We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Bargach
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenzi Solazur(Tangier)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments(Tangier)
$107
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
M'Nar Park(Tangier)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
22
16
14
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
16
14
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgave us great tipsbreakfast was deliciousmint tearoof terracearabicmedinafrench
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 65 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a typical Moroccan style guesthouse, this is it! Right in the middle of medina, the ancient section of Tanger. Though at night it is incredibly hard to find, there is no street lighting and the medina is a maze so I would not advise you to arrive too late at night. Though there will probably always be a guide to bring you there (for a small fee of course). The rooms are great and the beds are clean, so is the shower and bathroom. The service isn't amazing, they slightly overcharged compared to the price that was state on the Internet. The WiFi will barely work in the rooms, partially because of the the thick stone walls. Overall it's a great place to stay and for the price it's very reasonable!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leendert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were on our first trip in Morocco and we wanted to really have the chance to experience the charm as well as the fascinating culture. As a young couple, we are on a limited budget so we chose to go to Dar Bargach because of their price and other reviews on TripAdvisor...

What a mistake we made.

The gravest qualm we had was the theft from our luggage by a member (yes, they allow multiple staff members into rooms).

Upon arrival, we were told that we arrived too early (10:00am) and to 'walk around' until our time to check-in at noon. This was not very hospitable but that was fine and we left. Upon returning, it was as if every question ended with a "Yes and it will cost you..." We asked if we could borrow any washing facilities "It costs!", coffee maker to make our own hot water "it costs!" but this was fine. We already began to understand the type of location this is...

Entering our room, it was sub par with poor lighting. Additionally, once we lay on our stiff bed, we tried to turn on the AC but the remote was nowhere to be found. When we asked the receptionist, she simply smiled and said "It doesn't work." Before I could turn and walk away, she wanted to let us know to pay right away. Of course, this is part of the Dar Bargach experience: everything starts and ends with them taking your money.

Later, we went to pay for our room but the credit cards machines did not work so then the receptionist let us know that "we need to find cash from an ATM". Oh, wow. Thanks SO much for the help. When we finally went out of our way to get cash (during Ramadan, mind you!), they changed the price from the listed price on the website. Also, the girl decided to add more value to the Dirham. It was outrageous. First she said 750Dh, then 780Dh, then 720Dh and then we realized that it was 670Dh but she charged us 700Dh anyway. This is all the Dar Bargach experience though: take, take and take.

Last but certainly not least, we arrived to realize that someone entered our room and rearranged. They did NOT clean, they just rearranged things. We went through our belongings but we only had clothes so we left it at that and went to sleep. The next morning when we woke up, we realized upon checking our items more carefully that a designer skirt (THE ONLY FULL LENGTH ONE WE HAD -- A NECESSITY IN A MUSLIM COUNTRY) was stolen from my bag! I wore it in the other cities I visited and it was in my bag before it was stolen by them. When we went to notify someone -- everyone was gone. No one was there during check-out. What a joke.

Later we emailed the owner and he had the audacity to respond but then simply ignored our Emails. The people in Dar Bargach steal the money, clothes and most importantly, happiness of their clients. They do not know the meaning of honor, shame or even decency. Shame on you Dar Bargach, you give a bad reputation to all those around you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slowtulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arriving in Tangier at 2am from a late ferry and even later taxi, we entered the medina of Tangier in the rain wondering if we'd ever see a bed again. We finally found the door to the hotel, knocked on it, and were greeted by a glowing light and very smiley member of staff. We were extremely well treated and the booking was correctly handled. Our room was very pretty, a great size and extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was included and was delicious - fresh fruit, pastries, tea and coffee, butter, jam and cheese, all beautifully presented and taken in the comforting and inviting foyer area where there are also sofas and a television. The staff member in the morning gave us a map and plenty of information and the whole experience was one of our most pleasant in Morocco. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ads91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Dar Bargach is conveniently located in the Medina of Tangier, with the Petit Socco, the Kasbah but also the sea side within walking distance. The rooms are small but cosy and very clean, so are the bathrooms. They have a very nice terasse from which you can overlook Tangier. The breakfast was richer than the typical Moroccan (hotel) breakfast, with some small pasteries, cake, bread, white cheese, honey, olive oil and olives (and tea and coffee, of course).

The staff is exceptionally friendly and discreet, we were made to feel at home.

We enjoyed our stay at the Dar Bargach. A very good budget option, I would go there again.

We knew what to expect of a Riad or Dar, so the following is not intended as criticism but rather as info for first-time visitors to Morocco: you have to be aware of the downsides of staying in traditional Riads/Dars with their beautiful roof-top terraces and oriental interior, and here, the Dar Bargach is no exception. The rooms typically have no or only small windows, so it can be rather dark (and in Winter even very cold) inside. They are also not sound-proof since the doors do not shut tight, this effect is even amplified by the patio.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nifisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Tasteful decor, facilities which worked, just inside the medina, and above all extremely helpful staff. Excellent service and value for money - if we pass through Tangier another time, we'll stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews