We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a transit one night stop ...”
Review of El Muniria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Muniria
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We had come from Marrakesh and planned to travel to Seville - we couldn't do it in one day so made an overnight stop in Tangier. We found this guesthouse through the Lonely Planet Morocco book. It has some "Beat Generation" history but nothing was pointed out to us or anything.

Our room had a nice view of the water and had a little table for us to make our own breakfast. (We are traveling on budget). The shower was in the room but hot water was not working. The toilets are down the hallway.

One nice thing was that we arrived from an overnight train at about 8am and were allowed to check right into our room - I'm sure we woke up the lady who ran it, but she was nice and friendly to us. We'll be forever grateful as we were quite tired!

The room and property were very dated, but was relatively clean and we have no real complaints. Tangier isn't really a holiday city anyways so I don't imagine people are staying here on purpose. Also, we paid 200 Dirhams (Moroccan).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2008

This place definitely isn't a 5* luxury hotel, but when you're paying the equivalent of £15 for a double room you don't expect it to be! However, it is charming, individual and basic without being grotty. As well as having strong connections with the beat poets of the 50s/60s (William Burroughs lived here for several months and both Alan Ginsberg and Jack Kerouac also came to stay) it also has good views of the beach and the sea and, if you're lucky enough to get room 7, a large rooftop balcony to chill out on.
The bed was large and comfy and the room was clean, if a little dated. The shower had seen better days but wasn't unbearable and the shared toilet was also more than acceptable. The steep flights of stairs would make this an impossibility for anyone with mobility problems though.
We booked by phone a couple of weeks before and it seemed to work OK, despite my broken French! Having said that, the place wasn't too busy when we stayed so I don't know how reliable booking would've been in the busy season. They only take cash as payment and the room cost 200dh for the night.
The hotel is a little challenging to find (down a side street) but we managed it with the map from the rough guide book. It's fairly centrally located though - you can easily walk from there down to the Medina, the beach or the market. It's about 25 minutes walk from the port - we arrived by ferry. An added bonus is that one of Tangier's only bars is attached to the hotel, although there wasn't much going on there the night we went! It's probably more fun to sit in one of the city's tea-shops and watch the world go by whilst enjoying a glass of sweet peppermint tea.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ladybug_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Stanze all'ultimo piano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Darauf achten, dass das Licht funktioniert und Steckdosen vorhanden sind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauro n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUDREY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.1 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#13 of 44 in Tangier
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mauritania Centre Tanger
7.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Tanger
Ibis Budget Tanger
#24 of 44 in Tangier
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Omar Khayam
Dar Omar Khayam
#26 of 44 in Tangier
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chellah Hotel Tangier
Chellah Hotel Tangier
#31 of 44 in Tangier
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 44 in Tangier
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Muniria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Muniria

Address: 1 Rue Magellan, Tangier, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range: $28 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Muniria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Muniria Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing