We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly, have no skill of customer service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mirage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tangier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Mirage
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfriendly, have no skill of customer service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Because my husband and I entered to them wearing casual cloth, they look down to us. Although we came to this hotel bcause of the recent rrview posted. But seems they previouse review which criticise the attitude it still exist. The receptionist was not frindly at all. We are currently staying at the hotel. The hotel looks so stunning and has a splendid beach. Will see how it will go.
With regars to their rate, it is expensive ehich I thought I should be pampered for this value but nothing special so far.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanyandluay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    17
    9
    13
See reviews for
20
62
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was a good lesson not to get fooled by looks. The room smelled musty and stale, the bed was hard and uncomfortable, the pillows were of cheap quality, the wifi didn't work in spite of one employee after another trying to fix it, the ventilation was so poor the room was stuffy and if you have any level of sensitive airways, you'll be in trouble. There were stains on the sofa, and worst of all, the worst service I've ever encountered in recent memory! The first employee we met was so cold and unfriendly, which wasn't what you want to experience after the trek there. There was no blanket or comforter on the bed, just a sheet, and it took 45 minutes to get an ugly, motel-type blanket delivered to the room. The icing on the cake was when I complained about the room smell and stains on the sofa, the woman manager's response was, in exact words, "it's a hotel!" Oh yeah, what was I thinking, expecting some level of quality from a supposedly 5-star resort?!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The backdrop is beautiful but the rest is the worst you will ever receive in every way. Nothing works in the rooms and no one in the hotel knows what s/he is doing. If you want to waste your money, go to this place. Otherwise, go to El Minzah in Tangier proper and get real service at a real landmark.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level Contributor
211 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Le Mirage is like an oasis in the desert: refreshing, energetic, peaceful, sensual and spicy.
It has been really fantastic to enjoy every day the breakfast from my terrace facing the private beach lulled by the sound of the sea.
People here are more than delicous and they really made my stay smooth and pleasant making me feel like home.
The restaurant is really good and the service is attentive and precise. I enjoyed a fantastic meals on the terrace especially a couscous and a lovely seabass.
What I found incredible about this plcae is that everything is possible.
The director, Mr Chakkour is such a charming person extremely able to orchastrate his team.
Thanks a lot to everybody

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a fabulous vacation at Le Mirage. It is, without a doubt, our favorite trip of all we have taken. The place itself is gorgeous, with out of this world views of the Atlantic Ocean. The staff was so friendly, so helpful, so kind, and all went out of their way to make our trip more pleasant than we could have imagined possible. The highlight of our trip was the Maitre De, Jilali, who made our seaside, delicious dinners even more fabulous!! He is an outstanding addition to an excellent experience. We certainly intend to stay there again!!!! A++++++++++++++

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoroccoChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Whilst my partner and I found this hotel stunning in appearance, our stay was ruined by non existent customer service. We were made to feel that we did not belong in the hotel, and didn't fit the expected criteria of the normal standard of customer. On arrival we were greeted by reception who neither smiled and spoke limited English. Which is ironic as it is an international hotel , which boasts a selection of flags outside including a British flag. This became a feature with all staff throughout our stay, with most being unable to communicate in any way in English. Often reception was unmanned.

Our room was very dark, however was stunning in appearance and very well presented. Although we noticed that there was no mini bar, or free bottled water. The hotel did provide several hours after our arrival a fruit basket, and one free bottle of water. Even in lower end hotels I have stayed in, I have always had a bottle of free water each day.

We were made to feel unwelcome in the restaurant, and the waiter looked down his nose at us. We stood around for 20 minutes waiting to get a drink as there was no staff, and decided to get room service in the end which was as bad. First time we used room service we ordered 2 sandwiches and only 1 arrived, second time was fine, and then the last time we used it my pasta came with no sauce, and the sauce was missing from my partners steak. The blandest meal I have ever eaten in my life. After phoning, the sauce that did arrive for the steak, was freezing cold. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, due the experience we had with room service on the first day. We went to the supermarket on the way back from Tangier, and stocked up on things which we kept in the empty fridge in our room for breakfasts and lunches. I would advise asking the taxi driver to stop at the supermarket near the hotel, on your way there as it is not in walking distance. There is a shop across the road that opens in the afternoon, but prices are inflated.

Next to the shop is an excellent café, where we ended up eating for 2 nights. The café is extremely clean, food is far superior to the 5 star hotel!

The hotel boasts many former celebrities including French presidents, Kofie Annan,Lionel Messi, to name a few, I hope the customer service they received was better than ours!

The hotel is a long way from Tangier, a taxi will cost around £30 return....

In summary, hotel was stunning and clean, but service was appalling!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senikaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am currently staying at the hotel and am truley disappointed with the experience i have had so far. On arrival we recieved no 'hello', 'how was your journey',our welcome was the man on reception saying that the room was not ready. Clearly something that was not our concern,and something the customer should not be told. Our room we cannot fault so far, and the view of the beach is beautiful. Our bungalow overlooks a garden area which is pretty. As we arrived early in the morning we ordered room service, to which only 1 of the 2 meals i ordered arrived. When we explored in the morning, we felt uncomfortable by the number of armed guards on the outside of the complex, it gives the impression that the area could be quite unsafe. We went for dinner last night, and when arriving at the bar, the waiter greated us with 'what'. Clearly he needs to go on a customer service course! We were told that we could not eat for 30 minutes due to Ramadam. This i do not have a problem with, but the limited paperwork in the room states evening meal is from 8pm. After sitting for 15 minutes we eventually found someone to order a drink, there was no staff around at all. We spent this time looking at the menu, which was limited if you did not like fish. In the end we ordered room service and the food was nice. Whilst sitting by the pool relaxing and the scenery has been enjoyable and peaceful the smaller details have tainted the experience so far. The hotel is quite a distance from the main city itself, and a return trip will cost about £30. So if you like to keep busy, make sure you bring plenty of money for taxos. There is a small shop that opens in the afternoon across the road, where you can stock up on snacks and water. Having been fortunate enough to have stayed in some top hotels in different parts of the world, i know that this hotel doesnt quite reach the standard that they clearly market themselves at. Complaining to the hotel about this could prove difficult as many of the staff do not speak any english.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank givesfairreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
12.1 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
10.1 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
7.2 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#8 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger
7.7 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#12 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mirage

Property: Le Mirage
Address: Grottes d_Hercule | Route de Cap Spartel, Tangier, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Le Mirage Tangier
Le Mirage Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing