We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Riad”
Review of Riad Arous Chamel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Arous Chamel
Ranked #22 of 46 Tangier B&B and Inns
Los Barrios, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Typical Riad”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This Riad gave us the opportunity to stay in Ground floor rooms but the bonus was negated by the fact that we had to mount several staircases to the terrace for breakfast. Good view though.
Pointed out to the owner that the (good) mattresses should have mattress covers not just a single sheet for hygiene and he seemed to take it on board. Bathroom door had a mind of its own as did our friends shower
We were accompanied to a local restuarant for dinner to make sure we didn't get lost and the food was very good.
Very centrally located for markets and monuments

Room Tip: Depends on your knees. 1st floor is a good bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninajp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
82
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The building has been immaculately restored and feels like a museum, with many incredible pieces on every floor. Location is fantastic - right in the heart of the medina and not difficult to find, with a superb view from the terrace.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable, albeit in need of some attention on the simple but very important things such as pillows and bedding. Individual heaters provided in the rooms.

On the negative side, staff were indifferent to the point of being rude. Perhaps it was just an off day or because we were the only guests in the entire hotel, but we felt like slightly unwanted guests and didn't get the experience that other people have raved about. I'm sure the place runs better when the owner is present, as other reviewers have suggested.

To top off the indifferent service, we arranged for an 8 am breakfast to allow us to catch an early ferry to Tarifa, which the staff were well aware of. Breakfast was served more than half an hour late and consisted of some seriously stale pancakes and instant coffee, so thankfully we didn't need long to eat (leave) it and managed to make the ferry anyway. Presumably the fresh bread we saw delivered was for the staff breakfast, who remained on the terrace and left us to let ourselves out with shouted instructions to leave the key in the door. Strange.

We had nothing but super friendly and efficient service and exceptional breakfasts for the rest of our 5 week trip in Morocco, so this one stood out as the most disappointing. It could be so much better, but becomes poor value for money when the service doesn't match the stunning quality of the building interior.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mystic-Cabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I and a group of friends and family came to Morocco for a week to celebrate my birthday, with our first night spent in Tangier. I chose for us to stay at Riad Arous Chamel.

Gilles, the owner of Arous Chamel is a wonderful host; the staff are really hospitable and nothing is a problem. I was glad that he joined us on the terrace on the evening of our arrival and took the time to make us all feel welcome.

The Riad is decorated beautifully and the rooms comfortable.

We had dinner in the Riad on the evening of our arrival, and the food was delicious. One of our guests is gluten intolerant and they ensured that she was catered for. In the land of couscous and bread, rice and tagines are the solution!

PLEASE NOTE - Anyone who complains in a review about medina Riads not having central heating really needs to do some more research before criticising the accommodation for not being warm enough. These are ancient buildings and winter is only 2 months of the year. You will always have either a portable heater or an air conditioning unit that blows out heat.

Thank you Gilles and all the staff at Riad Arous Chamel for making our first night in Morocco a memorable one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THJ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The best place in old Medina, the staff is friendly, the owner is fantastic: helpfull, clever and cultivated, he can give you very interesting book about the recent history of Tanger. The fireplace is romantic, the terrace is unforgettable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent one night here, and with the assistance of a portable heater our accomodation was fair. It is a classic riad hotel, which means it is in a middle of the Tangier medina and no central heating.

I would give this an average mark, in our opinion their price is more expensive than the provided service.

Room Tip: The first floor is a little bit dark compared to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enquen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Whatever had been said about this riad ARE TRUE! It's the best place to stay!
Clean,
Staffs are helpful!!!
Sahid and Raschid...

It's true too it's a maze to find this place. I was directed by unofficial guide who got angry after I paid him and dropped him as advised by Sahid. I suggest call the riad and ask them to pick you up instead from the outside of Medina.

MUST STAY HERE!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurAkmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was a lovely hotel with very helpful and accommodating staff. Although the medina can seem somewhat overwhelming, Riad Arous Chamel provides a comfortable and relaxing retreat. Rachid and Sahid were brilliant and their English and local knowledge was excellent. The breakfasts were amazing, especially if you have a sweet tooth. The open plan landings were very impressive looking down on 3 floors, and great views of the medina from the rooftop terrace, particularly at night. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in Tangier! PS. Sahid draws a great crocodile :o)

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charlotte m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
4.8 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 43 in Tangier
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#10 of 43 in Tangier
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
0.2 mi away
Bayt Alice
Bayt Alice
#15 of 46 in Tangier
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Arous Chamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Arous Chamel

Property: Riad Arous Chamel
Address: 16 rue Abdessadak, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Arous Chamel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the heart of Tangier just a step from the petit socco in the center of the medina (hurdy-gurdy city), this riad authentic completely restored in the respect for the Arabian-Andalusian tradition will seduce you by its soothing and warm atmosphere-*Gilles and Fatima will drive(guide) you and will advise you throughout your stay to miss nothing the mythical city-*Superbe seen since the terrace on the city and the bay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Riad Arous Chamel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Arous Chamel Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing