We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view and great service in an international-standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed three nights in the Movenpick Tangier with my husband and one-year old toddler. It loved up to the Movenpick reputation. The hotel was clean, room comfortable, and service excellent. The rooms have wicker furniture, which isn't what I would choose if decorating a hotel, but were fine nonetheless. This is a chain hotel, so aside from lovely tile floors (including tiled room numbers, a nice touch) and some ceramic bathroom accessories, there was nothing particularly exotic or Moroccan about it (again, I'm not complaining, just noting. I didn't expect exotic when I booked at the Movenpick.)

Service was very good. We arrived late on a Friday night but our baggage was quickly unloaded, our car parked in a free parking lot, and we were checked in quickly. Our room was spacious enough for the baby crib, which the hotel provided, and had a wonderful view over the pool and the ocean. Everyone at the hotel, from the doormen to the concierge, were helpful, answered our questions quickly, and were wonderful with our daughter.

Breakfast was a good, standard buffet, and included in our room rate. Location is good, a few km from Tangier so we did have to get in the car to visit anything, but not so far out as to be a bother. And the pool looked wonderful, although I was there in January and didn't swim. I also didn't visit the casino.

Two complaints -- the shower head was so low that it hit me in the middle of my back, and I'm only 5'5" tall. My 6'6" husband couldn't even stand up in the shower -- the tub is raised off the floor making it about 6 feet from the tub bottom to the ceiling. And while the shower had wonderful water pressure and temperature, it sprayed all over the place getting the whole bathroom wet in the process. Second complaint is that even with the curtains closed, the room got light too early. I'd stay there again, though.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizonMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickMalabata, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Dear Madame,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. I am delighted that you and your family were so happy here. Your comments about the shower and the curtains are very valid and we are presently in the middle of meeting designers regarding a renovation plan for both the rooms and the bathrooms, in the near future.
Thank you again and I hope that we shall be able to welcome you back here before too long.
Kind regards,
Jonathan Soper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 464 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2010

worst than a 3 stars hotel. The bedroom is the most poor bedroom i saw in my life. Poor carpets, no mirror in the bedroom, no pictures, nothing!! i stoped smooking 1 month ago and the tabacco´s smell in the bedroom it´s unimaginable.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank va96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickMalabata, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Dear Sir/Madam, I was really sorry to read your review and the fact that you were not at all happy with your stay here. None of our rooms have carpets as the floors are all Moroccan tiled but the comment re the smell of smoke is unacceptable. If you would kindly advise your room number, we can follow up on everything. Thank you for your feedback which is very important to us and kind regards,
Jonathan Soper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I spent 2 weeks at this hotel at the end of August 2010, with my husband and two young children (aged 1 and 4). It really was everything we had hoped for. We wanted a relaxing, luxury holiday in the sunshine at a hotel where the children could enjoy plenty of time in the pool and on the beach. We went during Ramadan as we knew everything would be quieter during that period.

Our rooms were very spacious and clean, with very effective blackout curtains and air conditioners (essential for getting our 1 year old down for his nap in the afternoons). Each room had a lovely view over the sea and we sat and watched the sunset from our balcony in the evenings. We went swimming with the children everyday and they loved it. Our 4-year-old learned to swim without aides during our stay! The pool looks very inviting and interesting, with a large and shallow children's area adjoining the main pool. This has fountains in it, an island and a wooden bridge to the island which is very attractive and fun for the children. Very near the pool there is also a playground for children of all ages, including a slide and tower, swings, sea-saws, ride-ons etc. WE also walked to the beach several times. The water and beach were clean and the sand was soft. The hotel staff were always very friendly and happy to go the extra mile for the children. The lifeguards by the pool were very attentive and the concierge was helpful and informative when we wanted to take a local taxi to explore some of the area. We ate at the buffet next to the pool for both breakfast and lunch and the food was always of excellent quality. There was no problem eating outside during Ramadan. Whilst we were there the weather was wonderful - hot and sunny but not excessively so. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickMalabata, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

Dear Madam,

Just to say thank you very much indeed for your kind words following your stay with us during the Holy Month of Ramadan. Rest assured that your remarks will be happily shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back again some time soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Soper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I stayed at the Movenpick with my husband and 1 year old and had an extremely relaxing stay. The hotel was a perfect place to stay with a 1 year old - the room was spacious enough to fit a cot easily, the balcony is also a bonus (all rooms with pool or sea view), the restaurants have high chairs but best of all the swimming pool area is great for kids. The pool has a lovely, large, shallow baby pool plus an interesting large pool with an island, water fountain, bridge etc which is fun and attractive and a nice depth in most parts that you can walk around the interesting bits of the pool with a baby. In addition there is a great playground near the pool with slides, swings, see-saws, bouncy things which would suit all ages (children). You can't access the beach directly from the hotel but we did go on it a few times - it was clean with nice sand, gentle waves. The beach was very empty when we were there as it was ramadam - I think it is a lot busier at other times. The buffet style restaurant by the pool serves excellent food. The staff are very friendly in the hotel and seem to love children which makes for a more relaxing stay when travelling with a 1 year old. All in all we had a really relaxing stay and managed to find a hotel that can offer both luxury and be child-friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Excellent international Hotel structure . The rooms beautiful, clean and with all comforts. The staff very cordial and available. The prices of the services are aligned to those in Europe. For lovers of risk there is the Casino (only exclusive in the city of Tangier). The beatiful swimming pool and the adjacent beach make the location very attractive. Excellent Spa

Unfortunately there are not activities for children

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macagian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The hotel, itself is very nice though a bit out of the centre and alongside a really grotty beach. You do not see much of that though because of a strategically placed wall to hide it from the pool area. The restaurant, is very nice and we sat alongside an indoor pool to eat. The food was good - we had pastilla, traditionally a pigeon pie in a filo case – not too sure if it was pigeon but the flavours were novel and interesting.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bossingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickMalabata, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2010

Thank you very much indeed for your constructive comments which will be shared with all concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

The rooms & pool were excellent but food is too expensive!!!!!
we had to go out every time we wanted something.
But nice hotel anyway.

Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
Thank AbelSalmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
2 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#10 of 44 in Tangier
530 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Tanger City Center Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
1.4 mi away
Royal Tulip City Center
Royal Tulip City Center
#5 of 44 in Tangier
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger

Address: Avenue Mohamed VI | Baie de Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Price Range: $103 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The imposing Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger is the perfect location for business or leisure. It is set amidst beautiful gardens with a huge free-form swimming pool. Situated on the shores of the Mediterranean, this hotel overlooks the beautiful Bay of Tangier. Only a 5 to 10 minute drive from the city centre and yet far enough away to offer a calm and relaxing environment, it offers everything you expect. Large rooms, several different sized meeting rooms, a casino, a variety of restaurants and bars and a well-equipped and spacious gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Hotel And Casino Malabata
Moevenpick Hotel Tangier
Moevenpick Hotel Malabata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing