We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and good location”
Review of El Oumnia Puerto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Oumnia Puerto
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Haddonfield, NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good location”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

El Oumnia Puerto is located close to the beach but within walking distance of the medina. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom and the hair dryer was pretty good. The free high speed internet was a definite plus. The TV had only one English channel but that didn't bother me; I really didn't expect more.

The pool was well maintained and a lovely place to spend the afternoon.

The breakfast buffet was limited, though on the weekend there were made to order omelets available. During the week I saw omelets and espressos being taken to other tables but I limited myself to the coffee and food at the buffet.

I had beer at the outdoor bar which was pretty expensive but convenient. I did not eat in the restaurant other than breakfast.

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay at El Oumnia Puerto.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDMHaddonfield_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
16
20
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My husband stayed here on previous business trips so for our last combination trip of business and leisure he decided to book here again.
It's probably not the best (would rate it good 3*) nor the most modern hotel of Tangier but I really liked it because it's clean and has a relaxing atmosphere.

The hotel is +/- 300m from the beach and 15 min walk from the old medina,in a busy but clean and safe street.

A big plus is that floors throughout the hotel are tiled with cork, it insulates the noise very much.

Rooms are spacious with good bed (we booked a double but got 2 separate beds because hotel was fully booked), 2 bedside tables with lamps, desk with chair and telephone, TV with remote control, sofa. Floor is carpeted.
Bathroom with toilet, bidet, wash basin and bath/ shower, this could do with some renovation. Toiletries provided as well as good towels. Hot water any time you need it.

Breakfast was good, a big choice of breads: rolls and pastries/ cakes. Yogurt, cereal, fresh juice, coffee, tea or hot chocolate, Arabic breakfast, a small selection of cheeses, jams and honey, fresh fruit.
To be honest you might tire of this after 4 mornings but being in Morocco I found it a good breakfast.

Restaurant: we had lunch in the restaurant but it took some time before it arrived. I found the food only so so and expensive - but that's not unusual for hotel-restaurants.

Swimming pool with kiddie pool and guard (only guarded during summer months), deck chairs.

There is a guarded parking in the hotel. I forgot the price but it was not expensive and well worth it during busy periods when you don't find parking in the streets.

The hotel is quite popular with families during the summer but it never felt crowded nor was there too much noise at the pool. As I was on my own for 2 days I spent the afternoon at the pool and had a relaxing time and felt at ease.
We will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertroseBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Nothing too noteworthy about the hotel...

The decor is distinctly early 1980's but that is to be expected, along with the ubiquitous backing tape music entertainment.

Pool looked clean and welcoming, hotel itself looked generally clean and well kept.

The breakfast is quite good considering, but the restaurant food itself isn't too great and probably best avoided. That said, the food generally elsewhere wasn't anything other than satisfactory.

The hotel did seem to smell of cigarettes, but so does everywhere in Morocco.

The area outside seemed to be the local hangout for sunglasses and watch sellers by day, and drug peddlers by night. Not threatening though, just annoying.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AverageJoeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2008

The Staff were very Stiff and not welcoming , They have attempeted to charge me twice in the bar for the same order , by the way be aware that a beer cost you almost 5 euros per bottle of casablanca beer.
once you have paid for the room , they do not allow any changes , if you have a friend to share the room , you have to inform them prior to paying , otherwise you have to pay for a seperate room for your friend , specially if the friend is a female

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank abdolromany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2006

For those of you who might consider using the ATM machine located in the hotel lobby to withdraw cash, be forewarned that any attempts at withdrawing cash will be registered as successful even if the machine is empty and gives you no cash.

One night I tried to withdraw some money, and after the second attempt, I was told by the receptionist that the machine was empty. When I checked my bank account later, I found that both attempts were shown as successful transactions and that the money was deducted from my account.

I have since filed a claim with my bank here in Boston.

Otherwise the hotel was clean, the staff was for the most part helpful and friendly (except for the fake blond waitress at breakfast who would only attend to Europeans). One thing I didn't like though was that there were security cameras on every floor - a little too Orwellian for me! Also, there are many other similarly priced hotels within walking distance that offer the same amenities but also offer beach views. (This hotel is one block away from the beach but has no view of it.)

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fasolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tangier hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.1 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#10 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlas les Almohades Tanger
0.9 mi away
Ibis Tanger City Center
Ibis Tanger City Center
#14 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Tulip City Center
Royal Tulip City Center
#4 of 43 in Tangier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Tangier
Ramada Encore Tangier
#23 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Oumnia Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oumnia Puerto

Property: El Oumnia Puerto
Address: 10 Avenue Beethoven, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Oumnia Puerto 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Un acogedor hotel situado en el paseo maritimo de la bahia de tanger, con un total de 97 habitaciones (86 Habitaciones dobles, 4 adaptadas para minusvalidos, 7 Suites Junior y 3 Suites Senior). El hotel consta de dos bloques de 4 y 7 plantas. Ponemos a su disposicion todo un abanico de posibilidades, ya que disponemos de un Piano-bar "Bar-Jardin" situado en el centro del hotel, acompanado de un magnifico jardin con piscina de la cual podran disfrutar de forma gratuita, asi mismo ponemos a su disposicion nuestros Restaurante "La Terrassa Grill" con especialidad en barbacoa, Restaurante "Ibiza" especializado en comida nacional e internacional, nuestro restaurante "Andaloussi", especializado en comida tradicional. Por ultimo podran terminar las noches divirtiendose en nuestro Lounge club "Space" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Oumnia Puerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oumnia Puerto Hotel Tangier
El Oumnia Puerto Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing