We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel little bit over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Melting Pot Tanger
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hostel little bit over priced”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hostel was nice, always hot water and great breakfast and walking distance from everything. Didn't do any tours (wasnt offered any either) but it was easy to walk around, the city is always packed with people traveling from Spain just for the weekend


Great rooms only issue was getting to the hostel Cabbies will try to rip you off, front desk wasn't the most helpful and the price i paid for 2 nights was wayyyy more then what i paid for 4 nights in Marrakesh.

Tip:
Eat as much seafood as you want! But make sure you eat the most during lunch because that's when it's the freshest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
18
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The atmosphere is good. Staff is frendly. Clean room and always hot water. Location is right in the centre of medina. Staff is knowledgeable about onward transport or general advices for Morocco.

We enjoyed our time here.

The main problem is that it is relatively overpriced with the Morocco standard. We were in Morocco for 3 weeks. With the same price that we paid here for a 6-bed dorm, we have a very good private double room elsewhere in Morocco.

Sure, it is a good starting place if this is your first stop in Morocco. But if you are budget-conscious, then there are other local guesthouse or hotels which are much cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

situated right in the middle of The Medina, its location couldn't be better but you will have to look carefully for the small signs pointing the way!! Moroccan street signs are often small or non-existent. The hostel itself is a haven of tranquility from the hubub and crush of The Medina and the building is beautiful and traditional. It has been sympathetically renovated and furnished and feels the 'real deal'. It has a roof-top terrace where breakfast can be taken - this is included in the price. Staff are helpful. friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms and washrooms are clean and there is a plentiful supply of hot water. Definitely a place to return to and excellent value at 11 euros a night.

Room Tip: ask for one not on the ground floor (too near reception)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frazerprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was happy with this hostel. It was beautiful as I later found out most Moroccan hostels are. The rooftop patio is brilliant, and the washrooms were the best I had in any Moroccan hostel. My only complaint was the price (11 euros, where all other Moroccan hostels I stayed in were 4-5), however, Tangier was also the most expensive Moroccan city I went to so I am sure that played a role.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

A good shelter from the cheos of Tangier.
Great helpful staff, clean rooms and showers, good breakfast. Some rooms are just next to the reception, its uncomfortable and if you get it, just ask to change. Beautiful terrace and lovely guests.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The melting pot is clean and relaxed and has a nice terrace with a great view over tangier and the sea! Breakfast was included and there was plenty. Some of the staff were really helpful and friendly, others not so much. Over all it was a great stay and good value for money. The only thing was the charge to use the showers before check in at 2pm which is a bit unfair as we were staying for 3 nights. Nice, clean and a good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hostel was fine for a one-night stay in Tangier. The rooms were simple and the shared bathroom was clean. The location was great and the staff was really helpful. The rooftop was a really nice place to hang out and meet other travelers.

I do want to point out that there were definitely bed bugs in our room. I know writing that in a review almost automatically always turns people off from a place, but I know they were working hard to get rid of them. When I told the staff they were really open with me and explained that they'd had an exterminator in twice to fumigate the whole hostel (and had shut down for five days). They had another extermination date set up for the following week. This was in September 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meltingpothostels, Propriétaire at The Melting Pot Tanger, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi,
we finally managed to solve the problem in the room you're talking about.
Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 43 in Tangier
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Dar Omar Khayam
Pension Dar Omar Khayam
#26 of 43 in Tangier
126 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#10 of 43 in Tangier
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Saif Tarifa Beach
Saif Tarifa Beach
#13 of 43 in Tangier
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
680 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melting Pot Tanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melting Pot Tanger

Property: The Melting Pot Tanger
Address: 3 rue de Tsouli | Médina, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melting Pot Hostel is located in the heart of Tangier's Medina. Being one of the biggest Medina of the country, it's one of the places in Tangier that attracts more the attention of its visitors.Its history is very ancient, the occupation of its land it's testified from the antiquity.Surrounded by walls, the Kasbah and the Medina of Tangier have many historical sitesThe hostel:It is a Dar, that is a traditional Moroccan house. There is a big kitchen, computers at your disposal, free wi-fi everywhere in the hostel, a little bar, two terraces with view over the Medina's roofs, the best place to meet other travellers, have breakfast, read a book, or try some typical Moroccan plates cooked by our neighbour. We have a safe storage for your luggage at check-out day, and breakfast, towels and of course sheets are included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Melting Pot Tanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing