We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop Dead Beautiful”
Review of Dar Nour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Nour
Ranked #6 of 49 Tangier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Dar Nour is a very well designed hotel, and is among the best looking hotels I've seen. The suites, which are expensive, are worth the extra money, because each room is different, and well created. We had an extremely comfortable stay, and the breakfast was excellent too. Unfortunately, the wifi doesn't work well across the entire hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 243 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2010

This place is completely gorgeous. The rooms are all individually styled, beautiful and full of character. It was wonderful after a day wandering round tangier to come back to such complete luxury and relax on the roof terrace with the most amazing views. Breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had.

Located in the rabbit warren that is the kasbah. Further to other comments in other reviews on the area and safety, if you are a first time visitor to tangier/inexperienced traveller suggest you try to arrive in the daytime as it can feel intimidating at night. I did feel like this on arriving in the dark. However, one of the hotel owners noticed this and very kindly arranged for one of his staff to walk us through the kasbah to the restaurant they also own and also to then walk us home after dinner, which was lovely of them. After the initial culture shock on that first night, we then felt comfortable and safe in the area, subject to taking the usual sensible precautions.

The hotel's new restaurant Salon Bleu has the most stunning location on the roof of an old building in the kasbah - lit up at night it is incredible and definitely worth a visit.

My only slight complaint is that having been very clear via email as to which particular suite I wanted and having specifically requested and obtained confirmation that it was that particular suite they had reserved for us, on arrival we were given a different one. However, the different one we were given was completely gorgeous and so we didn't actually care, just something to watch out for if this would be an issue for you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stayed here with a tour group. Best hotel of the entire trip. Lovely, quirky rooms, each with its own personality and personal touches. The owners are charming Frenchmen and so welcoming. Wonderfully attentive (but only French and Arabic speaking) staff - they hunt you down with a cookie and glass of mint tea when they hear you come out of your room. Outstanding breakfast spread - can't stop thinking about it actually. Super funky sitting areas, cool terrace overlooking the Kasbah. Only complaint is the place is hard to find due to the crazy "street" plan, but once you find it you're golden.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregongirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

The place is just fantastic and the Host do their best for you to feel like home. The food is a superb mix of Traditional Moroccan cuisine and French classics. The rooms are original an unique and the upper terraces offer a 360° view on the city and its bay while having breakfast..
It is just not acceptable that some criticism refer to the Kasbah and not to the Guest House and decrease the rating. The Kasbah is SAFE and some tourist complaints are related to an experience in a northern African country. They must stay home if travelling is such a terror ... Some others made complaints on the reservations this is unfair. The hotel has only 10 rooms and between the inquiry and the confirmation, the hotel may be full. Anyway, this was a charming experience and Jean Olivier and Philippe try to keep this place very special. On request from the hosts, you may ask for wellness massages by qualified people. They come to your room and the price is nice. We loved Tangier .

Dennis and Renee Croks

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patumiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

The most wonderful breakfasts in Marocco ever ! A well-thought of decoration with plenty of personal details. Lovely people from the owner to every employees we came accross. And very suitable indeed even for a family. We loved the place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobroleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Dar Nour is a very special hotel in the old city of Tangier. It is run by two extremely friendly Frenchmen who do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and very special. The rooms are all individually decorated with a lot of taste, the hotel is a jewel with many facets to discover! The roof terrace allows the perfect view over the city of Tanger while sipping some tasty mint tea or enjoying one of the wonderful meals la cuisinière offers.
This place is a once in a lifetime experience for anybody who loves to be enchanted by beauty and creativity.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlinBerlin_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

this hotel is amazing. tucked away in a corner of the kasbah, it is everything you could possibly wish a culturally-appropriate exotic getaway hotel to be. small, with only a few guest rooms, the furnishings are impeccable local finds and antiques, everything imbibed with a sense of the mystery of morocco, with beautiful architecture, views, a stunning terraced roof, and excellent, excellent food.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vhsdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#8 of 44 in Tangier
731 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 49 in Tangier
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison de Tanger
La Maison de Tanger
#3 of 49 in Tangier
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Yasmine
Dar Yasmine
#7 of 49 in Tangier
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Nour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Nour

Address: 20 Gorna | La Kasbah, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range: $81 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Nour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catherine, Philippe, Jean-Olivier and all the staff are delighted to welcome you to Dar Nour, Tangier’s oldest guest house. We hope you will feel at home in this house, which is built in typical Moroccan style and located in the historic Kasbah neighbourhood, dating back to the 10th century.The sizes and shapes of the rooms and bedrooms correspond to those in a traditional Moroccan seaside house. The furniture and decoration include many details evoking the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Nour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Nour Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing