We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Dar Aida
Nearby Hotels
$113
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$90
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kalaa(Rabat)
$111
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
$215
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
59
63
16
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
63
16
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaxi driverprivate bathroomrooftop decksmall streetshort walkmapairportmedinariadcurtainsshowerwifiaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 145 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Riad. Nicely situated in the heart of the medina of Rabat, it had the charm and the character we were looking for. It is not fancy, but it was comfortable, offered a nice breakfast on their lovely rooftop terrace, and was convenient to shopping, the Kasbah, and most of the attractions if you don't mind walking a bit. I would advise taking the largest of the suites. It is very private, multi leveled, and has a window looking out into the medina. Expect to be woken up at 5 am for morning prayer. The sound carries throughout the city. I found it an interesting experience. There is no air conditioning, but we found it comfortable at night. The court yard in the centre of the Riad is really beautiful. The upstairs roof top deck has a great view of the medina. The room and bathroom was clean and beautifully decorated with traditional Moroccan style.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniem1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This was the first of many Raids my wife and I stayed in Morocco, and its was a nice value for 50 Euro. The family and staff was gracious and friendly, and really wanted their guest to be comfy and at home, which we were. The rooms are all excellent, the breakfast was great, and the bathroom and hot shower was one the best of the trip. Its location is ideal, and they have a sister Riad we checked out thats just as nice, though not as new, both very charming and well appointed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

I stayed at the hotel about three weeks and I should say that I had a very good experience. Most important of all, the staff (i.e. Noura and Kasmiya) was very helpful and friendly. They always take good care of the guests, and have friendly smile on their faces. The rooms were good quality, and all the service you needed from a good hotel. Remember, this hotel is built in traditional style, so the rooms reflect that a bit (see pictures), but I thought all needs of modern travelers were addressed appropriately. I really enjoyed the dinner served in the evening (if you request, that is). The food is cooked at the hotel, and it's authentic Moroccan food; they're delicious and very clean. I stayed at different hotels with four stars in Morocco and the service and staff friendliness was very poor in general, but here you will be most satisfied. Also, the hotel is medina (the old city), so you will have exposure to the traditional side of the country. It's only 10 minutes' walk away from the city center. Also, the shopping center is medina, so you won't have to travel much for gifts and similar.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RookieTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

My friends and I spent 3 nights at the Dar Aida in March 2009.
On arrival, we were met by a staff member, Ridouan, who is a lovely, helpful young man.
We noticed a French girl in the riad and assumed she was just a guest, as she didn't say anything. Eventually, we asked her and discovered that she was in fact Adeline, the part-owner of the riad.
Adeline turned out to be perfectly pleasant but I do think that when new guests arrive, she should be more proactive, i.e. welcome the guests, introduce herself, sit the guests down with a cup of tea and then give them a quick tour of the riad. That is what happened in the other place in Morocco where we stayed.
The breakfast was very plain but in view of the reasonable nightly rates, we didn't have a problem with that. What we did mind was the flies that hovered all over the food and fruit juice. It would be a very simple matter to place covers on the food and drink. And perhaps attach a sheet of fly paper to the ceiling.
I must emphasis that Ridouan is a lovely guy. When my friend wanted to visit a local hammam, he went to great trouble to find a female friend to accompany her and explain the procedure.
The rooms are very nice and this would be a great place if Adeline were just a tad more professional.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

We emailed the hotel direct, inspired by a TripAdvisor review, and got an immediate response and a promise of a deposit-free room. A good start all round.

Because of flight and train delays, we arrived at the Medina (you can't get a taxi straight to the hotel) approx. 1am in the morning. We had phoned the manager in advance and she got someone to meet us from the taxi and walk us to the hotel. Unbelievably good service on their part.

Room was beautifully decorated, warm and cosy, no windows, but looking at the rest of the Medina, this appears to be fairly standard. Not the most private for couples (noise and thin curtains) but a small price to pay considering how homely and cheap it is. Television had only French and Arabic channels and I think one Portuguese, but after staying in Rabat, you'll be semi-fluent in French by the end anyway! Bathroom was adequate, unpleasant smells at times but again, this seems to be common in the Medina in general and not the hotel's fault.

Breakfast was not to our liking but did seem to be authentically Moroccan. Starchy breads and odd-tasting crumpets. Coffee and freshly squeezed juice in particualr were fabulous. We needed to get up early and requested an earlier breakfast, and this was no problem at all for them. They really couldn't have done more. The manager of the hotel met us on the second day and took us to their other riad in the Medina where dinner is served. She gave us a mint tea on the house and some lovely coconut cakes and we had an agreeable chat with her and another guest.

Other points in no particular order:
- given a map of Rabat which helped immensely
- few misunderstandings due to my pidgin French and staff's not-so-great English, but nothing we couldn't resolve.
- phone was next to our room which was a little irritating, would be better in reception but perhaps wiring prohibits this
- rooftop area for smokers
- second level sometimes used for breakfast and can be used for smokers, an afternoon mint tea etc

Overall, would heartily recommend the Riad Dar Aida, especially if you don't speak French, because the manager's English is better than most here. Made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews