We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bazaars”
Review of Medina of Tangier

Medina of Tangier
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$124.18*
and up
Morroco Day Trip from Gibraltar to Tangier
Ranked #4 of 61 things to do in Tangier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing bazaars”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Tangier has the best bazaars in the medina, out of the three others I've seen - Marrakech, Rabat and Casablanca. It seems they value visual effects and some of the ones I walked into were stunning. Prices are also reasonable and there isn't much bargaining in Tangier - I've even seen a few price-tags!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank syohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    494
    220
    65
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unfriendly welcome”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I would say this place is on the lower end of all Medinas in Morocco. Maybe it is our luck but we encountered the most unfriendly people here in our short Moroccan trip including Tangier - Chefchaouen - Tetouan.

For a real charming Medina, i would recommend Chefchaouen anytime over this filthy place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enquen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great Oriental Experience”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you come to Tangier you have to walk through the Medina and get the oriental feeling. The countless small ways through the Medina. The goods offered are not that special and the price has to be bargained of course but this is the Orient. The sellers are a bit rough but they won't force you to buy something so stay strong and walk your way. Again I would recommend this experience once you are in Tangier.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SAT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a filthy place....”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Loads of people trying to sell you things you do not need. And guys who want to be your 'guide' on every corner.

Did we mention the garbage and filth in the streets?

For your first visit, use a guide (but ask the hotel what the going rate is - they all charge based on what you look like). One can get a feel for the layout of the Medina in a few hours.

Restaurants are so, so.

Tanger is not a city to spend much time. We were ther for 1.5 days and felt we had seen everything one would possibly want to visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rlveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
206 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Challenge your comfort levels”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Get a guide, if for no others reason than to fend off offers to be your guide. Your walk will be much more peaceful with an escort. There are much more elaborate Medinas in Morocco, but if Tangier is as far as you'll go into this wonderful country, this is a must see. Practice saying no!!!! The Moors are masters at Sales! MASTERS! Especially the high end jewels and rug shops! I've seen the most savvy shoppers get suckered into buying CRAP! Don't over estimate your will power, seriously!

We traveled here with friends who I warned of the salesmanship! Their approach was just to NOT bring much money so they wouldn't be tempted! Nevertheless, they returned from their day with TWO rugs. Paying over 4 grand EACH! They didn't even have room for them in their home!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VillaCandiMatahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Tangier also viewed

Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 

Been to Medina of Tangier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing