We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar JAND
Nearby Hotels
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$44
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments(Tangier)
$108
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$116
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
M'Nar Park(Tangier)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
186
13
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracehomemade sconeshistorical tourgreat recommendationshouse is beautifulwalking tourenjoyable staywarm hospitalitylocal culturegreat guidebed and breakfastvisit tangiermoroccan breakfastold cityjanetabdullahdar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 200 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our stay in Tangier was magical, due in large part to our hosts at Dar JAND, Janet and Andrew. Their home is a gem located in the heart of the medina, a fascinating place for wandering and exploring at a leisurely pace. Their knowledge of and enthusiasm for Tangier is contagious. From the just-squeezed orange juice and warm-from-the-oven breakfast breads served on the rooftop terrace each morning to Andrew's personal tours and suggestions for live entertainment we felt like invited guests. Tangier and Dar JAND have jumped to the top of my list of favorite vacations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

When we started looking for a place to stay in Morocco we didn't know how intimidating it could be to explore Tangier on your own. Thank heavens for all the great reviews (5 star) for the Dar Jand B&B. From the moment Andrew met us at the ferry and walked us into the Medina to Dar Jand, we knew we had made the right choice. We were shown to our charming rooms and then to the rooftop terrace to meet Janet and partake of tea (served from a beautiful silver Moroccan tea pot) and tasty cookies. To say the view was spectacular is an understatement. Andrew and Janet spent so much time with us giving the history of the Medina as well as their journey to be here and create this wonderful space. They took us out to explore the streets and alley ways, all the time giving us landmarks to watch for so we could always find our way back to Dar Jand. They were very helpful giving us ideas of things to do and see and where to eat, and were so helpful telling us of the mystical culture of Tangier. Janet did an amazing job creating the interior of Dar Jand - from the wonderful Moroccan paint colors to all the art work. The whole place was eye candy - she did an amazing job. Whatever we needed to know, they were there to provide answers. Our stay was magical! Oh, almost forgot to mention the wonderful homemade biscuits, sweetbreads, and jams served on the terrace each morning. Fabulous! Thank you so much Andrew and Janet, for a lifelong memory.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveCarman411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time with Janet and Andrew at their lovely retreat in the Medina. We enjoyed our chats on the rooftop patio. Andrew was a great historian of Tangiers on our walks. Janet and Andrew made us feel at home from the moment we met Andrew at our cab. Highly recommend Dar JAND.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kar62223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Though I don't give 5 stars easily, the attentive, personal, and earnest service we had during our two-night stay in August 2012 is incomparable. Since we actually had only one full day to explore Tangier, Andrew went out of his way to give us a personal tour of the main attractions of the Medina and its surroundings. That tour of and by itself is worth more than the price of our stay. I have always known that Arabs are hospitable people but this American couple beat any. The "Dar" itself is nicely located with a beautiful roof terrace where a delicious breakfast is served. The rooms may be a bit tight or the climb of stairs a bit steep but Andrew helps you with your luggage and offers you any free space outside your room. We actually had the use of the common lounge outside our room which became then a suite! Anyway any tightness in space was overcome by the breadth of their dedicated service to their guests making sure that they enjoy their stay and visit to Tangier. They are the definition of a top personal service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talwazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

All the positive reviews for Dar Jand and the hospitality of Janet and Andrew are well deserved. I was a little nervous travelling to Morocco with my 69-year-old mother but as soon as we were met by Andrew at the port all worries began to disappear. We received such a wonderfully warm welcome from Janet and Andrew and they did a lot to help us feel comfortable and orient ourselves in the medina. This gave us a wonderful sense of independence. And all of their suggestions for restaurants and activities were spot-on.

Their house is beautiful--creatively designed and decorated--so much care and thought put into all the details. This care is also evident in the delicious breakfasts Janet makes--with homemade biscuits and coffee cakes (so good, oh my!), along with yogurt, fresh orange juice, jams, and a heavenly spread called amlou--a blend of argan oil, almonds, and honey.

What really made our stay most memorable was Janet and Andrew's kindness, good humor, and their stories about local history and their own experiences. We really found ourselves missing their company during the remainder of our visit to Morocco.

Tangier is an amazing city and this is where I hope to stay when I return. I am very grateful to Janet and Andrew for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezili7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews