We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of calm in the kasbah”
Review of La Tangerina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tangier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Tangerina
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The great door opens ... aaaah .... into a calm and lovely area to sit, read, eat, and look up 5 stories where the rooms are arranged around this inner courtyard. The roof looks to the sea and across the strait of Hercules/Gibralter to Spain. The rooms are all wonderful, some with outer decks some without. The people at the desk were kind, helpful, well-informed and completely delightful. It was a wonderful place to stay - and deserves even more than 5 filled-in dots!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosalind L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 612 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were given a nice but quite a small room which was more than made up for by the stunning unobstructed views of the straits whilst laying in our double bed. There was even a pair of binoculars beside the bed that allowed us to check out the early morning fishermen hard at work. The breakfast was simple but nice. Would defiantly stay here again if we returned to Tangier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raddicool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

La Tangerina is perfectly located in the Kasbah area. What made me fall in love with this riad is the view from the terrace, overlooking the vast blue waters. A picturesque sight indeed.

We were given a room with 2 single beds with no view. We saw the other rooms which had the ocean view and were bigger. But we still had a comfortable one night's sleep in our room. The vintage radio in the room was a nice touch. Simple yet classy room.

Location was perfect. To go to the medina, you need to walk up and down the hills which could be a challenge for some.

Staff were all friendly. At breakfast, one of the staff even helped us to take our photos. Wake up early and enjoy the view at the terrace!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view. There is one at the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumarni05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent one night here at the end of our Moroccan holiday on the way to Spain. This charming Riad is very well located within the Kasbah on top of the hill. It's prominent location gives fantastic views from the roof deck, we could quite clearly see the European coastline. If you don't like stairs beware as there are a lot of stairs and no lift and it is a bit of a walk up hill to get here from anywhere. That is ok if you know, we like exercise when on holiday but some might struggle. Very clean and tidy Riad, we stayed in the room on the top floor (same as roof deck), this was a very pleasant room. The location is very central to the main beach area and the ferry to Tarifa, quick trip in a taxi down the hill. Breakfast was quite limited and basic but OK. Great way to end our Moroccan holiday would certainly recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: Roof terrace room has great views, you just have to like stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Extremely nice hotel situated in the Medina with view on the Street of Gibraltar and on Spain. Decorated in the style of the first half of the 20th century. I enjoyed my stay very much. Service was very good as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

La Tangerina is situated in the Kashba and is absolutely perfect. The owners are delightful and the Riad is characteristic, friendly, peaceful and the views from the toff top terrace are stunning. Well done Farida ang Jurgen.

Room Tip: Each room has different characteristics so to make your stay perfect check their website or contact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac43ScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Our friends are in room 10 and we are in room 6 for one more night (our third) and it is the highlight of our trip. The hotel's owner is friendly, accommodating, and very very helpful. She arranged a taxi to meet us at the airport. She has adjusted the hotel meal plan to include Moroccan favorites of ours. Our meals have been great.

The rooms are each different. Each takes advantage of the ancient basic structure of the original building to which she has added on (more accurately, added "up") to provide more rooms. 6 and 10 are both wonderful. The bathrooms are modern. The beds are firm. The housekeeping is excellent. On the top floor is a lively terrace with a view of the Strait on which we have taken our included breakfast each morning.

One single caution: if you don't do stairs, this may not be the place for you. The staff carried our bags but there are some stairs involved in reaching the rooms. 6 is on the third level, and 10 is up one more just off of the terrace.

I would recommend it to anyone with a sense of adventure and a love of new experiences. In fact, this fine little hotel is the perfect metaphor for Tangier itself.

English spoken, as well as Spanish, German, French, and Arabic.

I also recommend Sharif, the day guide our host arranged for us. His English was excellent and he was both knowledgable and patient with our many questions.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 27countriessofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
4.8 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
0.5 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#8 of 44 in Tangier
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 44 in Tangier
619 reviews
3 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dar Omar Khayam
Dar Omar Khayam
#26 of 44 in Tangier
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tangerina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tangerina

Address: 19 Riad Sultan, Tangier, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tangerina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
La Tangerina Tangier
La Tangerina Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing