We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish living in Tangier”
Review of Dar 23

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar 23
Ranked #16 of 49 Tangier B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Dar 23 is like something out of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. The dar is very well-situated in the medina, in the heart of the hustle and bustle but somehow still quiet (tucked away on a side street). Inside, the house is absolutely beautifully decorated. The owner clearly has great skill and interest in interior decorating and the place is very well-thought out and put-together. All the amenities and decorative pieces are of very high quality. I was expecting something nice from the pictures but wasn't expecting the place to be SO stylish. The rooms are comfortable, clean and make you feel like you're in a pretty luxurious space. We appreciated all the reading materials left in the rooms (Monocle magazine was particularly popular) and enjoyed all parts of the dar, from the nice rooms to the kitchen and dining area. Breakfast was great as well.

We didn't get to meet Peter (the owner, who was very helpful before our stay via email) during our stay as he was out of the country at the time, but the dar's staff were helpful despite some language barriers and they helped us feel welcome and safe. From what I've read in the TripAdvisor reviews, our stay may have been even better had Peter been around during our stay, but even without him around, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Dar 23 to anyone travelling to Tangier (itself a fascinating city).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 174 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Echoing other rave reviews of this exquisite little Dar in Tangier, staying here was a highlight of our Moroccan experience. Peter and his staff guided us to all the best places to sightsee and to eat. Beyond that he gave us lots of helpful travel advice before and during our stay. Breakfast was like a page from 'Gourmet Traveller' - just fabulous! Recommend it to the max.

Room Tip: The Nomad Suite is to die for! As a former airline stewardess I have stayed in some great places but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Och62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Peter has obviously put a lot of love into restoring this riad - it's full of beautiful furniture, and there is care evident in everything from the linen sheets to the silverware to the cactus collections.

It's tucked in a back street in the media, very close to the Grand Socco, so a good location, and the view from the roof terrace is fantastic.

Peter is an excellent host - friendly and welcoming, and taking time to answer any questions you have. The staff provide a lovely breakfast, too! The starter of yogourt and fresh fruit was just what we needed.

Surprising, then, that the shower pressure was very weak and the bathroom door could not be opened from the inside once shut! Someone had wedged some paper in the hole in an attempt to fix it, but it didn't work. Also there weren't any toiletries provided.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kixonroute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent a few nights with Peter at his lovely riad in the heart of the medina in Tangier. The riad is perfectly located, so that you can explore the old city of Tangier and get to the port by foot. Peter was more than helpful during our stay and offered many ideas of what to do in the area. He certainly made us feel like we were family.
Tangier has a lot to offer and staying in this riad will add to the splendor of you trip. We highly recommend staying in Dar 23. Thank you Peter!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I could only wish that the rest of Tanger was so amazing. Peter is very friendly, professional, hospitable and well organised. He has created a very beautiful, pristine sanctuary just 15min walk (albeit uphill) from the Tanger city port and just off the Petit Socco in the Medina. The staff is all very courteous, helpful and friendly (unlike at the Minzah hotel&spa which is all about extracting maximum revenue for themselves). Peter has many good tips about Tangier so don't hesitate to ask.

The only downside is the location, on a narrow dirty street that gets pitch black at night. There are also no good restaurants in the Medina (riad Tanja is closed at time of writing for reconstruction), so if it's raining sheets out in a typical Tanger downpour, it's an adventure to get back on the steep slippery cobblestones in the dark and wet. The breakfast is really nice so perhaps one day Peter could consider expanding Dar 23 to offer more meals too? I will miss this place !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickichickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Peter has created a beautiful and stylish oasis on the edge of the Petit Socco. Every detail of this fabulous house has been carefully thought out and we found it wanting for nothing. The warm welcome and helpful tips on where to go and where to eat made our stay effortless and enjoyable. I don't think I have ever experienced such high standards of house keeping and breakfast was delicious. Thank you Peter, G & V

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayesgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in the Nomade suite for two nights, and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The room is one of the most beautiful I have stayed in, and the house as a whole is beautifully decorated. The view from the rooftop over Tangier and the port is also stunning. Peter and his assistant were extremely welcoming and helpful - they met us from the port and gave great recommendations about transport, restaurants etc. The breakfast of Moroccan breads, fruit and yoghurt was delicious too. Dar 23 is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Yasmine
Dar Yasmine
#8 of 49 in Tangier
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 49 in Tangier
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Kasbah
Dar El Kasbah
#9 of 49 in Tangier
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Maison de Tanger
La Maison de Tanger
#3 of 49 in Tangier
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Sultan
Dar Sultan
#5 of 49 in Tangier
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Jameel
Dar Jameel
#4 of 49 in Tangier
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar 23

Address: 23 rue Las Once | Ancienne Médina, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range: $65 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar23, an oasis, a home, is situated in the heart of the "Petit Socco", historic center of the International Zone flourished during the early 20th century in the old town of Tangier. A small house in traditional Andalusia architecture with modern comfort and with decoration in a unique mix of Oriental, African and Contemporary style. 3 bedrooms only, 2 double and a single, Moroccan in spirit with modern facilities. The tariff of the rooms include a welcome tea, a bottle of mineral water, Moroccan/Continental breakfast and wi-fi connection. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing