We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Dar Omar Khayam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Omar Khayam
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is located near the port and many restaurants and cafés. We arrived quite early staff were very accommodating and let us check-in early. Staff was friendly, especially the owner, who seems like a very interesting fellow. My only complaint is that the bathroom in our room had a curtain for a door - not great for privacy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank lalalaVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 132 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Price, location and staff were the high points. Location-wise, although you should no doubt visit the Medina when in Tangiers, having been there now, I see no reason why anyone would want to stay at a hotel IN the Medina. This pension is within easy walking distance of the Medina, Ferry Port, some urban beaches, and has the advantage of being in a bustling neighborhood with many restaurants and cafes and people sort of going about their lives with little or no concern about what it is you do with your money. So great to leave the high pressure Medina with its many touts and escape to this neighborhood and relax with some mint tea at this Pensions expansive and cozy back patio area. The staff speaks great English and is very knowledgable and helpful, whether you are trying to arrange transport further in to Morocco, or just find a good place to eat. Their dinner recommendation was excellent, a place with amazing moroccan food close to the hotel where we were the only tourists in sight.
The rooms, I'll admit, are a bit rough around the edges, but fully adequate for sleeping, showering, etc, and since this is, after all, a budget place, I didn't take off a star for that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banxeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hi all!
I went to Tangers for a couple of days in June and I have been lucky to end up at the Dar Omar Khayam hotel.
The place is perfectly located at only 5 minutes walk from the beach. The Medina is not far either so you can go discover the historical part of the town.
About the hotel, you have everything you would expect: friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good breakfast. I can just recommend this place.

Room Tip: number 12 maybe! it was mine and I really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remytamalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal J, Responsable commercial at Dar Omar Khayam, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Hi Thanks for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

スタッフさんはみんな親切、かわいいソファ付きの素敵な部屋にリーズナブルに泊れました!
朝食はモロッコ風の中庭でおいしいパンとコーヒー、オレンジジュースなどが楽しめました!
タオル、シャンプー、石鹸付き。

Kind staffs and nice breakfast, we can enjoy and relax in a pretty Moroccan room.
The location is about 10 minutes from the bus terminal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank chocmoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal J, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Omar Khayam, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Hi Thanks for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Lovely little hotel with an excellent location in the new part of town and far more charm than larger and more expensive hotels.
Rooms are quite different from one another but #16 was bright and airy and really nice.
The staff was more than accomodating and friendly as other have pointed out.
Great value for money and I highly recommend it (not sure what negative reviewers are complaing about but I'm quite certain that the error lies in their unrealistic expectations rather than the hotel itself).

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Tangier was our first stop in Morocco, and the staff were both welcoming and went above and beyond in providing us with local knowledge and assistance with respect to onward travel. The facilities were spare, but there was nothing to be desired.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank WHubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I think my title sums up the way I feel. The atmosphere was very cool, breakfast was good. We stayed only overnight and barely saw the place, as we were driving through, but it was just what we needed, at a very comfortable price for today's restricted budgets !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mauritania Centre Tanger
0.2 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#13 of 44 in Tangier
379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Tangier
Ramada Encore Tangier
#17 of 44 in Tangier
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Tanger
Ibis Budget Tanger
#25 of 44 in Tangier
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 44 in Tangier
606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Tanger City Center
Ibis Tanger City Center
#42 of 44 in Tangier
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Omar Khayam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Omar Khayam

Address: 26, 28 Rue AL Antaki, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range: $39 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Omar Khayam 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming rooms in a residence by the beach located between downtown Tangier and the old Medina.The hotel has 26 comfy guest rooms with beds for up to four people.If you need a car, you can rent one directly from the hotel reception and use hotel parking during your stay.The reception is manned 24/7, and also offers a dependable wake-up service.Free wireless internet access in the rooms and airy public areas (WiFi).All rooms equipped with a little office space, internet connection and cable TV.The hotel provides convenient internet access in your room.The hotel has its own bistro - café serving breakfast, light snacks and drinks.Our competent staff looks forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Dar Omar Khayam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing