We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Peter's”
Review of Maison Arabesque

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Arabesque
Ranked #31 of 46 Tangier B&B and Inns
Bodo, Norway
1 review
“Excellent stay at Peter's”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at Peter’s place in Tangier for two nights around new years-eve. This was without doubt the best place we stayed on our trip through Spain and Morocco. His house is discreetly located in the middle of the old medina, near the sea and the Grand Socco, and the more modern streets above. It is a renovated old house that is well taken care of, with large rooms and a very nice rooftop patio. Peter was very helpful the whole stay, and gave us tips about what to do and where to eat and drink. And of course provided us with an amazing breakfast every morning. His hotel operation was very flexible and he made us feel very at home. We hope that you still are in Tangier the next time we go there!

Ingeborg & Mathias

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OudeGeuzeAeroPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    9
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My friend and I very much enjoyed our stay at Maison Arabesque. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated and the room was comfortable. The owner was exceptionally helpful and delightful, from meeting our taxi at arrival, to giving us good recommendations for restaurants, to just chatting with us over breakfast – he made the experience in Tangier that much more special. And, the terrace is a great place to spend a some time planning your day each morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afterwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed 3 nights at Maison Arabesque and had a delightful experience. While it is located in the bustling medina, it is still perfectly situated just a tad off a side street allowing one to be a part of it all, without being directly in the thick of the main merchant streets. The house is beautiful and charming, with obvious care taken in every detail of restoration and decor. From the rooftop terrace you can see Spain on a clear day! Gorgeous!
Peter is a wonderful host who is very helpful with recommendations, directions, arrange of transport...really everything. SO nice!

I would definitely recommend and stay here again, myself! Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We've just returned from four nights at this pretty little hotel - in the centre of the Medina but hidden away in a quiet street. It has been carefully restored to a high level of comfort yet at the same time retaining an authentic foreign feel, unusual these days with so many modern hotels on offer. Everything works, and the breakfasts are delicious. Peter the owner is a charming host and guide, and you feel you already have a friend. We stayed on the top floor, which has an unusual and very comfortable Berber bed and direct access to a quiet terraced garden, built upwards on three levels with panoramic views. If you enjoy being amongst the locals but at the same time like your comforts, this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stairs a bit steep to the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyRJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our 2 nights at Maison Arabesque - if you want an authentic Medina experience right in the heart of the hubbub centre - in a beautifully restored property this is ideal. Peter the owner was very welcoming with traditional tea and coffee served up on the roof and gave us great tips on where to eat and shop! Surprisingly quiet once inside the hotel so no fear of the noise outside - apart from the call to prayer at 5am but that's everywhere in Tangier :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a true oasis of peace and tranquility in the centre of the bustling Medina. The cool interior is so welcoming after the heat of the crowds outside. I used the double room on the second floor with an en-suite shower room and the lovely terrace and I felt totally at home. Peter, your host, could not be more pleasant or more helpful, without being intrusive. We even managed to hire the services of a local chef and enjoyed a memorable meal served on the top terrace in candle light and moon light. I was in Tangier specifically to purchase items for a restaurant to be opened in Penang and I was able to conclude my business in a short three days! I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Although I loved my top suite the last few stairs are steep so beware if you are unsteady on your fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetalTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were really impressed with how beautiful and relaxing this wonderful riad is! And Peter is an incredibly helpful, friendly host, always going out of his way to make us more comfortable, provide guidance, and give spot-on suggestions. This was the last place we stayed on our trip to Morocco and we would go back in a second. As we were traveling with our two girls, we stayed on the top floor, in the Sheltering Sky and Paul's Room, which basically gave us a private paradise of terraces, plants, and wonderful views of Tangier. Peter also provides the most delicious breakfast! I highly recommend staying at the Maison Arabesque.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MondryFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Souran
Dar Souran
#3 of 46 in Tangier
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Nakhla Naciria
Dar Nakhla Naciria
#4 of 24 in Tangier
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Bargach
Dar Bargach
#21 of 46 in Tangier
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Mokhtar
Riad Mokhtar
#16 of 46 in Tangier
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albarnous Maison d'Hotes
Albarnous Maison d'Hotes
#20 of 46 in Tangier
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Arous Chamel
Riad Arous Chamel
#22 of 46 in Tangier
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Arabesque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Arabesque

Property: Maison Arabesque
Address: Rue Naciria 73 | Medina, Place Sakaya, Tangier 9000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Arabesque lies in the heart of Tangier´s beautiful old medina. The former merchant house dating from 1898 was built in the Spanish-Moorish style. In 2007-08 the building has been completely refurbished combining modern comfort with the typically old style characteristics. Arabesque offers an oasis of rest, light and space for its guests. All 5 rooms have been decorated with a mix of Moroccan traditional and modern design. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing