We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Minzah Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenzi Solazur(Tangier)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments(Tangier)
$107
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
M'Nar Park(Tangier)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveler rating
212
291
127
61
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
291
127
61
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamous guestsmoroccan restaurantold world charmbygone erapiano barcrepestour guidelong weekendtaginean oasismint teavisiting tangiermoroccohistorymedinamusiciansdoorman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 745 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was built in the 1920's and has been frequented by movie stars (all dead now). The experience today is like a taste of old Morocco. The room was clean and quiet, but dark. The bath was updated sometime past, so was ok. The room could use some updating and nicer touches kile better lighting. The food was average at best as was the service. We went out for a walk after dinner and the streets were wall to wall with people. No one bothered us or even looked at us, but we didn't feel safe so we returned to the hotel after only a very short time.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the innner courtyard, which was quiet and nice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50States36Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for a night at El Minzah while visiting Tanger. Our room was really small but had a great view of the gorgeous pool. The hotel spa is located in another building which is a little inconvenient but service at the spa was great. Decor of the hotel is exceptional. Breakfast was amazing with variety of foods both hot and cold. Hotel cost for wifi is slightly high.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarheel_TravelersNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

When we arrived at El Minzah, our room was not yet clean. So, the staff recommended we take a walking tour with a tour guide. At first, the tour was nice: he took us around the Medina and we went to lunch at a very nice, although expensive, restaurant. After walking around a bit, we were taken into a carpet shop.

The owner took us up the roof to show us his view, gave us mint tea, took pictures of us--then started pushing his carpets on us. The rest of our "tour" consisted of going around to various other shops where we were pressured into buying things we did not want and had never asked to see. It ended soon after it became apparent we wouldn't be shelling out any more money, but the guide then tried to pressure us into taking another tour the next day.

I have some experience traveling in Africa and the Middle East and never before have I had a tour guide put me in such a situation. On the contrary, all my previous guides had always warned me if someone was trying to rip me off and had told me how to protect myself. I have never had a tour that consisted of being taken to a shop and goaded into spending hundreds of dollars on carpets.

I thought the guide/hotel's behavior was unprofessional and broke the bond of trust I've come to expect in those situations, and it cast a shadow over our stay at El Minzah.

By all means, stay at El Minzah: the rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool is nice, and the hotel is very pretty. But avoid the guided tour: or at the very least, remember that the guide is NOT on your side.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice Hotel, but the ifacilities are not updated.
Nice service
Very nice building, but withlack of maintainance and cleaness
The SPA has nice service but the noise of the city invades it so it make difficulto to feel relax
The maasage is of high quality but it does not take care of certain details to respct intimidity of the client

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We thought we would treat ourselves to lunch at this so called 5 star hotel as a special treat as a lot of the restaurants were closed in Tangier due to Ramadan. The restaurant claims to be a gastronomique restaurant that's frequented by celebrities etc and so we thought it must be good. It wasnt! The service was indifferent and we waited fourty minutes for our lunch and when it arrive it was cold and soggy. It was inedible. We complained to a disinterested waiter who said 'the management don't care and it wasn't really his problem'. I don't recommend this restaurant - its very expensive and disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank d_hay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews