We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
94
23
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
94
23
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide twin room breakfast was delicious breakfast service rooftop pool special thanks orange juice old city two nights flaws riad medina suitcases morocco courtyard casablanca fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 127 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

Arrived late in the evening and was assigned a corner room on the 2nd floor (loft style). As the Riad was located in the middle of the medina, would be best contacting a staff to pick you up.
Plus points for room:
- clean with complimentary 2 bottles of water provided
- small tubes of body wash, shampoo, body lotion provided
- heated towel racks in bathroom

Minus points:
- wouldn't recommend loft-style rooms if you need to use the bathrooms in the middle of the night
- dim rooms
- drainage issues in the shower stall
- breakfast service in the mornings were painfully slow even though there were only 2 of us. Bread was also cold. Cooked eggs provided but expect to wait awhile
- no kettle / hot water boiler provided in room

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank WunderSnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad K, Responsable réception at Riad Kalaa 2, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2019


Dear Customer
we are sorry to hear that you have encountered problems with the breakfast service. We will rectify that.
For rooms, we inform you that we have other possibilities in this Riad but ... a little more expensive.
thank you avor chose RAID KALAA 2
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

I wish we were here more than one night. This one of our favourite riads! All the rooms are so beautiful. The minute we walked in we were greeted with tea, smiles, and a beautiful atmosphere with soft music playing. We enjoyed the lounge area with the fireplace. Most of all, the two women managers, one during the day, and the one in the evening were extremely nice and couldn't do enough for us. Food was excellent here as well.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Griswolds3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad K, Responsable relations clients at Riad Kalaa 2, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2019


A big thank you for this warm comment. We are happy to have made your stay enjoyable and hope to welcome you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at Riad Kalaa 2 after a very long drive from Fes via Volubilis. It was 4 pm, and our 2 hour tour had been delayed to accommodate our unexpectedly late arrival. Our tour guide in Rabat was a disaster without going into details here. We cut the tour short and headed back to the Riad. Amil was everything our guide was not. Charming, funny, cheerful, friendly. He restored our faith in mankind (emphasis on ‘man’). Amil, thank you!

We stayed in ‘Casablanca’. This suite is on the first floor, then up another small private staircase. The suite had a small bathroom, large seating area with TV, and very comfortable bedroom area with dressing table. The decor is subtle in tones of grey. I would like to transport the walls to my UK home - they were lovely.

The room has windows at high level overlooking the tiny Medina street. These windows can be shuttered easily and there is absolutely no noise at night. On the opposite wall are windows overlooking the courtyard. All but one of these can be closed but we left them open.

We were not disturbed by kitchen noises but we were very tired and slept deeply in the cosy bedroom area.

All expected amenities were provided e.g. hairdryer, fridge (to keep our Cadbury’s stash cool), shower gel and shampoo. The small bathroom contained a powerful shower. The shower tray was slow to drain - some work with a plunger might make a difference but the building is very old and drainage may be tricky.

Breakfast was excellent in our view. Chocolate pudding (a treat), pancakes, the most delicious Madeline-type cake, fruit salad, orange juice. Very, very good.

One afternoon we relaxed by the roof top pool which is a fantastic spot. Amil offered us drinks and refused to accept payment when we left. He had, he said, invited us, and we felt very welcome. The courtesy extended as far as walking us to and from the Riad Kalaa for dinner and booking a table for us at Dinnerjat. We found all the staff team to be helpful and friendly.

We loved our stay here even if Rabat itself did not quite meet our expectations.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa 2, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear Customer
We thank you warmly for this excellent review and hope to see you again. We are happy to hear that the receptionist Amine has received you so well.
Very cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We originally reserved a room at Riad Kalaa, a sister property to this one. When we checked in at Riad Kalaa, it was lovely, but when we entered the room, the top of the television was wet. After 10 minutes, it became apparent that the air conditioner was dripping in five places. Management was attentive and attempted to solve the problem with towels, as the tile staircase was also covered in water on about five of the steps. But it was already 8:30 p.m., and the dripping of water throughout the night would preclude a good night's sleep. Thus, as there were no other rooms at Riad Kalaa, we put our things together and headed to Riad Kalaa 2.

We chose Riad Kalaa for their restaurant and other amenities, which were not at Riad Kalaa 2. The room we were in was beautiful - a double bed downstairs with a bathroom, and a double bed upstairs with a bathroom. Yet the room was VERY dim, and we had to request a reading lamp for my daughter to write her school notes. In addition, for the price, many details were overlooked - glass was missing from the upstairs small desktop, as well as hand soap in the upstairs bathroom.

Breakfast was ample in the mornings, with many offerings, yet I equate it to staying with my in-laws. We came to the riad for relaxation, yet staff was loading the dishwasher (clang, clang) with silverware (clang, clang) and dishes (clang, clang) EARLY in the morning (7 a.m.!!!!!!) I understand the need to clean up, but it was just like my father-in-law, making a ton of noise so we would wake up and start our day. Not OK...!!!

Also, the male staff members were fantastic and gracious - especially Amil. He knew about our inconvenience in having to gather our belongings and move after we had checked in and unpacked, and wanted to make sure we were comfortable at the other property. Yet, the woman on Sunday morning was abrupt and inhospitable when we requested a little later check-out - yes, I understand that rooms need to be made up for other guests; yes, I understand that housekeeping only works certain hours - but our expectation was that the other room (Riad Kalaa) would be fit for our weekend stay ... and when it was not, accommodations really should be made for such guest inconveniences. As it was, it was only us and one other room occupied on Saturday during the day and NOISY housekeeping as we were attempting to relax, shouting as they made up the room. Also, staff didn't seem too busy, enjoying their morning meal in one of the guest rooms across from us Saturday morning. Maybe if staff didn't use a guest room for their meal, there would be less to clean?? Just a suggestion...

Yes, that woman had an opportunity to create a positive guest experience, but sadly, her rigid, abrupt nature left us with a feeling of not being valued...

Otherwise, besides the noisy dishwasher loading, shouting housekeeping, and unhappy lady, we had an OK time. But, OK just isn't good enough for that nightly rate. A true test of hospitality is how a property reacts when something unexpected happens. And that is where Riad Kalaa 2 fell short...

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DesertDweller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

We stayed here two nights and it was delightful. It appeared that the place had been newly decorated, and the staff people were exceptionally kind and helpful! Breakfast was delicious, served in the bright and beautiful central room of this riad. Our spacious second floor room was artistically decorated, and the bed was very cozy and comfortable. The only negatives about it were that the windows didn't close completely, so we heard noises from downstairs into the night. Also, the shower floor was very shallow and the water drained slowly so there was an overflow mess when we showered. All this said, we'd certainly stay there again! The people there made our stay so wonderful! Special thanks to Amime and his beautiful colleague, whose name I unfortunately cannot remember. She was a jewel!

Room tip: Make certain you can close the windows in your room completely. Sounds travel sometimes.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maureenbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews