We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”
Review of El Minzah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Minzah Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I wrote an earlier review noting that the hotel lacked free wi-fi. A representative from the hotel wrote to apologize and promised that the hotel intended to offer complimentary wi-fi in the future. I am back for the first time since then and they do indeed have free wi-fi service now.

It is a beautiful hotel in a great location and I am very impressed by their attention to detail.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 734 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Once you arrive in Morocco (anywhere that's relatively within driving distance via a Grand Taxi), just tell your driver "Minzah" -- it's by far the most well-known hotel in the entire country. My wife and I had a fantastic stay here for four (4) nights.

Honestly, I didn't know what to think before I booked this trip ... but I knew I didn't have too much time off from work, and I wanted to say I'd seen Africa! So, a taxi to JFK and 12 hours later, we arrived ... and it was wonderful.

Yes, be wary of hacklers ... and no, not everyone loves Americans. BUT -- get to Minzah, and they will take care of you. They'll make sure you never go a minute without whatever it is you need.

"Where can I get a razor?" 5 minutes later, room service brought a razor blade, shaving cream and a comb (complimentary).
"How can we get to El Medina?" Within a moment's notice, the hotel concierge called upon the great Momo (tour guide), who gave us a SPECTACULAR 4-hour tour throughout the city without whom we'd never have seen Tangiers the way it was meant to be seen!
"Where should we go to eat?" ... Concierge sent us with an escort (for about 1E tip), who guided us right to the door of my wife's and my now most favorite restaurant!

I highly recommend splurging a little and staying at El Minzah. Everyone there is amazing, helpful and super friendly. We loved our stay and will be returning!

Oh, and breakfast in the mornings is unreal! :) :) Thank you, Hotel El Minzah!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I think that by Tangier/Morocco standards this was an excellent hotel. I met people who had been staying elsewhere and moved to this hotel and were quite happy. Although I did not get to eat at their "gourmet" restaurant, the traditional meal was good and the cous cous was the best I ever had. I hired a driver to take me to the Bizarre and tour the local area. I guess I had to ask myself why I went to Tangier. But the hotel was very nice, charming, a "classic". The outside pool was out of service while I was there - but the indoor pool and gym were excellent.
The staff were both helpful and indifferent depending who I dealt with. For example- started out so helpful, but then when I asked to have the room that I paid for (I paid for a balcony and was put in a small, stuffy room)- one guy actually rolled is eyes at the other. They ended up giving me a lovely room- but the staff member insisted on making my carry my own luggage and run after him.
The breakfast was excellent.
Sounds like it was the best hotel choice for the area though!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aterenzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

while beautiful and with the bets location possible in Tangier, the hotel staff made for an unpleasant experience...

as said teh hotel is nice, the rooms OK. Although one might question the price premium the Minza asks in comparison with other hotels which haven't been brushed up as of late, but still offer good and clean quality, but for a third of the price

We travelled in a big group of friends and two incidents spoiled the trip. First there were some problems paying the dinner bill as all of a sudden exactly 1000 dirham went missing (100 euros) and nobody was responsible (we had counted more than once...) after some discussion we went the hotel manager who then dropped the topic rather quickly as we mentioned that we already had a bad impression as poeple were 'upgraded' and then charged a premium for the 'upgrade'

All in all, a nice, yet expensive place with questionable morale

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here twice in a week - at both ends of a trip to Morocco via the ferry. We felt their service, particularly at reception doesn't do justice to the lovely surroundings and ambiance. Would still stay there again and some of the staff were lovely and helpful, but delays at reception a nuisance and not acknowledged or apologised for. Breakfast in a lovely room, with plenty of choice but lapses with orders and a bit slow to fill up where things ran out. Pity that smoking is allowed both at breakfast and in the wine bar - we chose not to eat there as a result. Minor issues with rooms - need more attention to lamps working etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJG_KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Even this place seemed to be a five star hotel rooms were not up to the Western countries standards. The food in the restaurant was excellent but the room was not what we expected. Good location but...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriS201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent location. The hotel's public areas are lovely with Morrocan decor. Reception was a bit frantic and our room was not available until the very last minute of check-in time. The room was a decent size, seemed clean, and had a very large terrace overlooking the pool and coast. Unfortunately we had a mouse-sized cockroach visitor in our room. He was hanging on our cornice in a lighted room for quite some time until my husband scared him out onto the terrace, so I assume he was poisoned and did not have long for this earth. Considering we were in Morocco and that there were several room service trays with leftover food in the hallway when we arrived, I was not entirely shocked by this incident. The thin walls were a bigger problem for me. You could clearly here everything in the adjacent rooms and hallway, including normal level conversations. We could not sleep until after 1AM when things started to quiet down, but were woken up in the wee hours with sounds of amorous behavior in the next room. For that reason, I would not select this hotel again. However, the full service spa was large and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChartChecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
2.9 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
0.9 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#11 of 44 in Tangier
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 44 in Tangier
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlas les Almohades Tanger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Minzah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Minzah Hotel

Address: 85 rue de la Liberte, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tangier
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
Price Range: $99 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Minzah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Moorish Hotel situated in heart of town, overlooking the Strait of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Minzah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Minzah Tangier
Hotel El Minzah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing