We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayied in this hotel for 3 nights and over New Year. Really nice hotel. Great location. 5 mins walk from the ferry and port, 2 mins walk to Medina. Fantastic decore, great staff, and great view from the teracce. Our room did not have a balcony with a view but was grand. Well furnished, our bathroom had obviously been renovated because it was brand new and clean. No hairdryer is provided and there is not even one at the reception. so do not forget to pack one with you. There is a bazzar shop in the hotel as well. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was basic maroccan pastry, jam, butter, orange juice and coffee or tea. Would recommend to everyone!!

  • Liked — The staff, hotel atmospehre
  • Disliked — no heating in January made it bit too cold to stay.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KaterinaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    253
    134
    55
    46
See reviews for
88
251
71
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Hotel Continental is not yet the most polished but is certainly the most fascinating and friendly I have stayed at. We took the advice of a previous reviewer on this page and asked for a room with a balcony, which had a stunning view of Tangiers and the port. The room was clean and well furnished. The bathroom, though clean could have done with a little renovation but nothing to complain about.

The staff were ultra friendly and helpful. We were given advice about the best buses to take and heard fantastic stories about the hotel's past. We also had free rein to explore the hotel - an experience in itself, as was eating in the breakfast and dining room.

Stay here if you want somewhere fascinating to stay, not because you want a comfortable four star hotel.

  • Liked — The fascinating decor and the friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing, really.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjontookbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2008

I'm sure that this was a fabulous place 100 years ago. The mosaics and chandeliers and waiters in bow ties could certainly be impressive, but it needs major work. The location right at the medina and port is perfect. However, our room was really bad. I read some of the other reviews and it sounds like a totally different place. The vinyl flooring in our room had a large hole right inside the door to trip over as you entered. The water heater hanging in the bathrooom leaked and the floor was always wet. The bedspread was badly stained so I took it off of the bed and the back side was tattered/shredded. But on a good note, the sheets were heavy, clean and pressed and the mattress was comfortable. There was a plug in free standing heater in the room but even with that on, it was still so freezing cold that we couldn't sleep. There was hot water and clean towels, but no soap of any kind. It did appear that there may have been some remodeling taking place on a couple of the floors below us - so maybe it will get better. Perhaps some of those other reveiws had a room that had already been remodeled? For now, I would definitely not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tangier hotels

London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed here for two nights this month of August. We chose this hotel for its history and were excited to be staying there. Great location overlooking the port but beware the taxi drivers will take you to the Inter Continental Hotel, deliberately or otherwise. We received a warm welcome from an elderly man at reception who eventually found our booking, in fact we found it ourselves but we didn't mind. We were offered no help with our luggage having arrived tired from our train trip from London. Our room was lovely but with no air conditioning and no view we had tried many times to secure by email. We had enquired many times about the air conditioning before departing from London and the hotel chose to ignore our emails. However, we did not suffer due to lack of air conditioning as there was a fresh breeze due to the location. Breakfast was simple and plain, breads and croissants. The waiters took offence when we explained that the mint tea was too sweet for my partner and refused to bring us some coffee until we insisted! It was apparent that others too were having issues with the waiters! Some of the staff of the hotel were helpful, others grumpy and arrogant and derisive of their guests...so this made for an unfortunately depressing stay at Hotel Continental, very disappointing indeed. The gentlemen of the Salon de Te outside the hotel were delightful and assisted us on several occasions with directions and recommendations. We loved Tangiers and contrary to all the advice we had received and read to miss this city would have been a big mistake...this city was one of our highlights of our travels in Morocco...be sure to go to Balencia restaurant, Hotel Balencia for the best fish in town...Hotel Continental is a special place to stay but the staff let it down totally...such a pity when the people of Tangiers are so friendly, warm and helpful..

  • Liked — reading about it
  • Disliked — such a huge disappointment
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Having read other travellers reviews I was unsure of what this hotel would be like.
True the rooms are shabby but they are clean and well looked after and the wonderful atmosphere of friendlyness and kindness from the staff is well worth the stay. The food was fantastic as good as any top hotel and we complimented the chef. The whole hotel is like a museum of a world gone by but has been kept in good condition.
I cannot wait to go back and stay there again as we explore Morocco further. The view over the port is well worth it altho there is a lorry park immediatley below the terrace but it was'nt a problem. You are also right in the middle of the Medina and the fascinating narrow winding streets which we also found to be very friendly.
I would recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank SouthamptonJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Continental in Tangiers in July 2008.

DO NOT stay in the Continental unless you want to wake up to a nasty surprise - bed bugs! We actually found a little bug crawling around on the bed. We bagged him in a ziplock and brought him to reception but the staff seemed completely unconcerned. They claimed the insect must have flown in the window during the night (bed bugs don't fly). They also accused us of bringing the bug with us to avoid paying for the room.

We have travelled extensively all over the world and stayed in both four star and basic hostels. Neither of us has ever come across such appalling treatment. We understand that sometimes bed bugs infest even the best hotels. However, the attitude of the staff was appalling.

Do not stay in the Continental. The location and the view seem great. But it is not worth the hassle of bringing unwanted souvenirs home with you.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank frequent_flyer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This has been the 3rd time, i have visited Tangier. I always pay for a 4* Hotel, but on arrival my room, is more like a 2* if i'm lucky . I read the comments on trip advisor, about this hotel and i thought that, i would try it out. I was glad that i did, the rooms were excellent, compared to the last 4* i stayed in. They didn't have drinks in the fridge, but i prefer to buy my own, they even had a little frezzer compartment. The bathrooms were fully tiled, and very nice. The swimming pool and the gardens, had a nice layout. The hotel is about a 5-10 min walk to the medina, which is a nice stroll. The only thing about this hotel, and all the other hotels, is that they only have, one tv channel in english, and that's cnn. So you can forget watching tv, in the evening before bed, unless you want to watch, the same bit of news you watched in the morning.

  • Liked — The breakfast, there was plenty of choice.
  • Disliked — The only tv channel in english cnn.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 44 in Tangier
698 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#11 of 44 in Tangier
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#19 of 44 in Tangier
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: 36 Rue Dar El Baroud, Tangier 9000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Tangier
Hotel Continental Tanger
Hotel Continental Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing