give us an amazing room, the hospitality was outstanding. The view from the rooftop was a great and inside was very well decorated. Overall it exceeded our expectations and I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ok I will be honest... I was scared at the alleyways leading up to this riad. But it was a WONDERFUL place filled with staff that is SO helpful and, I mean this, ... caring. They cared for their guests and it was something I loved. The view from the rooftop was a amazing as well. Cost was very reasonable. Shared bathroom, but that is not uncommon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatestDetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar J, Owner at Dar Jameel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hi Vic, we are really happy that like many of guests you enjoyed your stay at Dar Jameel.

We just wanted to let you and other visitors, know that, although the short walk to Dar Jameel may seem a little "scary", in reality there is no reason to be apprehensive about the alleyways that lead to the riad. The young men that you see standing around are just local young people who are there to meet their friends and have a chat and a smoke. This is their neighbourhood and, as in Europe and the U.S. in days gone by, the normal place to meet friends is outside the house on the streets.

There is still a community spirit and an un-written code of hospitality in the medina and on the rare occasion should anyone start to hassle you, if you respond with a firm but polite, "No thanks!" and slightly raise your voice, other locals will come and assist you. Dar Jameel can recommend official guides if you would like to explore the medina and beyond. But, please do not form your ideas of the medina from a few young men who are usually just innocently chatting with friends. Remember, just as you are a tourist and interested in visiting new and unusual places, so are you interesting to them.

The Moroccans are a truly friendly people and you will find that if you sit at a local cafe, it will not be long before somebody starts a conversation. While some may have ulterior motives to show you "their family's carpet shop' etc. most are truly interested in just passing the time of day and having an interesting conversation.

Dar Jameel is extremely near Tanger Ville port (about 10 minutes by foot) and just off Dar Baroud, one of the main streets leading into the medina and almost opposite the Hotel Continental that can be seen on the right when walking from the port. Those arriving from Tanger Med port (from where there is a free bus that takes you to Mahatta, the bus station), or the train station can take a blue 'petit taxi' and ask directly for Dar Jameel or Dar Baroud, and the Hotel Continental.

We hope this information is helpful and we get to see you another time in Dar Jameel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

stayed here for a night in tangier in late july. The staff was incredibly helpful and made sure that we were safe at all times. the riad was beautiful and gave a taste of morocco which was situated inside the medina. the terrace had a great panaromic view of the city. i would deifnitely stay here again if i went to tangier again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 44 in Tangier
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 44 in Tangier
712 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
0.1 mi away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 46 in Tangier
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Yasmine
Dar Yasmine
#6 of 46 in Tangier
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Jameel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Jameel

Address: No.6, Rue Mohammed Berghach | Oued Arhadan, Dar Baroud, Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range: $63 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Jameel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Jameel, the House of Grace and Beauty, your sanctuary in the medina of Tangier, is a beautifully restored, traditional riad style guest house on the edge of the medina next to Tanger Ville maritime port.. An oasis of peace and tranquillity, Dar Jameel is a secure, intimate and calm space amid the bustling life of the medina and is ideally located near the International Port, the town beach and the new town. Wi-fi is available throughout the house. The house is built on five levels with eight large bedrooms, six with with bathrooms inside the rooms and two with external private bathrooms near the rooms. By January 2017, all rooms will be en-suite. The house is richly decorated in traditional Fes style,with magnificent stucco ceilings combined with a more modern Moroccan look. There is a large terrace, where a relaxation room with 360 degree views to Spain, the Bay of Tangier and the medina, is located. There are a number of steps inside the house, therefore, travellers with mobility issues are advised to reserve rooms on lower floors. There are many communal areas to rest, read or simply enjoy the view located throughout the house. There is a small library and a collection of music CD's or a bluetooth soundsystem to play your personal preferences. A generous breakfast is included in the price of rooms. Local, organic food is used whenever possible.Multi-lingual staff are available 24/7 to answer your needs. Dinner for groups of six or more can be provided when ordered in advance. A personal laundry service is also available at a small charge per item. Dar Jameel recommends that you use only trusted registered guides and taxi services. A list of these and other tourist information is available from the reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Jameel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Jameel Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing