We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upsetting experience”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royal
Ranked #41 of 46 Tangier B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Upsetting experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Got a reservation for 3 nights in hotel royal in tanger.Arrived after a long yourney we were quite exhausted wanted to check in at 2.45 pm the receptionist called the manager or owner or whoever he said we can check in at 5pm!!told him we are after a long yourney and not going to wait another hours ,asked him has he got a free room?he said yes so why he was not allowed us to get the room what we booked in advance??i told him we are leaving and hope he is not going to charge us because is not our fault the check in in this hotel from 2pm!!by the way the area looked very rough and the hotel inside was full of smoke like burned food but really smoked could hardly see anything plus all beddings and duvets were hanged outside on the corridors honestly wanted to run away.he helped to make this decision!found another hotel nearby for the same money but definitely better experience so far.Dont waste your time to book this hotel in advance there are plenty of choice around but because it is our first time in Tanger we didnt know that.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika7419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
10
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirleft, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff, good location.

I stayed there only for two nights and was satisfied; upon arrival, I was handed the keys to three different rooms so I could pick one. The staff answered all my questions about the city of Tangier and even gave me some tips which route to take for scenic views.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trypppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Do not trust this hotel they will scam you like they did to me they stole 400 dirhams of my money when I didn't even stay in the hotel always becareful before you book a room especially with this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hmirash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tangier hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treviso, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been there 1 night, the last before to leave Morocco. I had just a afternoon-evening to pass in Tangier. I found this place very good because is in front of the port of Tangerville where I could buy the ticket of the ferry (that leave by the new port) and allows me to have a walk to ancient medina - which is very nice compared to others, and found it safe and clean - and also to the upper city.
The rooms have bathroom inside or not, television or not... I needed the first and not the second because I spent my time outside. The rooms are not well furnished, but this wasn't essential to me... bathroom were small but clean. The hotel have wireless, which I needed.
The receptionists speak different languages, are very helpful and gentle, want to make you at ease. The morning receptionist (present at 6am) for a little breakfast showed me the close Lecheria open at dawn and spoked with the taxi man to be sure he didn't cheat me :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Easy to walk to from ferry if travelling light. One of the better cheaper hotels and very clean and safe. Nice marble floors and rooms are available for £14 per night. Some have tv and most have private bathrooms. Reception appear to make hotel safe. Stayed her several times and never had any problems On that street and area it is certainly the best i know for the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k090213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mamora
Hotel Mamora
#22 of 44 in Tangier
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Dar Omar Khayam
Pension Dar Omar Khayam
#29 of 44 in Tangier
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mauritania Centre Tanger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Tanger
Ibis Budget Tanger
#28 of 44 in Tangier
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chellah Hotel Tangier
Chellah Hotel Tangier
#39 of 44 in Tangier
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayt Alice
Bayt Alice
#15 of 46 in Tangier
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: 144 Rue Salah Eddine Ayoubi, Tangier, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Royal 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tanger, near the port and the medina.a charming hôtel; The best of the hotel is its typical decoration of homes the north of Morocco with huge frescoes and mosaics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing