We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Tangier”
Review of La Tangerina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tangier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Tangerina
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oasis in Tangier”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was the most amazing hotel. It was perfect! The room was an oasis and the roof top had the most beautiful view. Each room is different and equally unique. Loved the dinner and the hammam - don't miss that. The service was fantastic. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xanril9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    98
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
110
275
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

So my brother recommended this hotel to us and he has high standards, so when we were planning our honeymoon we thought this would be the best place for our first few nights in Morocco....I had been on the website umpteen times and shown it off to friends but I just couldn't help but feel slightly disappointed by the place. I think it stems from the meal we had there, which was poor...I know we were there during Ramadan but the people the night before that we had looked on at eating seemed to have what you'd expect...however for some reason we had soup and sandwiches and then had a problem at the end paying the bill as we were charged 20euro per person (Which is the normal full price meal) - if I had not challenged this, we would have been robbed really! We eventually paid 20euro but even at that price...ridiculous. It disappointed me so much that at the end of our stay we were arguing over the bill with the porter...there was no manager there and he had no english. We also were told last minute we had to pay the full amount in cash and could not use our cards even though it is advertised that you can, and was in the email correspondance.
I so dearly wanted to LOVE this place, after all the hype and recommendations - and am well travelled, and with your average expectations and standards, but just left a little umphhh about our experience here. :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived in Tangier from Spain via ferry, and were quite overwhelmed by the energy of Morocco. As soon as we stepped inside the Riad, we felt relaxed and well taken care of. The staff were very helpful and accommodating.

The décor and atmosphere of La Tangerina are absolutely beautiful. Soft music fills the Riad, there are fresh roses on display everywhere, and candles are lit at night to add to its romantic, old-world charm. I found the singing of La Tangerina's canary and finches just lovely.

We were served mint tea and biscuits on the roof terrace with breathtaking views of the Straight of Gibraltar. If you wish to have dinner at the Riad, be sure to book in advance. They recommended a restaurant close-by and gave directions, and we had a delicious meal.

Our room, Room 3, faced the street, so it was quite noisy at times. There is no air-conditioning, but thankfully it was nice and cool, which meant that we could close the windows to keep some of the noise out.

Breakfast consisted mainly of pastries and breads, with a wonderful selection of jams, preserves and honey, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful Riad. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have wanted to go Morocco for a few years and La Tangerina was my choice. We had a suite room for three which was very small with a 4' high loft bedroom. There was no a/c and no screens in the windows. It was a little hot and buggy at night. We were on the 4th floor and there was no elevator. It was also Ramadan so at 3:00 in the morning we awoke to a 30 minute city wide call to prayer. The tea was delicious and the view from the terrace priceless. I thought they served dinner but when we arrived they said no. We left at 8:00am and the only person who could check us out was the night watchman. Our bill came to us on a "post it". We got to look at the hotel next door, The Nord Pinus, which was nicer and had a great restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We now visit La Tangerina 3 Times a year.We almost count the days between visits.The hospitality of Farida and Jurgen and their staff is unmatched in Morocco.I each time, carefully examine the construction and engineering details of this house.Jurgen is responsible for the largest and smallest details of this authentic post deco riad. The restoration and decoration are perfect down to the last detail of the era.La Tangerina is their canvas which continues to evolve.
The dinners and breakfasts on their legendary terrace overlooking the Straits of Gibraltar, make it the finest dining experience in town. Their accomodations are luxurious, each room with a different character, view and detail. For the value there is really nothing like it in Morocco. A 5 star hotel at 2 star prices...It's all worth a trip to Tangier so don't hesitate!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ormerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at La Tangerina for the first time for a couple of nights in the first week of July just before Ramadam. This boutique style small hotel is perfectly situated at the top of the kasbah with rooms either looking over the old town, medina and port or across the Straits of Gibraltar and into Spain. The rooms are beautifully but sparingly decorated and fitted out, all clean, crisp and light, pared down French Maroc taste. The proprietor or is it proprietress could not have been more helpful, knowledgeable or charming. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was a delight, coffee, croissants, fresh breads and pastries, homemade jams and local butter was a delight.
Our first choice when in Tangier from now on

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bessie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent our first night in Morocco in this hotel. It lies on high grounds in the heart of AlKasbah and the old medina. Our room did not have any view, however the roof (terrace) where the restaurant has a superb view that over looks both the sea and the medina. La Tangerina is a very relaxing experience. PS. I loved the flowers in the rooms, the birds cages outside the rooms, the Moroccan tea welcome drink, the shower, the soaps, the staff, everything really!

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, better stick to the rooms on the ground or first floors since there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimannosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
4.8 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 44 in Tangier
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 44 in Tangier
582 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#11 of 44 in Tangier
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tangerina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tangerina

Property: La Tangerina
Address: 19 Riad Sultan, Tangier, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tangerina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
La Tangerina Tangier
La Tangerina Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing