We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10% Tour, 90% Shopping Excursion”

FRS Maroc S.A.R.L - Excursion to Tangier 1 Day
Ranked #31 of 51 Tours in Tangier
Attraction details
Reviewed August 15, 2013

When you're given the option to either take the FRS Tour to Morocco, for only 55 Euro, you may compare that against the price of a solo trip, not on a tour, of over 60 Euro, and say, trip, plus meal, plus touring, for less money? How can I lose?

Here's how you can lose...

First, our trip was delayed in departure by over an hour. When we asked about a refund or consideration for this delay, we were told, "it is impossible".

When we arrived in Tangiers, we waited another 30 minutes while they co-ordinated with local tour guides our transportation. We were then taken on a 5 minute bus ride out of the port, to the gate of the Medina. After a confusing walk out to the lunch spot - we had warm soup (in 40 degree weather), chicken and pork - all of which was passable - but we were charged dozens of euros for a few drinks. Where else can you pay 2 euro for a 20 cl Coke?

From there - we were inextricably whisked away to a carpet store - where the sales pitches began. "Buy this carpet, buy that carpet, look at this carpet" - followed by "look at this pottery, it's Berber, very nice" - followed by "spices, creams, these are very good for your skin" - with a round of "jewelry, all real, yes, real silver, real gems, very good price" (you wonder if the guides are getting kickbacks for bringing customers to these shops) - followed by another café - they only charge for drinks, because that more than covers their other costs - followed by a slow drive around Tangiers to find a camel riding attraction.

The day finished with - yay - a 1 hour wait again to board the ferry to return.

So - for those of you doing the math - the tour lasts for 4 hours - 1 hour for lunch - 2.5 hours for "guided" shopping - and 30 mins to go back and forth to the camel rides. Considering the hundreds they had our day taking the tour, you realize how much they're really clearing at the end of the day. Definitely not customer-oriented, and not something I would repeat or recommend.

3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRSFerrys, Director de Relaciones Públicas at FRS Maroc S.A.R.L - Excursion to Tangier 1 Day, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear David

We greatly regret that the tour of Tangier is not to your liking, so we have studied your request and we will proceed to renew the team and the excursions.

Again, we apologize and we thank you for trusting us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

I did the cultural trip which costs 60E including the ferry crossing (c.50mins). You leave on the 11a.m and return on the 19.30 ferry (Spanish time). You take the ferry across and are met by a coach. There was a bit of waiting in the sun for 20 mins whilst our coach arrived. After that, a full on day. The cultural tour involves taking a coach to see residences and a panoramic view of Tangier. Then you visit the caves of Hercules via a beach area which gives you the chance for a short camel ride for 2E. Then it is back into Tangier for a walk around the Kasbah, Sultan's palace museum and then a small amount of time for shopping. After being dropped by the coach the rest of the tour is on foot. There is food included, but don't hold your breath for spicy Moroccan food. Sadly the fare was fairly bland. After lunch you visit a spice market/traditional pharmacy. This is really just a sales pitch, you can buy saffron for 10E per large bag and musk, amber resins, orange blossom extract. There are some interesting things, but the approach of 2E, 5E, 10E for different types of item means you might pay more for some things. E.g. Argan oil hair product is 10E but you can buy it on Amazon for around £10.00. The 3 for 2 offer gets you things a bit cheaper but it was hard to bargain things down due to the way the sales pitch was conducted. It was interesting all the same, and worth doing to see different products. After that it is a bit of time in the souk before getting back on the coach for the ferry terminal.
One of the disadvantages of doing an organised tour is that you WILL be surrounded by hawkers at certain points. If you say you don't need it but then admire the workmanship or say the items are very nice they mostly say thank you and move on. If you just say no thanks, they are quite persistent.
Well worth doing the trip in my opinion, there is a fair bit of walking but all manageable. The only thing I found disappointing was the quality of mass produced food, in an over crowded restaurant that clearly caters for the tour groups. Wouldn't let this put you off though.

1  Thank wishiwasonholiday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRSFerrys, Director de Relaciones Públicas at FRS Maroc S.A.R.L - Excursion to Tangier 1 Day, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your comment. FRS Iberia we work to always offer the best service to users. If you have any other comments that make us, we invite you to do so through our e-mail info@frs.es or phone 34 956 68 18 30.
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked this trip knowing that it would be a tourist trap. We only had one day to spare while in Tarifa. From our research we knew it would be difficult to tour Tangier on our own. If you want a very quick glimpse of Tangier then go ahead and book the tour but don't expect much. The lunch was okay but was rushed because we were running late. Be careful when you go to the market, they are very aggressive and will not leave you alone. The tour itself was not organized, they say to meet your tour rep when you get on the ferry but be aware that there's only one per about 200 tourists.

1  Thank KDVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRSFerrys, Director de Relaciones Públicas at FRS Maroc S.A.R.L - Excursion to Tangier 1 Day, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear KDvan

We greatly regret that the tour of Tangier is not to your liking, so we have studied your request and we will proceed to renew the team and the excursions.

Again, we apologize and we thank you for trusting us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked the ferry from Tarifa to Tangier and the NIGHT before we were supposed to leave we received an email with "Confirmation" in the subject line. Thank goodness we read the fine print because it said the ferry had been cancelled. We went to the FRS company in the morning and exchanged our original tickets for the earlier one. Took that ferry and there were no police on board (we were told this was unusual though). There was one customs agent stamping passports for 400 passengers. Fights broke out from frustration and people were screaming and pushing to the front of passport control. We got off the ferry safely but were almost caught in the middle of two men fighting and no police to stop them. Arrive EARLY for your return ferry. The 9 PM ferry had already left at 8:30 and we were made to wait until midnight. The ferry then did not leave the dock until 1:30 AM. Worst experience as far as dangerous/inconvenience of my trip to Europe.

2  Thank Briana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRSFerrys, Director de Relaciones Públicas at FRS Maroc S.A.R.L - Excursion to Tangier 1 Day, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Briana

We greatly regret that the tour of Tangier is not to your liking, so we have studied your request and we will proceed to renew the team and the excursions.

Again, we apologize and we thank you for trusting us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

FRS sells you a ticket by advertising a Ferry crossing every 2 hours, when they only have one every 4 hours. A loss of time and money. The staff was un-helpfull. AVOID !!!

3  Thank Yves K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRSFerrys, Director de Relaciones Públicas at FRS Maroc S.A.R.L - Excursion to Tangier 1 Day, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Yves

We greatly regret that the tour of Tangier is not to your liking, so we have studied your request and we will proceed to renew the team and the excursions.

Again, we apologize and we thank you for trusting us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FRS Maroc S.A.R.L - Excursion to Tangier 1 Day also viewed

 
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 

Been to FRS Maroc S.A.R.L - Excursion to Tangier 1 Day? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing