We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable!”
Review of La Tangerina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tangier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Tangerina
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adorable!”
Reviewed May 8, 2008

We loved this adorably appointed guest house! It is well positioned in the kasbah; some rooms having views of the ocean. It is walking distance to the medina, and a long walk (or quick cab) to the newer part of town.

The rooftop terrace is lovely--we had breakfast and tea up there overlooking the water. Each room is unique, and staying on our first and last day in Morocco gave us a chace to see 2 different rooms. The service was wonderful and this was the best breakfast we had in Morocco!

I look forward to returning again to La Tangerina.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — It was not an issue for us--but the stairs could be an issue for those who are not very mobile
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    97
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
107
271
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2008

I could go on and on about the gorgeous hotel, furnished with vintage/antique furniture (even old radios) the owners collected in their travels around Morocco. The service is great, the rooms comfortable and the bathrooms adorable. Tea on the rooftop patio and breakfast with fellow travelers were the highlights. Don't be shy about asking for traveling advice at the front desk. they set us up with a car and guide for a one-day excursion down the coast to Asilah, which was wonderful (and very cheap, about 50 euros for both of us). They also mentioned to us that they are trying to offer travelers hiking excursions and more "sporty" adventures. The whole experience has made us want to use b&b/guesthouses more than hotels in the future.

  • Liked — The decor - felt like being transported back to 1940s Tangiers.
  • Disliked — We only had 2 beds (doubles instead of a full size) because they were full when we booked - not their fault though.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasstar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Lovely place and lovely people. We really enjoyed our stay at La Tangerina and our time in Tangier in general. The place is beautiful and airy; perched right at the high peak of the historic kasbah and overlooking the ocean. The owners are fantastic and very helpful. Farida went out of her way to help us make arrangements for further travels within Morocco, and her recommendations were the best. We were sorry to have to leave after such a short stay!

  • Liked — everything... especially the owners and the lovely spaces
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pkoeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Arriving in Tangier from Tarifa (South Spain) the hotel is at walking distance, but at the high end of the Kashba, so you may prefer a taxi. The hosts and owners, Jurgen and Farida, are very pleasant, hosiptable and helpful. The hotel is lovely and restored with great love and attention to detail in the local style.

From our room we could see Spain across the Mediterranean, binoculars provided on the shelf next to the bed!

The Hammam was a very worthwile experience.

From the hotel just stroll down through the Kasbah and the Soukh, see the American Legation, and then through the gate and across the open air market, up the steps to the Cafe de Paris for a cup of coffee. Make sure to see St Andrew's Church (up the hill, behind the Mosque) and greet caretaker Mustapha ("Mr. Thankyouverymuch") for us.

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, True Tangiers
  • Disliked — No internet (but plenty of internet cafes around)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dlwdlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

Since I saw the webpage I wanted to visit that hotel. And I wasn't wrong about my perception.

Farida and Jurgen, the owners, are perfect hosts. The idea of having breakfast with all the people who are staying at the hotel is really good, because we were all from different parts of the world enjoying the same meal.

The view of the Mediterranean from the room is amazing, even though we were staying in a small one. The terrace is something unbelievable, I think it was my favorite spot of the hotel. I reallt felt relax over there.

The location is great, just in the middle of the Kasbah, near the Medina.

I'm sure that the next time I travel to Morocco I will stay there, for sure!

A couple from Argentina!

  • Liked — the terrace
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lulinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
4.8 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
680 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 43 in Tangier
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
1.2 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#10 of 43 in Tangier
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tangerina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tangerina

Property: La Tangerina
Address: 19 Riad Sultan, Tangier, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tangerina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
La Tangerina Tangier
La Tangerina Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing