We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and well located”
Review of El Minzah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Minzah Hotel
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Dolus-d'Oleron, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Charming and well located”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you want to experience old world charm and a location near the old Medina of Tanger you will find this hotel to be what you want. The hotel which opened in 1930 built and run by an English aristocrat (John Crichton-Stuart, the 4th marquis of Lord Bute) has an art deco style of the period, but with extensive Moroccan interior design (Arabesque woodwork, oriental carpets and arched doorways). We had stayed in the hotel in 1982 (30 years ago!!!!) and found the rooms modernized and comfortable, but was happy to see that some of the personnel from the eighties were still around!!! If you come by car the hotel offers free parking (valet if you prefer) and wifi in the whole hotel. We were happy with the quality and service when we had lunch at the restaurant by the pool and the breakfast buffet was satisfactory. We stayed in a suite (the hotel has 17 of them) overlooking the harbour. It had a large bathroom with a double bathtub. Comfortable bed and sitting area. We will definitely come back to Tanger and stay longer the next time.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the port or swimming pool/garden and preferable with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    263
    118
    58
    43
See reviews for
108
219
48
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had a short but memorable stay at the El Minzah. Checked-in for one night in Tanger and was not disappointed at all. The hotel is off the main boulevard and at the entrance of the Medina. It has an old world charm that definitely still works. From the moment you walk in you feel you are elevated to a time in the past with a rich Moroccan hospitality. And why not, for the El Minza has a long tradition of celebrities who have paused under their roof through history. You can buy a book about the history of the hotel; available at the reception.

You have a feel of small hotel that is rich in tradition as you walk down to your room. But in fact the hotel is very large inside. The standard rooms are richly designed, small but cozy. Mine overlooked the courtyard and was pleasant. The bed was comfortable and although the blanket was thin I did not feel cold and slept well. The room had parquet/wooden flooring which was warm an inviting. My only peeve was that the room did not have good internet wireless network coverage. My colleague who was in the room next to mine but a tad closer to the reception did not have an issue apparently.

The hotel incidentally is now christened as the Le Royal (oddly though it carries both names at the entrance). The pool is lovely and the fitness center is well equipped with up-to-date equipment. The breakfast service at the restaurant was very efficient too.

This hotel would be my first choice to stay in Tanger.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not far from the reception for good internet wireless coverage. Far away rooms may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L00K-See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

traveling solo from spain i was warmly greeted at front desk
..was given a lovely room in older part of building...as a senior female
i felt extremely safe and well cared for. the breakfast buffets and dinners
were delicious in lovely settings.... the nice pool is in a garden setting....
the tour guide/driver was very knowledgeable about tangiers and
moroccan history and helpful at train station. those travelers who look for
gracious traveling the way it used to be ...will be very happy. rst

Room Tip: ask to view a room..ask for rooms in original building away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rst t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElMinzah, General Manager at El Minzah Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Madam,

Few words to say thank you very much indeed for your kind comments posted on tripadvisor, following your last stay at El Minzah Hotel.
We assure you that your remarks will be shared with all our collegues and we hope to have the pleasuire to welcome you soon

Nice regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I spent 4 nights with my husband in the Minzah hotel.
We had been driving during 4 hours, and when we arrived at 9pm, we were a little bit hungry.Then, we made a big mistake : eating at the hotel's Morrocan restaurant. The prune tajine was awful and the morrocan salad set was really poor and without any flavour : potatoes, carrot, green salad and a lot of black olives in the middle of the plate ... Moreover prices were very high for Morroco (170 and 120 dirhams).
We never returned to any restaurant inside the hotel !

But the rest of our stay was really nice :
the hotel has a very good situation if you want to visit the medina : 3minutes walk from the "big Socco" and 10-15mn from the port.
The hotel is really charming with a building reminding the 40's "hispano mauresque" style.
It is very clean, rooms are comfortable. We had one with an amazing view on the Tangier Bay, wich is really nice at sunset.
Breakfast buffet is generous, not so good, but it's so pleasant to have it on the room's terrace...!

We also tried the wellness center wich was a very good surprise : well trained staff, clean center and treatment rooms, fitness room, good hairdresser, special offers for the hotel's guests ... I recommend it.

We had a global pleasant stay at the Minzah hotel, however I agree with other comments regarding the poor service quality. You have to be really patient if you need something and you can be disturbed many times on the morning by people who want to check the minibar or doing the cleaning or the room service man knocking at the wrong door....
It's a pity...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tikalyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a stay with my wife in October 2012. It's the oldest hotel of Tangier and still has its 30's palace charm. It's well located near the medina and grand socco. I found the hotel absolutely beautiful from the pool to the patio. Also the room was nice with a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea. We had a superior luxury room with sea view at 175 euros a night. Also the spa is great and cheap, I would recommend the hamman, massage were mediocre.
Now all that said the hotel can't be considered a five star hotel but rather a four star. There are two main problems: first the food is awful and expensive. The worst is the expensive moroccan restaurant who has disgusting food which is unacceptable. The second problem of the hotel is the incompetent and inefficient staff. This is the mistake of the manager, clearly the staff lacks training. I can't list all , tthe problems we had but as an example we had a lamp broken in our room, We asked five times for it to be changed but it just never happened! Five times! The staff is clearly not trained to work in a five star hotel.
I would recommend this hotel but if it wants to get back its glory i think it needs a new manager that would send the whole staff for a training.

Room Tip: Take a room with a terrace overlooking the sea otherwise it's not worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The buffet breakfast was ordinary and the orange juice is watered down which is dangerous if they dont use bottled water! The room was ok but the carpets needed cleaning as our feet got very dirty after removing our footwear, although the hotel was in a good location it is certainly not worthy of more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElMinzah, General Manager at El Minzah Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Mr Barry,

First of all, we thank you for taking some minutes from your time and reporting your remarks on tripadvisor.
We are very surprised to read from you about the orange juice. We assure that we do not use any water and the orange juice is 100% natural, as the oranges are available all the year in Morocco.
Further to your second remark, we will ensure with our housekeeping manager about this point. However we are happy to inform you that all the room’s and public areas carpets had been renewed at the beginning of this year and are still new
We hope to welcome you back again and soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
223 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was built in the 1920's and has been frequented by movie stars (all dead now). The experience today is like a taste of old Morocco. The room was clean and quiet, but dark. The bath was updated sometime past, so was ok. The room could use some updating and nicer touches kile better lighting. The food was average at best as was the service. We went out for a walk after dinner and the streets were wall to wall with people. No one bothered us or even looked at us, but we didn't feel safe so we returned to the hotel after only a very short time.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the innner courtyard, which was quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50States36Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
5.0 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
2.9 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#10 of 43 in Tangier
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 43 in Tangier
572 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Tulip City Center
Royal Tulip City Center
#5 of 43 in Tangier
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Minzah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Minzah Hotel

Property: El Minzah Hotel
Address: 85 rue de la Liberte, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#2 Spa Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Minzah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Moorish Hotel situated in heart of town, overlooking the Strait of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Minzah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Minzah Tangier
Hotel El Minzah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing