We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience and OK pizza”
Review of La Mamma

La Mamma
Ranked #35 of 278 Restaurants in Rabat
Price range: $8 - $27
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good ambience and OK pizza”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Having decided we had a craving for pizza we chose La Mamma mainly due to its convenient location and because it looked inviting from peering in the window. Our server was friendly and I think we got good seats as it is true that some of the tables are a bit 'cosy'. Once the place busied up though I imagine the general hum of chatter would have drowned out your neighbour. The pizza was not the best but it was just fine. An overwhelming use of anchovies seemed to dominate the pizza and the salad so lucky I like them! We got a bottle of wine but then noticed most people were ordering jugs so I assume that is your guarantee of satisfaction - I would go for a jug next time just for fun. I guess you just have to deal with the smoking thing here but we got a table of 6 young chain smokers arrive next to us just as we were finishing up so that was our cue to leave.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    95
    70
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dinner Argument”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived there dinner time and were seated next to a couple arguing which is not really good for the meal (most especially if you understand French). Tables were set as people seating nearly close to each other like one big table so you can overhear people's conversations. It was not very serene. Food was really nice specially the pizzas and the shrimp gratin. They also have English and French speaking staff so it's not hard to communicate. It's a bit pricey for the reputation that it has built but food is average. Nothing really of specialty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trishvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what you expected”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This restaurant has very good ratings, but I wouldn't go there again. We went during Ramadan, so I do not know if that influenced our experience, but I can say that the fetuccine alfredo was not good, the lasagna was average and the service was poor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

So, this is one of the places where Peace Corps volunteers would go for breakfast. Just order "toast". They know what you means and its a whole meal and cheap. If it gets Peace Corps cred, then it needs nothing else. If you don't like what you get, or don't like the place, or want to whine about the "atmosphere" then do us all a favor and go to the McDonalds around the corner like the rest of the tourists.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“okay food, poor service, a bit pricey”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food here is pretty good - although I'd argue that Cafe Weimar at the Goethe Institut makes better pizzas and salads for less money. Don't expect good service. The servers are not friendly, and don't ever smile or converse with the customers, even if you speak Arabic to them. People smoke in the restaurant, which kind of sucks. It's also a bit hot in the restaurant during the summer time due to the absurd number of lit candles all over the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mamma also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to La Mamma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing