We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“poor hotel but good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Farah Rabat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Farah Rabat
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Rabat
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“poor hotel but good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This isn’t a great hotel, its old and the rooms a bit shabby. Staff are ok, while I had no problems, I saw a number of people checking out and had a lot of complaints and the staff seemed to be responding quite rudely.
The location of the hotel is good though, its within walking distance of the Kasbah and the old walled part of the city.
I didn’t eat in the hotel or use any facilities so can’t comment. I was only here for a few nights, and it was fine for that, but if I was here for longer I’d look for somewhere slightly more modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flossykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    130
    156
    102
    84
See reviews for
59
109
36
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Recently spent one week at the Golden Tulip, Morocco. If you are just looking for a place to sleep and shower, this hotel will suit you well. During the 6 days that I was there, the wifi was not working for 5 days. They blamed it on the weather. The coffee shop one block away had wifi during the same weather. The workout facility is practically non-existent. There were 2 treadmills and 2 cross-trainers…of those, only one cross-trainer was in working condition. The breakfast buffet was included in the room price. If it wasn’t included, I would have found somewhere else to eat. Same breakfast every day, and nothing spectacular. The dinner buffet, which I only had once, was very limited and over priced at $23. Some of the items left us guessing as to what they were…eggplant? Maybe mushrooms? The bed was comfortable, but just a very thin sheet over the mattress. No mattress cover. The bathrooms were decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clwVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rabat hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The room was reasonably spacious with quite large beds, a sofa, coffee table, a big wardrobe and desk. The bathroom was neat and functional. But the in room safe was missing. We were on the first floor with windows facing the street and noticed that the opening was secured by steel bars. This is a safety issue as one could not escape thru the windows if the corridor is on fire.

The dining facility is not up to par and the food is rather poor. We had buffet for dinner and breakfast. There was a large volume of food but very limited variety and lacked quality. The service provided also failed. I noticed a cake knife from the dessert table had fallen onto the floor and notified the waiter who just picked it up, wiped it on a napkin and put it back on the table. One would’ve expected the dirty knife be taken to the kitchen and be replaced with a fresh clean one. Hygiene standard is low and staff poorly trained.

This hotel is satisfactory for only a short or an overnight stay. Given the opportunity I would look for another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is just a short walk from the Tour Hassan and the Mohammed V Mausoleum and there are excellent views from the top floor.The food was only average and there was a decided shortage of cutlery-one of the waiters presented me with a soup spoon as though I had just won a prize. The prices for room service items were outrageous and the wine waiter would only accept cash-no charging to the room.We also failed to get the room safe to work but did not contact reception as we were only staying one night.If we visit Rabat again we will look for another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David190920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia-Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

From the outside it looks fine, our room wasn't great, bed didn’t look made & the bathroom is the only thing that looks good, looks like they spent all the money on the bathroom.
We had a restless night because the room was noisy & air conditioning wasn’t working great, called reception to get maintenance to look at it & I should have never called.
Whilst sleeping a staff member walked into our room, lucky I was awake & it gave me a shock, my fiancée was scared & couldn’t get back to sleep she was furious. I spoke to hotel management & he advised, we thought the room was empty – good one mate next time check your guest book. No iron available in the entire hotel & the room safe remained locked from the previous occupants; other guest staying also mentioned this to me at breakfast. Room safe wasn’t secured & you could just pick it up & walk out with it. Anyway it was only one night thankful for that. Sorry about the review I hope you guys take it on board.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrizA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have just come back from a four night stay at this hotel. While the room could be described as a little shabby, you are in Morocco. I found the staff helpful and pleasant, the breakfast good, especially the choice of fruit and the room spacious and comfortable. The panorama bar is great and the barman was welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sana'a
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As others have said no complimentary water in the room, which would have been very welcome after a long journey. Also no iron available in the entire hotel and the room safe remained locked from the previous occupant throughout my stay despite requesting the front desk to open it. At breakfast unless you manage to get in early don't expect to find clean cutlery or napkins on the table and there was a distinct lack of spoons in the restaurant. However the location is very convenient for the souk!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
0.6 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel la Tour Hassan
Hotel la Tour Hassan
#6 of 40 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rabat
Hotel Rabat
#21 of 40 in Rabat
3.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 40 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 40 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Farah Rabat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Farah Rabat

Property: Golden Tulip Farah Rabat
Address: Makhlouf 10, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#11 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Farah Rabat 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Tulip Farah Rabat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Rabat Hotel Rabat
Rabat Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing