We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Jameel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Mamora(Tangier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Tangerina(Tangier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveler rating
281
106
15
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
106
15
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomroof terracemint teatop floorcontinental hotelbeautifully restored oldquiet oasisearly departuredouble bedits charmtangier medinabeautiful roombreakfast roomyogurtstayed here for two nightsferry terminalfrom spain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 415 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Let me start by saying this is not a negative review – its more of a sane one id like to comment in comparison to all the gushing ones before.

Not hard to find the Dar.
This is not a RIAD as someone had commented before – there is a difference.

Just a short walk from the port – as long as you don’t have heavy bags !
Its certainly taller or better placed than surrounding buildings.

Greeted by Idris, a very nice chap indeed as were all the staff we had limited exposure to on our 1 night.
Apart from the steep stairs up to the top floor just under the terrace – we liked the large room – as we had gone for the sleeps 4 as we had kids with us.

They had I have to say rather pokey un-windowed rooms on the ground floor that had 2 double beds either end of the room – opening out into the reception area.
Oh that’s one I would want to definitely avoid – lack of privacy with sounds – and no natural light.

Our room – we noticed for kids was not great – as the curtains were not blackout so first light if you have little ones they would be up.
And they were!
The toilet and shower was shared with the room by way of a partition wall enclosure.
Nice idea – the bathroom – we only had a shower was quaint a little smelly with drains – this was borne out by the fact that when using the shower – the basin filled up and took a long time to drain out.

The roof terrace was great – spacious and seating and good views. But someone wrote great views of the coast – no not really unless you cut out the dirty great big port on the left hand side.
But I do think it was better than most!

The very top chill out room an extra room built on top of the terrace reached by steps and very clean terrace toilet – a new idea id not seen before.
Music and sofas made a nice atmosphere. We used it at night time but didn’t stay long as was a bit cold. During hot months this would be a bonus.

The location was great for the medina – and in general I found.

Rooms were very clean – and all toilets in hotel – public and private seemed to be very clean too.
Big plus in my book.

Adhan, call to prayer – was at usual time and did wake me and my partner – but since we were near the top of the hotel and at front of it I guess it was more noticeable than other rooms lower down or at back part of hotel.
Ear plugs are necessary !

Breakfast was functional – and served in the breakfast area which was nice and airy and clean.

Wi-Fi – not always available it seemed but when it was, was good strong signal down on our room – just under the breakfast floor and good speed – up to 3MBs I got!
Better than our property in Spain!
You would I bet struggle to see good signal lower down cause of many walls etc. though can’t confirm.

A hundred euros for one night is what we paid – and I was happy with that as it slept the 4 of us.

I’m spoilt – been to Marrakech and stayed in amazing Raids – so no comparison – but however my comments are all still valid.

Thnaks

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar J, Owner at Dar Jameel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Mo,
thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay with us at Dar Jameel.
Customer feedback is vital for us as we continue to evaluate and improve the service we offer. By listening to our customers we have ensured that we have stayed one of the TA top guest- houses in Tangier.
It may be helpful for yourself and other readers of your review to understand how and why these traditional houses were built, and may go someway to answering some of the comments you have made regarding your stay.
The heat and glare of the Moroccan sun for much of the year made it impractical to have a dwelling open to the surroundings, so, the living quarters of the house were planned with the patio in the middle, often with alcoves—known in Morocco as the 'b'hou'—or a loggia leading off it. These allowed the occupants to sit in shade originally under the open sky, as their ancestors had sat in the doorway of a tent. Therefore a “ dar” is an enclosed world of its own. The rooms usually form a square around a patio, one long chamber on each side, with their windows looking inward. The patio thus offered absolute privacy to the family. This is why the rooms in the old part of the house have windows opening inward onto the patio area as do the rooms on the ground floor. As you or your family did not stay in these rooms it seems strange and somewhat inappropriate to comment on their comfort. It is unfortunate that you did not appreciate the style and craftsmanship of Dar Jameel as many guests have found this to be one of the most enjoyable aspects of their stay with us...
Our apologies for any problems with the plumbing system, which although totally renovated, does connect with a medina that is over 400 years old and, therefore, occasionally problems do occur. We will make every effort to remedy this. We must, however, remind you that our staff are available 24/7 and, had you reported this issue with them, they would have been able to address this during your stay.
Many of our visitors chose to stay in an authentic house away from the homogenized hotels to be found in the new town precisely in order to have a taste of real Moroccan culture, which includes the call to prayer. We are sorry that you felt ear-plugs were necessary to block this out. Thank you for your comments regarding the curtains. Most guests like to be up for breakfast and then off to explore. We will certainly see how we can improve this.
Wi-fi is freely available throughout the whole of the house with a good strong signal on all floors including the ground and first floors. We presume you experienced no problem as you did not report any loss of connection to our reception staff, yet comment on possibilty of a poor connection?
We are happy that you found our prices to be competitive and acknowledge that due to differences in culture, climate and history, the many guest-houses in Marrakech offer a different experience and at very different price .
Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I visited Tangier 10 years ago and stayed somewhere else. This time I went to Tangier with my cousin and his friend for one night . We found this hidden palace by coincidence and as soon as we walked in we felt at home. Idriss greeted us with his beautiful smile and offered some mint tea immediately.We enjoyed the view from roof terrace while having our tea. My room was next to the reception with a private bathroom and friends stayed on the second floor. Their bathroom was outside the room but they wouldn't mind . We unfortunately stayed one night there but it was not enough.
The Dar Jamael is located in the old city within walk distance to Medina and port. It has a few beautifully designed rooms with free Wi-Fi.Their breakfast was excellent, i must say the best we had in Morocco . Idriss and his staff were very friendly and helpful .
I highly recommend this wonderful place .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aylin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We just have to agree with all the others who gives this superb riad full marks. A beautifully restored old city palace, wonderful view from the roof terrace, very nice and cosy rooms, everything comfortable. And the personnel are extremely helpful and charming. Great location too, on the edge of the medina, so one can just walk straight out into it. Since the medina is fairly small, you don`t risk getting lost.
We had one complaint, however. Our two rooms on the second floor had a shared, bathroom, meant to be private for just us. But since this was not clearly marked, other people tended to use it too, which we were not very happy about. After talking to the manager, they put up a sign on the bathroom door, and "compensated" us with a nice bottle of wine. All in all a very happy stay! in Tangier.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom, choose the more expensive rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ithaca96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in Tangier for 4 days. The Riad is located in the middle of the "medina". So, great location if you look for knowing the old-city.
The staff was really helpful. They helped us with every single need that we had.

Regarding to the tours and places you can visit in Tangier and close to Tangier( like Asilah or Chefchaouen) the Riad has some trusted taxi drivers that they pick you up in the hotel and take you to that place while giving you some kind of tour. Really worthy.

Honestly one of the best places I have stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebasTian_1981Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This beautiful riad offers the kindest of service by the charming manager Idriss. Rooms were very clean with excellent WiFi. A fantastic breakfast awaits you in the morning. Gorgeously decorated, it's also walking distace to the ferry to Spain, moments from the Petite Socco and a pleasant 10 minute walk to the Grand Socco. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roldan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews