We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything the photos portrayed and more!”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful Roof terrace on top of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Roof terrace on top of house
Chairs on roof terrace fourth floor roof terrace fourth floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Beautiful Roof terrace on top of house
Chairs on roof terrace fourth floor
roof terrace fourth floor
entrance to first floor; steep stairs - be careful!
First double bedroom on First floor
Second Double Bedroom on the First Floor
second double bedroom
Stairs to second floor
stairs to second floor
Third bedroom with two single beds on second floor
third bedroom with two single beds
First bathroom on second floor
first bathroom
stairs to Third Floor
kitchen on the Third Floor
living room and kitchen
kitchen
living room on third floor
Living Room on the Third Floor
roof terrace with view of the sea
living room on third floor
Table on roof terrace
Abdellah Chaoui who will welcome you to the house
Debbie Winterbourne - owner of the house
outside of the house
street in the Kasbah where house is located
front door of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
theshippf...
Brule, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Everything the photos portrayed and more!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

The property was everything the photos portrayed and more. When we arrived, we were haggled by taxi drivers when we got off our bus, but Deborah had someone waiting when we arrived. He tracked us down in the Medina near the Hotel Continental and recognized us, calling to us by name, which was a huge relief at the time. He then took us to the house, which was very clean and equipped with everything that we needed for our stay.

I wish we could have stayed longer. The house had a lovely terrace overlooking Tangiers. There was plenty of space for our four person family (and then some). The house is four stories, very unique, and very Moroccan. Everything was in working order for our stay, which was a nice change up against some of our other experiences with other vacation rentals in other countries.

We took a ferry from Algeciras to Tangier Med because the wind had shut down ferries from Tarifa, Spain directly to Tangier. The bus ride from Tangier Med to Tangier was 40 minutes and then the taxi ride to the Hotel Continental only took a few minutes. The walk from the Hotel Continental to the house is short and manageable with a little guidance.

We have had our fair share of bad experiences, but this one was very good. Deborah worked with us on the vacation rental to make the situation worked for us even despite quirky and remarkably busy schedule.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoctorSpa
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Basic, authentic and great for a cheap break with much cultural immersion”
Reviewed April 16, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

There is much to commend this property - it is exceptional value. Its location in the medina is excellent, with many shops and cafes nearby to buy food and provisions. You feel very much part of the kasbah and are treated as a local if you are respectful and willing to converse. Compared with other places I have stayed in Morocco, there was very little hassle from locals and lots of genuine offers - only really experienced negative attention on arrival from the Port, and in the hotel district.

Communication from the owner prior to arrival was excellent, and on arrival at the Hotel Continental and texting Abdellah, I was called back within 10 minutes. He came with the keys 20 minutes later and escorted us to the house. He quickly found more toilet roll and a light bulb (several more were missing, we later discovered) and made sure we had what we needed, and offered himself in case we had further problems. We didn't need to contact him again, but felt confident that we could and that he would manage things. It would have been nice to have an extra key; we would have been severely limited by one key if we had been a larger group. It would have been helpful to have a map of the town and medina, but we were able to find one in the new town.

It was great to have the run of the house, which is largely as described. It is clean, very functional, and modestly but cleanly furnished. It would benefit greatly from a cooker - there is currently only a two ring hob and no oven - a wider selection of kitchen implements, and some sofas or easy chairs for relaxing. Bedrooms were well appointed and we slept well. Bathrooms were clean but fittings cracked. Roof terrace is gorgeous. The tall, narrow building (and street), coupled with an open grille over the front door, meant that noise from the street was sometimes disturbing and echoed up to the bedrooms, and the neighbours were doing some very loud work on their property, but kept this to daytimes.

We enjoyed sampling the local street food, which was excellent value and very good quality, and eating in the beach cafes when we fancied something a bit more international. Top tip is to buy a drink and the Hotel Continental and use their wifi for free.

Overall we had a great time, and with a few additions and upgradings, the house will be even better. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing roof terrace breakfasts and location amidst the medina
Liked least: Noise and lack of kitchen amenities
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaspars B
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
“The charming place for staying in Tanngier”
Reviewed December 17, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

We were staying at the House for one week. It is very clean and komfortably equipped, amazing traditional Moroccian house in old town of Tangiers. We were a group of 5 persons (4 adults and 1 child) and felt very comfortable and safe in the house. There were many small trditional restaurants with enjoy traditional cuisine and fresh fruits markets in old town. There are many shops and pizzerias olso in the center of Tangiers near the od town- Medina. In the evenings we sat on the roof terrace of the house, ate delicious fruits and looking romantic landscape.
Olso We had a very warm and sincere welcome from Abdellah, he took very care of us and recommended us good trips out of town.
We are very pleased with the lovely accomodation!
Thank You veru much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fantomia
Stavanger, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect house for experiencing the magic of 1001 nights!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my friend spent 6 lovely days in this wonderful house in the old original kasbah/ medina. It's location is perfect - in a narrow street withdrawn from the touristic main streets and just enough up the hill to have a beautiful view over the rest of the Medina and the sea. The neighbors are very friendly - we felt very welcomed even if we didn't speak any languages in common! Within short walks you reach everything you want to visit in Tangier.
Relaxing on the lovely roof terrace in the evenings and listening to the muezzins from the minarets we really felt the magic of being in a world of 1001 nights!
The house itself is kept in the traditional Moroccan style with tiles on all floors etc. and furnitured traditional and somewhat simple, so it keeps the authentic feeling, but is still comfortable enough (functional kitchen comfortable beds, 2 toilettes, tube in the bathroom etc.). A great bonus is Abdellah, the kind, young and well educated man that take care of the house for the landlady - and all your needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authentic feeling due to house and it's location
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2011
I always wish the best holiday for the people who stay in the Tangiers house. So if ever you have any questions or queries you are welcome to contact me at any time. From the owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anika31
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tangier's inspiration”
Reviewed June 30, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a week in June 2011 in this beautiful house in the heart of Tangier. I felt safe, welcomed and inspired. During the day I visited attractions nearby including the modern style beach that is just 15 min walk from the house, and parks and restaurants with amazing Moroccan food . You can rest in a beautifully decorated modern bathroom with bath and European toilets. Evenings with candles on the terrace that has the most magnificent view over the sea and city. Really peaceful and romantic atmosphere , friendly neighbors and local shops. All supplies in kitchen for self catering. A really cheap and magical holiday. I will definitely be back there !!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel l
Nice, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation

Traveling group: Con mi pareja
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Guy...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
This rental is not a modern apartment. It is a wonderful old traditional town house situated in the Kasbah. Most of our guests appreciate the very authentic nature of the house ? please see other reviews.
There are plenty of mod cons available; TV with international channels; washing machine; instant hot water; microwave and best of all - free Wifi.
The microwave actually forms the top part of the oven and was brand new a few months ago ? it is a shame these guests did not find it!
The house is always fully cleaned before and after arrival of every guest. We have always had great comments about the cleanliness of the house. I think these guests may have mistaken ?old? for ?unclean?.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing